We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Jan Tabak

Save Saved
You added NH Jan Tabak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Jan Tabak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amersfoortsestraatweg 27, Bussum 1401 CV, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Bussum
Montana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently spent nine days biking through Holland. Hotel NH Jan Tabak in Bussum was our headquarters for the entire trip. This hotel worked well for us. The rooms were very large, lots of room for our biking stuff. There was a bike rack in the underground garage where we could lock up our bikes at night. There was good, free wifi throughout the hotel. We had a yummy, hot breakfast every day. The staff was very helpful and friendly, very professional. We would stay here again, very nice place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    43
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
34
3
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gent
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Good location if you need to be in the neighbourhood, enough parking space, friendly efficient staff, comfortable rooms, … If you know why you stay here and get it at a good price it is deal.

If I read some of the other reviews some people seem to expect what is not there: this a not suitable for a romantic getaway, a touristic visit to Amsterdam, a culinary escape.

Indeed the décor is a bit tired, you have to pay for Wi-Fi and the art of cappuccino-making still needs to be taught, but I paid EUR 80 and happy with that.

If you are up for some fun after work try one of the bars in Blaricum or Laren.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here many times over the years, although haven't been for a few years until this week, and yes the decor and rooms are 'tired' but the staff remain extremely efficient and friendly and make this hotel for me.

WIfi free all over the hotel for guests which is how it should be and not the rip off as offered by so many hotels these days!

Will continue to use the Jan Tabak as it is a decent business hotel, especially if you can get a good deal as I did this time @ €60 inc breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton England
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A relatively dreary typical 3 starish NH hotel about 25k outside Amsterdam. Rooms are tired and generally depressing building. But they do put in some extra touches like sweets around the floors and small fun items. The restaurant was okay, but trying to get to a level that they just couldn't reach -.eg. Steak with hollandaise sauce - but served the sauce as a "foam"...losing all its texture and becoming more bitter. So they tried, but didn't quite succeed.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Located in a beautiful part of Holland in a residential area. Clean with friendly staff and a nice outdoor area. Breakfast selection was very limited. This is really a conference/business hotel and not something i would recommend for travellers wishing to sight-see. Good number of TV channels, and room size was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East england
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I spent 4 nights at NH Jan Tabak in Bussum and found it quite… average.

Obviously a conference type hotel, it was not busy at night and the quiet room I requested was arranged for me very easily – I guess they are all quiet. There were plenty of parking spaces which were all free. The hotel is generally quite tired with drab corridors to rooms looking well overdue for updating. My room was clean and reasonably well appointed with large TV and the usual additional extras. Bathroom included a tub with shower over and very, very hot water which was somewhat difficult to control. The children and the elderly could easily be scalded the water was so hot and unpredictable.

The dinner menu was limited with only 2 hot or 2 cold starters followed by 2 meat or 2 fish mains. Hardly pushing the kitchen at that! Location is about 1-2 km from dining alternatives (I recommend Archibald, Bussum) so expect a fair walk or have to take the car for a decent meal.

Breakfast was reasonable but I didn’t see a member of staff at breakfast until day 3, when for the first time I was offered freshly cooked eggs. Day 2 there was no toasting machine operating and no one to ask.

I paid 130 euro per night including breakfast and in my view this was 20-30 euro overpriced, which accounts for why the places was so quiet. Look around, there are plenty more at better prices – even in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are away from the main road and therefore less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We chose the NH Jan Tabak having read the reviews on Trip Advisor. We chose room only as the breakfast would have cost us 19 Euros each. Our room was large and the bed was massive. There was a free to use safe in the wardrobe, a small fridge (minibar inside but we didn't use that), good air conditioning, hairdryer and complimentary shower gel, shampoo and soap in the bathroom. The shower was hot and powerful and the towels were changed regularly and room cleaned every day.

We didn't park in the underground car park and could see our car from our room.

The area around the hotel is quiet, residential and well maintained - I felt as though we were in a decent neighbourhood.

All the staff were very helpful, indeed the Dutch people that we met went out of theire way to help us - offering help if we were consulting a map or checking the train timetables.

It was very easy to get to the Hotel from the motor way and tourist attractions such as Edam, Volendam, Marken and Zans Schaanse and a short drive away.

We only went to Amsterdam once but this hotel is perfectly placed for a pleasant weeks hoilday. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Jan Tabak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Jan Tabak

Address: Amersfoortsestraatweg 27, Bussum 1401 CV, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bussum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Bussum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Jan Tabak 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel and Agoda so you can book your NH Jan Tabak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Jan Tabak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.