We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Beatrix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Beatrix to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Beatrix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Badhuisstraat 2 - 10, 1783 AK Huisduinen, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huisduinen
Forchheim, Germany
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed for four days in the Hotel on a business trip, while I was working in the port of Den Helder close by. The hotel is classic dutch, a bit dark, carpets and so on. It's just a few metres away from the Dijk and the North Sea, as I was there in the european holiday season it was busy with tourists both on and off bicycles. Room and bed are excellent, I had a room to the back, which I don't mind on working trips. WLAN was excellent all over the place and free, the breakfast was ecellent as well. I went to the restaurant one evening and found the prices a bit hefty, but the service was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
7
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Beatrix during a recent stay in Den Helder as this hotel was the best rated of the region.

The hotel itself is ok, although everything looks a little old and more worn than one would expect from a 4* hotel. Although the hotel is on the seaside, it's peculiar architecture does that only a handful of the rooms actually have a straight sea view. The breakfast, included in the room rate, was of limited variety but tasted good.

The staff was very nice and friendly. It also positively impressed me by taking the spontaneously put a wine bottle (which I had brought from France and left in the minibar) in a bucket of ice so that it would be ready for my return to the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel is located on the seafront on the outskirts of Den Helder. Most people will arrive in Den Helder by train, and it's a 10 Euro fare to the hotel from the train station or about 25 minutes on foot.

My room was located on the first floor, which involved climbing up two sets of stairs, going through a door, and then going back down another two sets of stairs. This arrangement isn't the easiest if you have a few bags and a suitcase. The key for the room is attached to a heavy metal keyring which is slightly too bulky to fit comfortably in a trouser pocket, and you have to lock the room door when entering or leaving the room - the doors don't automatically lock.

The room was modern and clean, with a small balcony giving a great view of the red iron lighthouse which dominates the local skyline. The lightswitch as you enter the room only seems to switch on a single light, and after that it's a case of switching on various lamps around the room to get enough light to read with. There wasn't the usual "welcome" folder in the room, giving details of the hotel facilities etc, but the lady on reception was helpful enough in answering my questions. The double bed appeared to be two single beds joined together, and the duvet was actually two singles that overlapped in the middle.

On a previous trip there was a small bistro/bar to the right of reception which also served tasty food and drink, but on this visit, only the upmarket fine dining restaurant was available due to "renovation work". The fine dining restaurant serves a limited range of very well prepared dishes, with seasonal local ingredients (mostly seafood). The prices reflect the high standards, so don't expect any change from 60 Euro for a 3 course meal with a glass of wine or a couple of beers. The waiters/waitresses were cheery and very helpful.

Breakfast is actually served in the bistro bar next to reception, and consists of a choice of cereals, breads, cold meats and chesses, yoghurts, fruit, plus some scrambled eggs and bacon.

A high percentage of the hotel's clientelle appear to work in the offshore oil and gas industry who start work early. This means you are aware of doors being opened and closed from around 6am, and by 8am there wasn't a great selection of breakfast remaining as some items had ran out and weren't replenished.

If the fine dining restaurant isn't to your taste or budget, then I would recommend the Nodal Wiedus restaurant about 200m from the hotel, located on the top of the dyke with excellent views over the sea (arrive early for a window seat). The menus are in Dutch only, but the friendly waitresses are happy to translate and provide advice.

Checking out of the hotel was quick and efficient, and the bill was accurate despite me not signing for any food or drink during my stay.

Pros: Clean, comfortable rooms, great location for seaside walks, friendly staff
Cons: Limited dining options, average breakfast, quirky, a bit isolated, wind noise throgun balcony window.

I would happily stay there again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Having frequented this establishment on numerous occasions it just seems to get better with each visit.The food presentation,taste,seasonal variety, local produce(Texel lamb,tiny shrimp and fish ),is just outstanding. The restaurant and its staff cannot be surpassed by anything within 100 kilometres, the hotel and its rooms are of an excellent standard.The location is right on the seafront in a quiet area,and would be an superb base for short strolls along the dyke to Den Helder or maybe catch the ferry across to the popular island of Texel

Room Tip: if it is possible, ask for a room away from the local Kerk as the clock chimes may well interrupt yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

We completely enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel Beatix. They gave us a fantastic family room (two rooms next to eachother with and adjoining hall) and a third room nearby. Dinner in the restaurant upstairs was too upscale for my mac and cheese kids, but the manager was happy to refer us to a great kid-friendly place on the sea wall across the street. The pool was not large, but perfect for our needs. The hot tub was a big hit, as well. Included breakfast buffet was adequate, but not overwhelming. I could not get my Apple product to connect to the free high speed internet.

Warning, the place has more stairs than an Escher painting. If stairs are a problem, be sure to get a room near the lobby or elevator.

We found the rooms clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The hotel may have not been the cheapest choice on the mainland, but we found it well worth the money. Thank you!

Room Tip: Upper floors have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Location was OK, but not reflected by the pictures
Service was OK, but not really fantastic

so Ok hotel, but did not meet my 150 euros a night for a remote place..

The restaurant is though impressive (lacks air conditionning). the food was excellent (even though pretty stright tastes). I definetely recommend (count 80 eur / person)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huisduinen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

LOL, this place is not luggage friendly, there are multiple sets of steps up and down per hall., pack a shoulder bag. The rest of the experience makes up for it though. The view of the lighthouse ay night from 33s balcony is stunning to say the least.. You need look no further for your dinner either. I was served the best meal I have had in a long time (catch of the day) by a very pleasant waitress.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Beatrix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Beatrix

Address: Badhuisstraat 2 - 10, 1783 AK Huisduinen, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Huisduinen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huisduinen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Beatrix 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New restaurant C'est La Vie Wine & Dine (jan2011) in Grand Hotel Beatrix Huisduinen/Den Helder ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Beatrix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Huisduinen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Beatrix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.