We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Du Verden

Du Verden
John E Paulsens g 12, Svolvaer 8300, Norway
76077099
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Svolvaer
Price range: $22 - $73
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Were in Lofoten for business, and as it turned out this was one of the few restaurant that were even open, due to a public holiday. Ordered tempura and sushi. Tasted OK, but nothing special - pricey for what you get.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    28
    21
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pia60
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food - Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We went here before getting on our Hurtigruten boat. We were offered buffet with pizza and salad or a la carte. The buffet was great, and salad fresh. The chicken salad from the menu was really good. The service was quick and corteous.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tama
1 review
“Salty fish soop”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Five of us ordered two bottoles of Chilean white wine, one large pizza, one pasta, catch of the day and fish soup. We asked the restaurant to split a bowl of the soup into five small cups.
The list price of the soup is less than 300 NOK, but the restaurant charged 95 NOK x 5 without any notice. The soup was terribly salty.
One manager and one waitress ran the restaurant in the evening. A few times of phone calls for reservation before visit were not answered at all.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
“A fantastic discovery, Du Verden will be our first choice next time we visit Svolvaer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Du Verden is located on the ground floor of the Lofoten Suite Hotel on the harbour front. We had a quick walk around the harbour area looking for a restaurant for an evening meal, the first that we found looked very popular but no one was actually eating, just drinking; the second restaurant had rather confused staff who could not even make up there minds if they could fit us in or not, Du Verden was definitely third time lucky.

The restaurant is modern with a relaxed atmosphere, the staff were very welcoming and despite there being only two people operating the front of house in quite a large restaurant with two big groups as well as several other smaller parties the service was fast and efficient. the staff took the time to give each table the personal touch and took great care to meet my food allergy needs to the extent of preparing a meal specifically for me. All of the food is prepared on site so they were very knowledgeable about exactly what was in each dish unlike other restaurants that I have visited.

The food was excellent, and reasonably priced for Norway, with a wide variety of choices, the bar also had a wide selection of drinks to chose from, I recommend trying one of the fruit ciders.

We will definitely eat here again next time we are in Svolvaer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“great fish soup and nice sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

price not too unreasonable and very modern and light interior.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Du Verden also viewed

Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
 
Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
Svolvaer, Vagan Municipality
 

Been to Du Verden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Du Verden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.