We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service is as slow as the free internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH Bussum Jan Tabak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added NH Bussum Jan Tabak to your Saves list
NH Bussum Jan Tabak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amersfoortsestraatweg 27, 1401 CV Bussum, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Jan Tabak)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bussum
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sankt Gertraud, Austria
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The service is as slow as the free internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

That I stayed in the NH hotel Jan Tabak in Bussum was again a mistake. The free internet is so slow that it is in fact not usable at all. If you want to surf or download your email attachements, you need to upgrade for 9,95 euro per 24 hrs, otherwise you have to stay up all night.
The same speed was experienced int he bar of the hotel. We needed to search for someone who could give us something to drink. Not once, but for every refill we had to search again. As if customers do not exist!
The breakfast is sufficient but their offer to bake you a fresh egg is only a slogan. There is no cook available to do this. Again I had to search for someone, without success. To summerize the service. Fawlty Towers would do better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Montana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently spent nine days biking through Holland. Hotel NH Jan Tabak in Bussum was our headquarters for the entire trip. This hotel worked well for us. The rooms were very large, lots of room for our biking stuff. There was a bike rack in the underground garage where we could lock up our bikes at night. There was good, free wifi throughout the hotel. We had a yummy, hot breakfast every day. The staff was very helpful and friendly, very professional. We would stay here again, very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good location if you need to be in the neighbourhood, enough parking space, friendly efficient staff, comfortable rooms, … If you know why you stay here and get it at a good price it is deal.

If I read some of the other reviews some people seem to expect what is not there: this a not suitable for a romantic getaway, a touristic visit to Amsterdam, a culinary escape.

Indeed the décor is a bit tired, you have to pay for Wi-Fi and the art of cappuccino-making still needs to be taught, but I paid EUR 80 and happy with that.

If you are up for some fun after work try one of the bars in Blaricum or Laren.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times over the years, although haven't been for a few years until this week, and yes the decor and rooms are 'tired' but the staff remain extremely efficient and friendly and make this hotel for me.

WIfi free all over the hotel for guests which is how it should be and not the rip off as offered by so many hotels these days!

Will continue to use the Jan Tabak as it is a decent business hotel, especially if you can get a good deal as I did this time @ €60 inc breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astellsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton England
Level Contributor
281 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A relatively dreary typical 3 starish NH hotel about 25k outside Amsterdam. Rooms are tired and generally depressing building. But they do put in some extra touches like sweets around the floors and small fun items. The restaurant was okay, but trying to get to a level that they just couldn't reach -.eg. Steak with hollandaise sauce - but served the sauce as a "foam"...losing all its texture and becoming more bitter. So they tried, but didn't quite succeed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Waldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Located in a beautiful part of Holland in a residential area. Clean with friendly staff and a nice outdoor area. Breakfast selection was very limited. This is really a conference/business hotel and not something i would recommend for travellers wishing to sight-see. Good number of TV channels, and room size was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandrew17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East england
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I spent 4 nights at NH Jan Tabak in Bussum and found it quite… average.

Obviously a conference type hotel, it was not busy at night and the quiet room I requested was arranged for me very easily – I guess they are all quiet. There were plenty of parking spaces which were all free. The hotel is generally quite tired with drab corridors to rooms looking well overdue for updating. My room was clean and reasonably well appointed with large TV and the usual additional extras. Bathroom included a tub with shower over and very, very hot water which was somewhat difficult to control. The children and the elderly could easily be scalded the water was so hot and unpredictable.

The dinner menu was limited with only 2 hot or 2 cold starters followed by 2 meat or 2 fish mains. Hardly pushing the kitchen at that! Location is about 1-2 km from dining alternatives (I recommend Archibald, Bussum) so expect a fair walk or have to take the car for a decent meal.

Breakfast was reasonable but I didn’t see a member of staff at breakfast until day 3, when for the first time I was offered freshly cooked eggs. Day 2 there was no toasting machine operating and no one to ask.

I paid 130 euro per night including breakfast and in my view this was 20-30 euro overpriced, which accounts for why the places was so quiet. Look around, there are plenty more at better prices – even in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are away from the main road and therefore less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bussum
2.3 mi away
NH Naarden
NH Naarden
#1 of 1 in Naarden
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Nautisch Kwartier - Huizen
3.6 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Newport Huizen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bastion Hotel Bussum Hilversum
6.1 mi away
Van Der Valk Hotel Almere
4.0 mi away
Hotel Hilversum - de Witte Bergen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Bussum Jan Tabak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bussum Jan Tabak

Address: Amersfoortsestraatweg 27, 1401 CV Bussum, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Jan Tabak)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bussum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bussum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Bussum Jan Tabak 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Bussum Jan Tabak is situated 30 minutes from Schiphol Airport in the heart of ´t Gooi, a region whose natural beauty is rivaled only by its historic charm. Cultural excursions, outdoor sports and recreational activities wait just outside your door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, NHHotels and Venere so you can book your NH Bussum Jan Tabak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing