We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum to your Saves list
Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Struikheiweg 3, 1406 TK Bussum, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bussum
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nice and comfortable rooms, big TV, AC, great wifi and tea/coffee making equipment. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Hotel restaurant was quite okay, breakfast was good. It's great that the train station is right in front of the hotel so you can get to Amsterdam in 30 minutes. There are quite a lot grocery stores nearby and also a gas station. Bussum is a lovely and quiet neighbourhood. The only bad thing was that they don't have an elevator so you have to carry your bags up the stairs.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is near the reception so you don't have to go through a long corridor and a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Marie V,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you loved your stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
4
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

great location next to bus sum zuid railway station
the guy on reception was a load of fun.
the room seemed a bit 60 ish but everything worked until to my horror I discovered that none of my e mails was leaving my out tray
come on guys !!!
so surprising when virtually all the trains in holland have free wi if that seems to work perfectly . as a result of this problem I had to spend an hour trawling the neighborhood to find a cafe I could work from : ridiculous
when you are staying in a supposedly business hotel

anyways .....

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Bussum / Hilversum-Zuid and for your review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologize for the fact that we did not meet your expectations, hence we value your comments and recommendations for assessments and to further develop our standards. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I travel a lot on business and stay in hotels all over the world...Staff who treat you as a real life individual and who behave as if they were real people too, rather than fakey-smiley (or gloomy monosyllabic) robots, are what makes the difference everywhere. So hats off to the staff at this Bastion hotel....friendly, helpful and, in the case of Guido, heroic...! With the last of the change in his till, he changed a euro banknote for me so that I could buy a ticket from the coins-only machine at the station to get to Schiphol airport in time for my plane, preventing me from getting fined for not having a train ticket.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Bussum. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

The Bastion Hotel Group strives to provide a great service by just doing something extra for our guests.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerkrade, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

the formula of Bastion is comfort, good service, good food and still basic, for a fair price.
I think this is right here, but I think this one really needs a big plus for the staff.
Never met staff who where so genuine friendly. Not that friendly because they're boss wants them to smile. But they just are.

I think I don't need to use to much words to give a review to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Reasonably priced, the room had all basic facilities and the free wi fi was a plus.

It is conveniently located opposite the station so trips to any part of Holland are easy. Staff are friendly and ready to oblige with train schedules.

The food is ok - the fish dishes are much better than the meat.

It is walking distance to the small Bussum city centre - just shops and restaurants - which was prettily lit and had some decent restaurants. Friday is late shopping - closing is at 9 pm.

I recommend Wong Tong (I think that was the name of this Chinese restaurant - its the first up the main street from Bastion). There are several buffets to choose from - eastern including Sushi - as well as some western dishes.

Room Tip: The rooms either look out on the railway station or on a car park bordered by trees. Depends on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nice stay, clean and right in front of train station. However, you may hear train run by once in a while depending on where your room faces. I didn't notice it much myself. The hotel was a comfortable stay. Keep in mind it cost about $4-5 one way to take train to central amsterdam and same amount coming back to hotel which should be factor into total cost per day if u plan to travel out to central amsterdam each day. Otherwise, a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huizen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Bastion Hotels are generally low cost but perfectly comfortable. This one in Bussum Zuid is right next to the railway station (though you wouldn't know it from inside - no sound). There's not much to see within walking distance of the hotel, but there is a beautiful heathland for long walks. Makes for a much better choice than the overpriced hotel accommodation in Hilversum. Friendly staff. Free wifi. Now that makes a change from hotels in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Bussum.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum

Address: Struikheiweg 3, 1406 TK Bussum, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bussum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bussum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Deluxe Hotel Bussum- Zuid/Hilversum offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / Accessibility Bastion Hotel Bussum-Zuid is situated on the north side of Hilversum in a natural, green environment. But despite that the hotel is well accessible by car. From the hotel the Utrechtse wolds are well accessible. Guests can find here a number of possibilities of cycling and walking routes. Amsterdam is approximately 30 minutes away. Cities like Hilversum, Utrecht and Amsterdam have a good accessibility by car and public transportation. Rooms The hotel has 23 comfortable deluxe rooms and 41 comfort rooms. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are more spacious than the comfort rooms and are equipped with a television, a modem, an alarm clock, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage At Bastion Deluxe Hotel Bussum-Zuid/Hilversum guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Hotel Bussum Zuid / Hilversum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.