We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs freshening up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Bussum Jan Tabak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Bussum Jan Tabak to your Saves list
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amersfoortsestraatweg 27 | Brediuskwartier, 1401CV Bussum, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Jan Tabak)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bussum
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Needs freshening up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The rooms and corridors are badly in need to some paint and renovation. My shower didn't work properly. Wifi did work. Breakfast was OK. Overall though this hotel needs some work, the experience was average at best. Staff friendly, no complaint about them.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    29
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
50
6
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The NH Jan Tabak is located where Naarden, Bussum, and Huizen meet, just off the A1 expressway. This is likely to be a very convenient location for those visiting this area. If you do stay here, the old center of Naarden ("Naarden Vesting") is an adorable old fortress town with several decent restaurants.

First some good things. The public areas are quite nice. The hotel is quiet (as is the neighborhood). The restaurant is quite good, and the staff are pleasant. The have both flat and sparkling water available on each floor by the elevator. The breakfasts are decent.

If you don't have a car, the location is pretty bad. It is about a 2 km walk to the train station in Bussum and a 2 km walk to Naarden. The neighborhood is an upscale residential neighborhood with lots of 2- and 3- story pretty brick houses. And no amenities.

But the rooms. The television is not a flat screen -- which gives some indication as to the last time the rooms were updated. Worse, it had a rather "snowy" picture, nostalgically reminding me of analogue TV sets in my youth.

The desk lamp did not work. Even after asking three days in a row to have it fixed. To the credit of the front desk, they did provide another lamp by the bed. I guess "desk lamp" is ambiguous. The lamps by the bed seemed not to work, because the knobs to turn them on were loose. I eventually figured out that they turn on through switches above the bed. I'd like to point out that this is much harder to figure out in the dark.

The desk in the room did not have a desk chair. However, the cushioned chair in the room was adequate.

The problem with the internet service is not only the speed. You have to input a code and password at least every 24 hours for each device. These are printed on sheets by the front desk, in about a 9 pt font. This is hard to read when there is no lamp by the computer on the desk. And, after a few days, you have quite of few of these sheets.

One of my pet peeves is cleanliness in the bathroom. The grout lines in the shower had staining (mildew ?) where the shower water splashes. Also, hot water was plentiful, but extremely hot causing a legitimate danger of burning.

The hotel itself claims to be four-stars on its web site. They are not a four-star hotel. Although it has many nice qualities, the rooms desperately need updating, and they management should prioritize this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankt Gertraud, Austria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

That I stayed in the NH hotel Jan Tabak in Bussum was again a mistake. The free internet is so slow that it is in fact not usable at all. If you want to surf or download your email attachements, you need to upgrade for 9,95 euro per 24 hrs, otherwise you have to stay up all night.
The same speed was experienced int he bar of the hotel. We needed to search for someone who could give us something to drink. Not once, but for every refill we had to search again. As if customers do not exist!
The breakfast is sufficient but their offer to bake you a fresh egg is only a slogan. There is no cook available to do this. Again I had to search for someone, without success. To summerize the service. Fawlty Towers would do better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently spent nine days biking through Holland. Hotel NH Jan Tabak in Bussum was our headquarters for the entire trip. This hotel worked well for us. The rooms were very large, lots of room for our biking stuff. There was a bike rack in the underground garage where we could lock up our bikes at night. There was good, free wifi throughout the hotel. We had a yummy, hot breakfast every day. The staff was very helpful and friendly, very professional. We would stay here again, very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good location if you need to be in the neighbourhood, enough parking space, friendly efficient staff, comfortable rooms, … If you know why you stay here and get it at a good price it is deal.

If I read some of the other reviews some people seem to expect what is not there: this a not suitable for a romantic getaway, a touristic visit to Amsterdam, a culinary escape.

Indeed the décor is a bit tired, you have to pay for Wi-Fi and the art of cappuccino-making still needs to be taught, but I paid EUR 80 and happy with that.

If you are up for some fun after work try one of the bars in Blaricum or Laren.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times over the years, although haven't been for a few years until this week, and yes the decor and rooms are 'tired' but the staff remain extremely efficient and friendly and make this hotel for me.

WIfi free all over the hotel for guests which is how it should be and not the rip off as offered by so many hotels these days!

Will continue to use the Jan Tabak as it is a decent business hotel, especially if you can get a good deal as I did this time @ €60 inc breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton England
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A relatively dreary typical 3 starish NH hotel about 25k outside Amsterdam. Rooms are tired and generally depressing building. But they do put in some extra touches like sweets around the floors and small fun items. The restaurant was okay, but trying to get to a level that they just couldn't reach -.eg. Steak with hollandaise sauce - but served the sauce as a "foam"...losing all its texture and becoming more bitter. So they tried, but didn't quite succeed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Bussum Jan Tabak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bussum Jan Tabak

Address: Amersfoortsestraatweg 27 | Brediuskwartier, 1401CV Bussum, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Jan Tabak)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bussum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bussum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Bussum Jan Tabak 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Bussum Jan Tabak is situated 30 minutes from Schiphol Airport in the heart of ´t Gooi, a region whose natural beauty is rivaled only by its historic charm. Cultural excursions, outdoor sports and recreational activities wait just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Bussum Jan Tabak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Bussum Jan Tabak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.