We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The one and only hotel in Stadskanaal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuisplein 30, NL-9501 SZ Stadskanaal, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadskanaal
Kfar Saba, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The one and only hotel in Stadskanaal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I had the privilege to spend 8 days at this premises. The price were suspiciously low (considering it included half board), however to be the one and only option of accommodation in Stadskanaal I am rather satisfied. The hotel is located at the town's main square and are close to the bus station (To actually get to Stadskanaal from Amsterdam is a adventure in itself but this is not the right forum for that story :)). Given that I spent such a long time at this hotel and considering that I don't eat meat the hotel had quite a limited option ingredients to work with. However, they did the best they could and I really appreciate their efforts (8 days of mustard soup with different additives). If you want to exercise there is a fully equipped gym a 5 min walk from the hotel which will let you in for €5. The rooms are very average, their most positive feature is the big bathtub, and negative the 14inch old box of a TV.

The hotel is probably the tallest building in Stadskanaal with its 9 floors and most rooms features a balcony with a rather low fence. Given this and the brick square next to it I guess this is a rather great option if one would be suicidal. If you consider yourself belonging to this category, book the half board option and you will be so eager to see what the staff will be able to cook with their extremely limited amount of ingredients that you most likely won't go through with it.

Bon apetit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
10
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NB
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Being used to North American Best Western hotels, we decided to book this hotel when we had to make a trip to Stadskanaal. This hotel was one BIG disappointment. Weird entrance, not so clean hallways, small room ( and a little smelly ) and I can't remember the last time I had seen a tube TV.
When we asked for a second key ( which we didn't think was weird to ask for ), they gave us a hard time but finally dug one out of a little basket full of keys.
Oh, and did I mention the cook checked us in?
Anyhow, once but never again!

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel will be better !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A nine storey building with a great location in the centre of a quiet town, this hotel is close to plenty of restaurants and shops. If, however, you decide not to go out to any of these restaurants, then the in house restaurant is pretty good.
The stand-out feature of this hotel is the staff, who are friendly, accommodating, and really know how to make you feel at home.

I stayed here for 3 weeks whilst working nearby and I would stay here again in the future if I was back in the area, which really says it all.

Room Tip: High floors have a great view of the town, but the elevator is possibly the slowest I have ever expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead, tyne & wear
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Got a lovely welcome, found all staff friendly. Happy enough with the room(s), two short stays.
Breakfast okay but nothing special. Standard of other food, dinner etc. much better, quite popular with the locals. Stadskannal not touristy but is a nice place to stay if travelling through Holland but hotel is essentially for business. Agree with yorkiebar...slowest lift ever. That would be the only negative. Good value, decent rooms, all round pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: Low floor because of lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We used this hotel as it was at a convenient point on our journey. It was quite nice. Staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was comfortable. However it was quite difficult to find and it took a couple of attempts to finally reach the (ample) parking adjacent to the hotel. (Some roads closed) Evening meal was expensive so we went elsewhere (Pizzeria Vittoria) Breakfast was satisfactory but limited on the jam front - only plum jam! Don't miss Bourtange fortified village which is close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recklinghausen, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I had to stay in that hotel for two times now, business related.


The hotel is directly in the towncenter and give a great view over war "water-rich"-towndesign.

The hotel offers some very tight parking slots, so if you're not very safe with you car, better park outside.
The rooms are at best "medium", of course, 4star standard, with a working place and an acceptable roomsize.
The staff in the restaurant, for dinner and breakfast was very friendly and helpful, the selection of foods was good, and all I tested was good.

But nethertheless the hotel is getting older, and thats easy to see, a lot of scratches and damages, all very small - typical town center hotel.

For "just sleep" a good selection, if you prefer bigger rooms, and are flexible with the location, there are some much better options in the small towns aroud stadskanal

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2007

The lobby doesn't look much but the hotel makes up for it when you get into your room. However it takes a while for you to reach your room though as the lift is VERY slow. So after the first day I used the stairs.

My room was lovely, very large and airy. It had large floor to ceiling windows which went out onto a balcony. The views were lovely at night looking out to the South of the town.There was even a small porthole window which looked out to the West. I had booked a double which turned out to be two singles put together. The condition of the room was clean are there was the usual amenities - coffee, tea, shampoo etc.

My only slight grumble (and this wasn't really the Hotel's fault) was I stayed over Easter when nearly all the shops of Stadskanaal are shut. If you want to bring back food as holiday gifts you are suddenly faced with a large bill. I ended up buying Pickwick tea through the hotel and Edam, waffles through Schipol airport. Not the most cost effective way of ending your holiday!!

The hotel charges for car parking but there is a free carpark 1 minute away just nextdoor to the theatre (which is nextdoor to the hotel!) Put it this way I could see my car from my balcony.

There are 2 foodstores very nearby which were very handy (when they were open!)

Altogether I like my stay here and will be staying again on my next visit to Stadskanaal in July.

  • Liked — The size of the room, lightness and balcony
  • Disliked — Easter Saturday meant no room service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal

Address: Raadhuisplein 30, NL-9501 SZ Stadskanaal, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Stadskanaal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stadskanaal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Stadskanaal
Stadskanaal Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Stadskanaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.