We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely relaxed and always busy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bacalao

Bacalao
KIRKEGATA 23, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
76079400
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 13 Restaurants in Svolvaer
Price range: $15 - $59
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Norwegian, Bistro, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“nicely relaxed and always busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We have recently bben here twice in last two days first for hot chocolate and cake, then today for bacalao and coffee. The food on both occassions was pleasant, over priced by anything other than Norwegian standards as their wages are comparable to the prices, as ours are in the UK. In short nice food same prices as everywhere else in Norway, service was always ok.pros free coffee refills

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    44
    31
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster England
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Stylish, relaxed, bar right in the harbour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I spent a few hours in this bar late one Sunday evening in February 2013.

Spacious and relaxed is the theme in this bar. Big, red, comfy, leather sofas are located in the centre of the bar with seating all around the panoramic windows. A large log burner radiated heat from near the front window and the Arctic beer was very good, too good in fact!

A nice relaxed atmosphere and the food smelled very good. We were told the bar is full every weekend.

Worth a visit if you stop on one of the cruise ships or if you're there for a few days.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Try Bacalao here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've never tryed bacalao before so we were sceptic to that dish so we ordered 1 bacalao and 1 fishsoup. Next evening we went back and ordered 2 bacalao. Wonderful after our opinion. We would like to go back.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“After a day out, hot chocolate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A warm and welcoming cafe-bar, with excellent cakes, and soup. The hot chocolate was excellent! It's on the harbour, and had a real fireplace. In summer, sitting outside would be good!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice food at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice place the speciality Bacalao is very good, warm and friendly atmosphere.
Good staff, nice music just the place to after a boat ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacalao also viewed

Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
 
Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
 

Been to Bacalao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bacalao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.