We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tivoli Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tivoli Victoria to your Saves list
Tivoli Victoria
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Av dos Descobrimentos No 0, Vilamoura 8125-309, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Vilamoura
The Algarve
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Overall Brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Have just returned from Tivoli Victoria and overall we were very impressed. The hotel, probably because it is new, lacks atmosphere. However it is very tranquil and lacks for nothing in terms of comfort. The rooms are extremely well equipped, the beds are the best I have ever slept in - if you like it you can even buy it! The only small niggle with the rooms is that you have to pay for using the coffee machine which I think is extremely naff. The breakfast is wonderful, they have everything you could possibly want to eat and if not they will do it for you. The hotel grounds are lovely, the pools clean with plenty of seating.
The location of the hotel is a bit remote, but you can get a cab to the centre or the marina in no time at all. There is a tunnel linking the hotel to the Victoria golf course which is useful. The staff are helpful and multi lingual. Prices for drinks and food are naturally enough on the top side of high. Maybe once the hotel ages a bit there will be less of a funereal atmosphere in the lobby, although the decor is somewhat modernisticly drab.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    226
    74
    19
    18
See reviews for
229
420
10
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

I stayed at the Tivoli Victoria in August 2009 for one week with my wife and son. The rooms in the hotel are excellent the only problem is they can be a long walk from reception. We got to the hotel about 11.30am but could not get in the room untill 3pm, I found the best way to have a drink was to have a bottle of wine each night as we stayed H/B and still had a bar bill of over 200 euro's. The bar on the evening is very quiet, I think due to price of drinks(no happy hour), the service can be a little slow but this is a new hotel and things go wrong. You will need a car and do make sure you go to the indoor pool the view is fantastic. The food is good but not as good as the Tivoli in Carvoeiro.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

It seems there are some long write ups here so lets try something different
PROS: Excellent, well equipped, stylish,tasteful, spacious, comfortable rooms which included features i have never come across that you are all bound to enjoy. Balconies a delight to lounge on the double sized lounger/bed overlooking the golf course or pool. The pool area is so comfortable especially with the extra thick mattresses on the designer, stylish sun loungers in single & double sized. The staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast a delight with a wide choice of options and a chef to cook you eggs how you like them. The rest of the hotel was spacious, spotless and well designed with different private corners throughout with sumptuous seating of different designs, with very nice touches. This is a great place to chill.
CONS: The drinks & food prices around the pool, a real kick in the teeth, £10 for a bloody mary which was the worst i have ever had, £3-50 a small glass of coke, £16 for a small but OK cheeseburger without any extras!! They would make so much more if the prices were right. Some of the balcony bed/sun loungers are facing the wrong way (facing into the hotel & not the view) & they can't be moved so you would not use them. So much for my quick short statements, it looks like i failed on the try something different bit!!
EXTRA BIT: It looked like at the moment they are having a soft opening in prep for the golf tournment in 2 mths. Once this hotel gets on full flow it really will be something special but the prices will be much higher i suspect. At the moment a great place to chill.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

I found this hotel by accident through a specialist website called Kiwi Collection and after looking at the pictures and seeing the reviews written previously on Trip Advisor, I had to book it. And how delighted I was as when we arrived we were stunned at the quality of this new hotel. My husband and I stayed for 4 nights for our 10th wedding anniversary and were upgraded to a Junior suite with a butler overlooking the 18th hole of their stunning golf course.
The hotel well desrves its five stars if not more and we have definitely been spoilt and finding anywhere as good will be hard.
We visited its sister hotel Tivoli Marina and although from seeing the interior reception area which was impressive it did not beat the luxury of the Victoria.
Breakfast at the Tivoil was excellent as was the service.
We did not eat in the restaurant as the hotel only had 100 guests staying and everywhere in the evening was quiet and we wanted more atmosphere. We ate at the Marina and yes it is expensive but its to be expected being where it is. Prices are comparative to the UK. I had sea bass one evening at the Marina 16euros but the next night was recommended by our taxi man to eat in Quarteria which we did and the sea bass was not only cheaper 10euros but three times the size. Visit the restaurants in quarteria opposite the fish market. Taxi is approx 8 euros.
We also ate some afternoons at the golf club house and yes it is about half the price of the /Tivoli and very good.
A courtesy bus took us to the Marina and was always ontime but is less frequent in the autumn then summer.
Staff were alway impeccably turned out and could not be more helpful.
I hope that after reading this you will be rest assured that staying at the Tivoli is most definitely worth a visit.
ps- forgot to mention you must visit the indoor pool and facilities - pure luxury

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

We have stayed in various hotels around Europe but this is by far the best. It even rivals some of the great American hotels!

The hotel is set overlooking the Victoria golf course and so there is peace and tranquility and great views. The hotel itself is very modern. The rooms are fantastic with open plan living, marble floors and even a TV in the bathroom!

The pool is great for children and adults. The sunloungers have mattresses and so they are the most comfortable loungers to lie on you can imagine. If you want a break away from any children, go to the spa on the roof of the hotel. Relax in the steam room, swim in the indoor pool or just lie outside and admire the views.

Breakfast is a great start to the day. More choice than you need so that the question is when to stop rather than what to have. And it is normally included in the room rate.

As the hotel is about 7 mins away from Vilamoura marina by car and is where most of the local restaurants are, the hotel provides a shuttle bus that is very useful - allows you to have a drink and a meal and then get delivered back to bed.

