We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Standard of Accommodation with all the mod cons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Praia Village

Praia Village
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vilamoura
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Praia Village
Save
You added Praia Village to your Saves list
Vilamoura, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Standard of Accommodation with all the mod cons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My family and I travelled to Praia Village Apartment H on 24thAugust 2009 for 9 nights, a party of 2 adults and 2 kids (10, 8). We booked directly with the owner from Ownersdirect.co.uk Ref 6119.
This newly developed complex in Vilamoura is set within its own landscaped gardens and boasts a good sized pool for the size of the complex. The accommodation is located in a quiet residential area, all amenities and attractions are close by, the Marina is about a 15-20 min walk and the beach is about 20-25 min walk. There is a Mini Golf complex about 10 mins walk from the apartments which cost’s around 12 Euro’s Adult and 8 Euro’s Children. There is a supermarket close to the minigolf, however I would recommend walking to Jaffers a further 5 mins away – they had a bigger variety and the prices were much cheaper. You can get a land train from the Minigolf which takes you to 3 central places and runs from about 10am upto early evening. There is a water park (Aqua Show ins theme park rides) which was really good, book from a ticket office in resort and include the transfers – we were able to secure a 15% discount doing it this way supposed to paying a higher price on the door. We did a Cruise along the coast line which then docked at a small beach - this was fantastic and great value for money 15 Euro's Adult and half price for children - book at the offices at the Marina opposite Parkys Restaurant. We would highly recommend News Cafe - really nice and reasonbly priced food. You have Zoomarine and karting, close to the resort. The Apartment is contemporary, with good facilities, it has all the mod cons....dishwasher, microwave, washer, Jacuzzi, steam shower, Sky, DVD player, Air Con. The apartment came with 2 sunbeds and considering we travelled in August were not a problem at all – plenty for everyone.
We travelled to the apartments via Yellowfish Transfers from the airport at a cost of approx 30 euro's each way. The apartment is on the ground floor and overlooks the pool, ideal for families with children and is an added benefit for this particular apartment – it was ideal for us and really quiet. Overall a very good standard of accommodation and would recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The standard of the apartment in this small complex was excellent. I am glad that our garden apartment provided sun loungers because there was a shortage of communal ones. The electric shutters proved excellent for sleeping although the sound proofing in the apartments left a lot to be desired!

One important thing to note the walk to the marina took longer than advertised on the website, it stated 10 minutes but it took more like 20 minutes. Also the nearest supermarket and cash machine took 10 minutes not the advertised 4 minutes!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

10 minute walk to the marina, no more, seems to be over estimated by some reviews. Apartments were faultless, all mod cons which would not be expected on holiday. No noise heard in apartments, taxi to shop for large shopping was only 4 euros. Booked directly with owner which was very straigh forward, have stayed twice in different apartments and will certainly go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed at Praia village in June 2010 and had an amazing week, lovely clean, modern apartment, fantastic pool, cannot fault the accommodation. Walk to the marina was a little tiresome, but I was 7 months pregnant, usually took us about 15 minutes, also a few of the supermarkets are now closed due to insolvency, only jaffers left which is also about 15 minutes walk, hot during the midday sun!

Great that sunbeds were allocated to the apartment for around the pool, it was never too busy and our little boy (2 and a half) enjoyed playing in the toddlers pool and made a few friends. Loved the shutters on the windows, gave us all a nice lay in!

Could have done with a few bars a bit closer, there were some about 10 minutes walk in the opposite direction to the marina, but they seemed a little isolated. Marina was pretty expensive for eating out, but we cooked in our apartment 2/3 nights, butchers at jaffers supermarket was very good.

The beach at Vilamoura, Praia de Falesia we visited, was absolutely gorgeous, very clean, nice cafe on the beach for lunch, however 15 euros for 2 sunbeds and umbrella for the day. We walked from the apartment, took about 20/25 minutes, just past the marina. The little train does go to the beach so worth catching that!

Didn't have a cloud in the sky all week, couldn't have asked for more, would thoroughly recommend for young families.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks in apartment G in Praia Village and they were fabulous!! We have 13 year old and 7 year old. The standard of furnishing and fitments was extremely high. How many times have we been to holiday apartments and the sofa is so uncomfortable to sit on!!

We had everything we could have needed, including beach towels. It was extremely clean.

The pool was good, very friendly and most people passed the time of day with you. Mixture of ages from very young families to young couples. Enough kids to play with, but not too many that the pool was over run with them!

It is a good 15 minute stroll down to the Marina, but not too far - especially after a day lounging at the pool it was good to stretch your legs.

Great apartments - Owners very friendly, efficient and answered every question we had.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennyomalley
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I am not usually the one to write reviews, prefer to read them but felt I should comment on our visit to Praia Village. We were a mixed age group however I felt the holiday didn't quite work for any of us. The teenagers were to young to do the very long walk to the marina on their own or down the lonely road to the beach. The grandparents (not aged) were driven mad by the constant baby cries from virtually every apartment (sound proofing is dreadful here) and the four adults were disappointed by the size of the balcony and pool area - which is far to small considering how many apartments use it. The adjacent apartment blocks seemed very quiet and relaxed compared to Praia Village. Marina excellent - great places to eat and drink - just a shame it was so far away from the apartment. Golf in this region is also very pricey. but the courses are very good. I feel we were mislead by the literature which had we known the reality we would not have booked.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Me, my boyfriend and another couple stayed in these apartments in June 2009. We travelled out of peak season so the apartments were relatively quite, mainly occupied by families. Firstly the apartment that we stayed in was privately owned and we rented it for a week via holidayrentals.co.uk. The apartment was very reasonably priced and the owner who I communicated with by email was very helpful and transferring money over was simple too.
Now to the apartment itself. We were greeted on arrival by a lovely English woman (Karen, if I remember rightly). She gave us the keys and showed us to the apartment. The apartment was very spacious. Huge living/eating area, with sky TV. Lovely balcony backing onto the pool which was nice. The kitchen was tremendous, lots of cooking utensils. Dishwasher, cooker everything you could possibly need, practically a home from home.
The location of the apartment was in a quiet area and a 10 - 15 minute walk from the town and the beach - although this did feel very long in the middle of the day when walking to the beach. A 5 minute walk in the opposite direction of Vilamoura town brings you to a small complex that houses shops, a couple of bars and a restaurant.
We went to the ZooMarine and one of the many waterparks during our trip which i would definitely recommend. We also took a trip to Albufeira for a night out which was fab. Cheaper drinks than in Vilamoura and better suited to a younger audience, with loads of bars. Vilamoura didn't have many bars, more restaurants and they can be quite pricey.
All in all a fab holiday, would definitely recommend Praia Village!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Praia Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Praia Village

Address: Vilamoura, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Vilamoura
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Praia Village Hotel Vilamoura
Praia Village Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Praia Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.