We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borsen Spiseri

Borsen Spiseri
Gunnar Bergs 2, Svolvaer N-8301, Norway
47 76 06 99 30
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Svolvaer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $50
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

On our first night at Svinoya Rorbuer we ate at this restaurant which is next to the reception area. I would certainly recommend it– the fish and lamb dishes were really good, and I even had some reindeer meat as a starter. It is a bit expensive, but that’s true of all good restaurants throughout the whole of Norway.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    48
    16
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Incredible buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate at Borsen during the International Cod Weekend. They prepare a special buffet for those busy days, which I personally find a splendid idea: no waiting, no complicated touristy questions, no hassle.
The food was incredible - cod cooked in different, original and traditional ways (so both tourists and locals would be satisfied), caviar spiked with wasabi, rum et al., salads of all kinds. I didn't particularly appreciate seeing dried whale slices, but that's on a somewhat more personal level.
The waiters and waitresses were helpful, happy and quick; the chefs that brought food to the buffet table, when asked about it, were friendly and eager to help a non-norwegian understand what was being served.
On the whole a magnificent experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, staff and surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

After experiencing nothing but pizza and kebab in Lofoten Islands so far, we tried here as a last ditch attempt for a good meal and we were not disappointed. After not receiving my email booking, we were slotted into a reasonably busy Sunday night and provided with a small taster from the menu. We ordered two local beers to review the menu. We decided on arctic char and salad for my wife and bacalao for myself. We then received olives and bread, while we waited. The starters were lovely and devoured with the respective they deserved. Our mains were the local stockfish royal and baked arctic char, both were heavenly to taste. Our coffee and deserts of dark choc truffle, clementine and nettle panna cotta with pineapple and ginger topped of a splendid night that was thoroughly fulfilling, a must if in svolvaer, if a tad pricey £140 for the above meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Hayley - many many thanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were treated very graciously and beautifully by Hayley who went out of her way to help two weary travellers, even when the restaurant was fully booked. Thank you so much.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Really good team in the kitchen putting out a high standard of cuisine. The menu goes to great lengths to reflect the seasonal treats of Lofoten, but is presented with great style as well. Contemporary take on traditional food, in a very traditional setting. The Borsen is really charming, like an old fishing cabin. Great place to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borsen Spiseri also viewed

Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
 
Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
 

Been to Borsen Spiseri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borsen Spiseri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.