We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly there!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willies Restaurant

Willies Restaurant
Rua do Brazil, 2, Vilamoura, Portugal
289 380 849
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 154 Restaurants in Vilamoura
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nearly there!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Previous reviews vary from "one of the best in Europe " to "overated". The truth is that willies is neither. The chef,staff and restaurant are extremely professional, with the head waiter greeting every arrival of guests with the same humorous lines. The food was excellent and yes, compared with other restaurants locally, a little on the expensive side. But you should anticipate this when booking a Michelin starred restaurant.
If u r into ur food then a visit to Willies is a must and a truly lovely evening was had. the acid test being - would I eat there again and yes I would.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    26
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab u lous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

After ten years of dining here and reading a number of reviews I felt compelled to have to write just to simply say mu husband and I are true foodies who have eaten at the best restaurants all over Europe and hand on heart this is one of the best..in style,attention to detail,friendliness of all staff and fabulous food.a long well established restaurant we never tire of and will continue to visit.after owning a second home here for so long we have tried them all..and willie never fails to deliver.John F..whoever you are..you obviously like the sound of your own voice ..there is critical..and rude!!....try willies,you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Illustrates that a Michelin star creates an expectation that can be difficult to fulfill.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were pleased to find this Michelin starred
restaurant so close to the Hilton and went with high expectations .We were there during New Year week and found it to have a very pleasant ambience.Our food scallops,venison and steak were all cooked perfectly and we had very attentive service. However it is quite an expensive experience and although the food is very good it lacked the originality and flair we would expect from a Michelin restaurant.The chef and staff were friendly and provided you go expecting international food of good quality you will not be disappointed.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Overrated, never felt like we got a good deal..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've gone to Willies at least 3 times and while the ambiance, atmosphere & service are undoubtedly top class the food is good without being outstanding and Couleur France in Almancil is twice as food for less money!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“excellent michelin star restaurant adjacent to the Hilton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had dinner here last week - group of 14. It was fabulous. The service was outstanding. The food was excellent - absolutely the best in Vilamoura. The price is also very reasonable for a restaurant of such quality. I had the chicken curry soup to start with which was great. Everyone's dishes were prepared as requested and were excellent. We had one vegetarian which was also given several options. A must try if you are in Vilamoura.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willies Restaurant also viewed

Vilamoura, Faro District
 
Vilamoura, Faro District
Vilamoura, Faro District
 

Been to Willies Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willies Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.