We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in very center of town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stad Munster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stad Munster to your Saves list
Hotel Stad Munster
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markt 11, 7101 DA Winterswijk, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Winterswijk
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good hotel in very center of town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a nice stay here, the room was nice and big, bathroom was ok size. As in many hotels, everything is quite wet though after showering. Staff was very friendly. Free parking at the back, There is a risk of waking up early because the chirch is about 5 meters from your room window and bells will chime in the morning.. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: At the back you will probably hear the chirch bells less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
8
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Hotel is rather dated (like most hotels I stay in, I'll have to do sth wih it); it's located in the middle of Winterswijk, there's a public carpark at the front and private one to the rear of the building. Room I got looked bit like a ferry cabin - it was very small with a tiny TV; "sapphire" bathroom was simply delightful :). But having said all that, the whole place was quiet and clean, bed was comfy, shower worked ok, price was very reasonable and all staff super helpful and friendly. I would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Was only there for one night, and arrived late and left early.

Staff - excellent and very friendly and helpful. Was leaving before breakfast started at 8 AM so got a pre-prepared breakfast pack which was very good.

The bar is very nice and again excellent service, nothing too much trouble.
The room was very nice, everything was spotlessly clean, bed very comfy.
Beautiful square outside hotel.

Only negative was the church bells ringing every hour through the night! That's the only reason I am rating sleep quality as average.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very nice hotel in the city center. Location is great for walking after work to shopping or dining.

Staff is very accomodating and friendly. Breakfast selections are good, and coffee is great.

Dinner in the evening is awesome! Very well presented and tastes superb! Each entree comes with side dishes that make the meal special!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on a filthy, wet day with two bicycles and two very wet people. We were met at the reception by the owner, Simone. She helped us to store our bicycles, take our luggage to our room, and was most helpful. We had one meal in the brasserie and it was superb, the service was first class. I could recommend this hotel to anyone. If you are touring with bicycles, there is undercover storage space.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Recently stayed 2 nights on a business trip.
Franz who took over running the hotel 3 months ago is a great host and his staff can't do enough for you. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
The room was large with 2 single beds pushed together, a couple of chairs, a desk and a spacious bathroom. The bathroom had a bath with shower over and good water pressure.
We ate dinner there on both nights and the food was superb. I had venison which was very tender and a colleague had Sole, there's a good selection to choose from but if nothing appeals they're flexible enough to cook what you want. Nothing's too much trouble.
On the second night my colleagues and I were working on our laptops in the front lounge, and rather than move to the restaurant for our evening meal, the staff kindly set the table up in the lounge and we had private dining ( and worked between courses )
One thing to note is there are no Taxis available in the locality much to our surprise when we arrived at the local railway station but we phoned the hotel and Franz dropped everything to come and collect us straight away.
Not only that he also drove us across the German border on 2 consecutive mornings to our business meetings approximately 15 minutes away.
Brilliant service from brilliant staff.
Just a note about breakfast, if you're expecting a full English you'll be disappointed, but you are in Europe so a continental breakfast it is, consisting of cooked meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, bread (with toaster to use) cakes, cereals and a good selection of tea and coffee. More may be available but we didn't ask.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at rear of hotel to avoid any noise of church bells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed here for a night while on business, arriving quite late I was given the key to Room 109. Room was inclusive of a single bed, small desk and chair, side chair, wardrobe, and ample sized (and very blue) bathroom. Had a nice walk-in shower, very large with good water pressure. Good thing as I ran my elbow into the wall half the night, fianlly got up and pulled the bed a few inches away from the wall.

I could not get the TV to work, but was quite busy catching up on work so was just as well. Internet was free, as was parking along the street. I did not eat the hotel breakfast as I cannot consume EUR 13.50 worth of food. If you don't have too early of a start, there are two bakeries with indoor seating areas about 1 minutes walk from the hotel, they open from 08:30 most days and for EUR 5.50 I had a nice breakfast.

I was a bit miffed to see single rooms costing EUR 55.00 on the rate card posted outside the hotel, and I was invoiced EUR 65.00 for 1 person in a 2 person room when, clearly, I was not in a double room. I took this up with the gentleman on the desk and he basically shrugged it off. He was also the same chap who told me the previous evening that the hotel breakfast was the only option in town until 10:00. Curious....maybe he misunderstood that I did not want a full sit-down brekkie?

I am not sure what makes a 4-star hotel, but this didn't tick that 4th star box based on my experiences elsewhere. The location is fabulous, however.

Room Tip: Make sure your room type matches what you are being charged for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winterswijk
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cafe Restaurant Bulten
Hotel Cafe Restaurant Bulten
#1 of 4 in Winterswijk
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Frerikshof Hotel
Frerikshof Hotel
#3 of 4 in Winterswijk
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Kloppendiek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Nagel
Hotel Nagel
#2 of 2 in Suedlohn
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
4.7 mi away
Burghotel Pass
Burghotel Pass
#1 of 2 in Suedlohn
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
8.2 mi away
Landhotel De Greune Weide
Landhotel De Greune Weide
#1 of 1 in Eibergen
3.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stad Munster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stad Munster

Address: Markt 11, 7101 DA Winterswijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Winterswijk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Winterswijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stad Munster 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Stad Munster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stad Munster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.