We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thon Hotel Oslofjord

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Thon Hotel Oslofjord to your Saves list
Thon Hotel Oslofjord
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sandviksveien 184, Sandvika 1337, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandvika
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Positive:

- excellent breakfast buffet
- free coffee, tea, water during the day
- modern meeting facilities
- walking distance to fast train station

Negative:

- waiting time check out
- rather old interior in rooms

Summary:

Clear recommandation for short business trip

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for you review. We have taken action with the reception to reduce waiting time. We are also refurbishing rooms, and you are welcome to tro one of our new rooms.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    46
    51
    17
    4
See reviews for
17
21
6
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We checked out of our first hotel because it was not very nice. The Hotel reception could not have been more helpful. They gave us a large business suite for 5 days at the weekend rate. A superb room, with bathrobes and slippers.

Don't be put off by the dull outside as it has a very light and spacious interior with a number of rooms facing inwards to a large open to the sky interior. A lovely comfortable lounge with free tea and coffee. Wi Fi is excellent and they have a computer area you can use with a printer - very useful.

Probably the best breakfast buffet I have tried ( Better than those in Las Vegas for quality).

Salads, cold meats, smoked salmon, fish, herring, bacon, eggs , cakes etc. etc. all included in the price. Alcohol may be very expensive in Norway , but this Hotel with breakfast is an excellent price.

Also opposite the largest shopping Mall in Scandinavia which you can walk through to the train station. Very convenient.

Couldn't fault it. 10 out of 10. Staff were brilliant

Room Tip: Upgrade to a business room it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Jim Bayfield,

Thank you from all our staff for your great feedback.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Arrived after a long journey looking forward to a nice meal and comfortable room.
Courteous multi-lingual staff from reception to dining : had a lovely spicy salad which I would recommend if you want something light and zesty and overall tasty.
Sadly the rooms don't match the above. Tired, noisy and in serious need of renovation. Despite changing rooms, the bathroom extractor fan appears to have a noise commonality with Niagara.
Creaky beds too. Also note - rooms do not have an iron either, lack of plug sockets for the laptop, phone etc - so collectively not exactly a modern business class hotel.
Hotel is beside a motorway and noise from that does enter the room.

Worth noting a positive point - hotel has Free wifi.

However, sleep and comfort are the priority so Sadly now Considering finding an alternative hotel for remainder of my stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Eyeswide,
Thank you for your review.


Unfortunately you got one of our older rooms. We are renovation 29 more room this spring. You are welcome to change room and try one of our new rooms.

Thank you for good feedback on our restaurant.

Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandvika hotels

Tromso, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here as a group for a weekend and it was great. They had one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever been to in Norway (and Ive been to a few) with all you ever could need, even cottage cheese! As well as a omelette-maker ready to make you your special made omelette. Good training facilites for a hotel to be. And Norways biggest shopping mall is literally 20 meters away, so a good place to stay if you planning on shopping.

Also want to specially say thank the once in the reception and Daniel, who on short notice managed to fix us a conference room, absolutely great service!

If needed I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you simsam93. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast so much! Welcome back from Daniel and the rest of us at Thon Hotel Oslofjord.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humlebaek, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I was there for two days facilitating a conference. The conference manager did a really great job - always very proactive - and so did the rest of the staff. Food was also really great - very fresh, variated Norwegian / international kitchen at it's best.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for positive feedback on our restaurant and conference.
We will notify all our staff about your nice words.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I only stay here because it's close to work. The building is old. The public areas are renovated and look great (basically first floor), but the rooms are old. The staff is extremely friendly and tries their very best, but I stay in a hotel to sleep, and I don't like the rooms very much. The only good thing is the bath :)

Most rooms are located on the inside, that is: windows to the atrium. There is music playing to late (11 pm), which is past my bedtime when I have demanding workdays. So, no possibility to open the window to get fresh air in. The air conditioning only goes down to 17 degrees, which for me is still to warm to sleep in. Also: the air conditioning makes a lot of noise, also when it's turned off! The ventilation in the bathroom makes a high zooming noise, very annoying.
The beds are very soft, way to soft for my liking.

But, I have to say: the room was clean. Even under the beds. I know because that was the only place I could find a plug to charge my phone :)

This time I stayed on the 5th floor. You can here the lift the whole time, even when you're on the other side of the building. Again: very annoying.

They're trying, but the hotel could do with a serious renovation and really is overpriced for the quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the outside on the quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear guest,
We still have a few older rooms left to renovate, but we are currently renovation hotel rooms.
You are welcome to ask for a new rooms the next time.
We work hard to keep the rooms as clean as possible and on maintaince.
The bar should not play loud music, and we are working through all rooms to fix the ventilation noise from the bathrooms.
Welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mykolayiv, Ukraine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very good hotel with very nice service and pleasant and friendly staff. Excellent meal with very good service at lobby bar. The best hotel if you travel to Sandvika or Oslo on business or just for weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lars P, Lars Pettersen, Rooms Division Manager at Thon Hotel Oslofjord, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Thank you and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thon Hotel Oslofjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Oslofjord

Address: Sandviksveien 184, Sandvika 1337, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Baerum Municipality > Sandvika
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandvika
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thon Hotel Oslofjord 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Oslofjord in Sandvika is one of Norway’s biggest seminar and conference hotels, centrally located in Sandvika, only 10 minutes from Oslo city centre. The hotel offers free parking, easy access with public transportation and large guest rooms.Thon Hotel Oslofjord features 248 large rooms (from 22 square meters), 12 of which are large business rooms and 2 suites. All of the rooms have TV, hotel cinema, minibar, telephone, wireless Internet, large wardrobes and bathrooms with bathtubs. All rooms are air conditioned. All guests at Thon Hotel Oslofjord are offered free coffee and tea in our lobby.Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel.The hotel has a fitness room with a solarium and sauna. This is open from 06:00 to 23:00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Thon Hotel Oslofjord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Sandvika

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thon Hotel Oslofjord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.