Quite simply, if you want a hotel to stay in in the sun then this is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

This is a lovely hotel, the rooms are simply to die for very elegant and modern, minimalistic.
Few problems wqith checking in as we arrived early at 10am and the room was not ready until after 3.
Rooms are lovely possibly the best rooms we have stayed in and we have travelled all over the world. Down side that they charge you for the nepresso machine 2.50 Euros which I thought was steep.
The pool is lovely and not crowded at all we always managed to get a lounger and towels no matter what time of day. A tip for drink round the pool the gym whcih is on the groudn floor has a water cooler and I kept filling up my water bottle there as very expensive at the chill bar.
Really you do need a car if you are wanting to go into vilamoura. I is not walkable. Found vilamoura very expensive and quite touristy. Found a Lovely resturant called chez angelo near Vale Lobo for a nice meal.
Lots of choice at breakfats although service a little slow at times. Great for a chill out I would even consider a weekend break as close to airport btu not that you hear planes ect.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Our first trip to the algarve was not disappointing. Having read the very good reports of the Tivoli Victoria we managed to book a great deal on a junior suite through expedia. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by our butler, James who was delightful! Our room wasn't quite ready so James called the golf club who sent a buggy to take us there for lunch whilst he whisked away our luggage.
The first suite that we were given had a slightly disappointing view, merely of the club house, however it was in a very quiet position & being that we wanted to relax in peace we favoured the quiet location over view. Next day however James came to find us to say that he had a first floor suite with a proper view of the golf course should we prefer that. Having checked that it was also quiet we did indeed move & were glad in the end of the view as we enjoyed a glass of port each evening on the balcony.
The room was beautiful, very spacious & lovely modern decor. The bathroom was lovely with a great rain shower & a vanity mirror that morphed into a tv should you have wished to watch tv from the bath!! It was kept spotless by the twice a day maid service & the sound proofing was excellent. We weren't woken or disturbed by any noise all week, which in our extensive travels is most rare.
We found all the staff to be extremely pleasant even though some of them didn't speak particularly good english. Breakfast was fabulous, a real smorgasbord of delights which filled us up until it was time for dinner. The waiting staff at breakfast were very professional & friendly & kept the buffet topped up right until 11am.
We ate out every evening in Villamoura, finding the shuttle bus at 2015 a very convenient way to get there. Sometimes we stayed to catch it back to the hotel & a few times we got a taxi which were easy to get & cost about 8 euros. As previous guests have mentioned, getting a taxi from the hotel is slightly more problematic & be prepared for a lengthy wait (apparently the local taxi firm isn't so keen on coming to the hotel for short trips). The marina itself seemed a little tacky though there was a nice square/alley of restaurants a few streets back which was most pleasant. The one restaurant that we did patronise on the marina was an italian called il lamparo. It was super! Fabulous food & wonderful service though male patrons may feel a little intimidated due to the ridiculously good looking waiters! We returned before the end of our holiday & were treated like friends with complimentary hor d'oeuvres & aperitifs.
All in all we would definitely recommend the tivoli victoria. We are quite fussy travellers who spend a lot of time in hotels for work & as such are very concious of any snags & annoyances of places. We wanted a relaxing week in the sun & that is exactly what we got. As previous reports have said it was very quiet in the evenings but not being fond of karaoke or cabaret entertainment that didn't bother us at all. Am sure that once it becomes more established the restaurants will get busier. We were surprised that the lobby bar didn't open in the evenings as it would have been the perfect excuse to have a cocktail on the terrace whilst waiting for the shuttle bus. Again this is likely to change as it gets busier & in fairness the staff were more that happy to bring drinks up to the terrace from the pool bar.It was quite noticeable that all the children in the hotel were very well behaved & should one wish to avoid any children there was another quieter pool away from the main pool. The spa was beautiful & very relaxing. Treatments were incredibly expensive but worth a splurge if you want to treat yourself!
Many thanks to James our butler for the very thoughtful bottle of champagne & fresh fruit platter that was placed in our suite on our wedding anniversary. Just one of the special touches that made the Tivoli Victoria that touch above the rest of the hotels we looked at. May it continue to be a little bit special & stay quiet & relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tivoli Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Victoria

Address: Av dos Descobrimentos No 0, Vilamoura 8125-309, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Vilamoura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Vilamoura
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Family Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Spa Hotel in Vilamoura
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vilamoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Vilamoura, the Tivoli Victoria is pure sophistication. From the amazing rooms to the panoramic views out over the beautiful fairways of the Oceanico Victoria Golf Course, designed by the legendary Arnold Palmer, the surroundings of this 5 star resort make it an authentic 360º experience. For Conferences, events and meetings which require the highest quality, the facilities at the Tivoli Victoria include rooms with a total area of 900 m2 and capacity for up to 950 people as well as the latest in audio-visual technology. And for pure leisure, at this hotel near the beach in Vilamoura in the Algarve, take a dip in one of the 4 amazing swimming pools (one exclusively for adults - +16 years - from 1 July to 30 September) or sit down to some culinary delicacies prepared our chefs in one of our many restaurants and bars. For a touch of the Far East, revive your spirits by pampering yourself at the Elements Spa by Banyan Tree. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tivoli Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Victoria Hotel Vilamoura
Tivoli Victoria Vilamoura, Portugal - Algarve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tivoli Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.