We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - great value, if a little remote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Theater Figi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Theater Figi to your Saves list
Hotel Theater Figi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Het Rond 2, 3701 HS Zeist, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Zeist
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - great value, if a little remote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Visited Holland for a friend's wedding and was very pleased with the hotel - great rooms for couples, spacious, well-furnished and big (and comfortable) bed. Most rooms overlook a very picturesque plaza and a large clock tower (which I don't seem to remember being noisy, but I'm sure it would only add to the charm).

Good value for money and staff were professional and helpful. I would definitely recommend.

Location was a little far out for getting to Utrecht and Amsterdam (my fault!), but there are plenty of bus services and a train station about 30 minutes away. If you're looking for late nights in those cities, it might be worth closer accommodation - public transport stops late at night and you might have to get a taxi back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    57
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
43
6
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Robbiate, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I stayed here for one week, since 28-12-2013 to 4-01-2014. Awesome place, friendly staff, rooms clean. You can parking your car for free into theater cars park. Awesome place in quiet city. The bus stop to Utrecht is for only 100 metres.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed that this holiday in October 2014 whilst we were attending a Medal Conference. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms all made for a pleasant stay.

One not so pleasant aspect for me however, which has now spread to the UK, was for the Hotel to provide room only with breakfast being an extra.

I feel the hotel could have done more to encourage guests to use their restaurants, for all meals, by giving more publicity to the services with literature in the rooms and discounts for residents taking meals. Perhaps even a loyalty card with larger discounts the more meals you had in-house.

That apart we really enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

As it was raining heavily when we arrived, we were grateful that it was possible to access the car park through the hotel.
The staff at Reception were friendly and our request for a quiet room at the back of the hotel was met. (Our friends did not make the same request and were woken by the town bells during the night).
Our room was spacious and clean and although the weather was cold, the room was warm enough.
The buffet breakfast offered fresh fruit, a selection of bread and pastries and a couple of cooked items.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth requesting a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Because we had a wedding party at Slot Zeist we booked a hotel room at Figi, which is only a few meters from Slot Zeist. When we checked in at the reception the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was quite large and the temperature was perfect. Although everything in the room was clean (including the bathroom) there was carpet on the floor which which wasn't that clean. The rooms have free internet through wifi and cable.

After arriving back at the hotel after the party a porter had to open the door because it was locked and couldn't be opened with the room key. This isn't a big deal but when no one is at the reception you have to wait until someone arrives there to open the door for you.

The beds are quite comfortable as are the pillows. Unfortunately we are woken by the town hall which plays a little song every 30 minutes starting at 8 Am. The town hall is across the street and because the sheets were pretty thick we've put the window in the tilting position which made the noise even worse.

Breakfast is very good. There is a wide range of things to choose from, including different sorts of bread, eggs and beverages. We parked our car at the garage of Figi which is free for guests. You get a free exit ticket when checking out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Not overly impressed by this hotel. I stayed one night and the room was really spacious, but the layout was really odd. None of the sockets were in useful places, with most in the corners of the room where there was no furniture and none near the table that held the Tv which was the only piece of furniture you could use as a desk.

The bed was really comfy and the shower lovely and big, but the smell from the drains in the bathroom was awful.

The worst thing for me was that the hotel is situated opposite a lovely building that looks like a town hall, and the clock strikes every single hour. I had stupidly thought it might stop late in the evening, but no, every single hour you heard the appropriate number of chimes, and believe me, I heard all but 1 and 2am! Hence I didn't get a very good night's sleep and was looking forward to a nice big breakfast. Hmm....very disappointing, the only thing I could find that I fancied was some fruit (that hadn't been washed) and a couple of bread rolls. I am not really a ham or cheese person in the mornings and the selection was extremely poor given the cost (19 euros)

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room at the back of the hotel to avoid the clock chimes opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My friends and I spent a week in The Netherlands before embarking on a cruise ship out of Amsterdam for 12 days. We selected Hotel Theater Figi because it was centrally located in the country, and each place we visited was an hour in any direction. Although we didn't have breakfast there each morning, which was supplied by relatives who live 5 blocks away, we did have continental breakfast on our last morning. The hotel was very well priced, about $350 for 6 nights, including free parking. The rooms were neat, very clean, quite comfortable beds, and perfect after a long day of visiting and sight seeing. The first night, a Saturday, however, we were kept up all night by the bar crowd in the street below. We had terrible jet lag after flying over night from the U.S., so needed the sleep. But the partiers were in full swing and we got no rest. The next morning we asked to be moved to a quiet side of the hotel; the management told us that the rest of the week would be quiet so we took our chances. They were right. It was quiet and peaceful. So I guess the warning is not to stay there on a Saturday night, at least in a room that overlooks the street. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and made our stay quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: No spa or gym to work out in. Ask for a room on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Theater Figi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Theater Figi

Address: Het Rond 2, 3701 HS Zeist, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Zeist
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Zeist
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Theater Figi 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Theater Figi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Theater Figi Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Theater Figi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.