We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place for families on a budget.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keycamp Dunirell

Keycamp Dunirell
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wassenaar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keycamp Dunirell
Save
You added Keycamp Dunirell to your Saves list
Wassenaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for families on a budget.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My family and i spent a week in Dunirell during the summer.If i had known how fantastic it was i would have booked for longer. Our 3 kids aged between 5 and 12 thought it was the best place ever!! The camp is perfect for families with older children and we noticed there where alot of teenage children in the camp.
We stayed in a tent (our first long stay in a tent with the kids) and loved it. We drove from Northern Ireland to Wassenaar without a problem. However, we had drove to Europe before.
The tent was clean,had all you needed for cooking and the beds (and i'm not lying when i say this ) more comfortable than the caravans. The camp is very family friendly and our kids loved the tent.The only down fall for younger kids our people with bladder problems, was the distance to the toilets at night times. However in saying that our kids never needed to use them in the night.
All you need is onsite, and the supermarket is not overcharging British and Irish tourists. The food in the restaurant is good and the service staff we found to be well mannered,pleasant and helpful. Entertainment was on every night for children to enjoy. Internet access was available in the main building.
The theme park was fantastic for the whole family although some rides are too scary for the little ones. We didn't spend much time in the waterpark it was quite crowded when we went and i couldn't relax worrying that the younger children ,(who aren't strong swimmers) would be knocked over in the crowd ( it may have been we happened to pick a very busy time).
The bike hire is fantastic for all the family. If flying over i would hire the bikes (adult bike hire around 45-50 euro per week) and not a car as you can go everywhere on a bike without problems as cyclists are very well catered for in in and out of the camp.
This camp is a busier than those we would usually stay at, but it is now also one of our favourites. We will absolutely be returning to Wassenaar in the future.Happy kids, fantastic value for money and friendly staff= HAPPY PARENTS.

Room Tip: Tents have all you need for an adventure with kids in this park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
staffs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

This is the best place in the world its fun, cheap and has great character. Im Rhii and im 13 years old and this holiday was the greatest in mii life!

I stayed in a comfort tent with mii dad, stepmom, and younger brother and sister !the tent was comfy, spacios,clean and warm!

The staff were polite, freindly,helpful, bright, cheery and looked as if they enjoyed their job!

for me their were lots of cool places to hang out and make new freinds witch i took ful advantage of and made freinds from all over the world that i still keep in touch with!

for the younger ones their were parks,games,rides,entertainers and fun rooms to keep them occupied all day long!

For the adults their is a bar,shops,resteraunts,stalls and mutch mutch more!!!!

The tikibad pool is the best ever there were tons of slides,jeccuziis,steam rooms,wave mashines,water canons,and tons of fun to be had! although under 12's dont get in without an adult!!!!

Eurocamp Dunirell is the greatest place for family , freinds , couples and even solo traverlers!!!! you can always count on it to make you laugh and you will never forget the time you spend there!!!!!

(whilst i was away i made a special special freind but due to unfortunate events i never got to say bye to him and his contact info was lost my name is rhii hill if you are out there you can contact me through facebook!!!!!thanks)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Stayed here with eurocamp in april for 4 nts, took ferry dover to calais, 4 hours drive from calais to the park. check in very straight forward, had caravan opposite reception, beautiful van, the best that eurocamp offer, very satisifed.
the theme park is onsite, which was great, also the big swim complex, which we never tried. all flat surroundings ideal for biking around....watch out for those pesky bikes they are everywhere!!!
on the park there is a nice looking restaurant.....la place, be aware they cook everyones choice of food in front of them so is terribly slow and disorganised!! if you want well cooked steak...you will be there 25 mins at least watching them!!
the supermarket there is good and the takeaway too!
went into amsterdam one day, drove up to the outskirts and caught park and ride, 5 of us 6 euros in total including train in!!! not that an exciting city, did a canal tour tho, that was nice.
went especilly to holland to see the tulips....which we did. fantastic!! went to keukenhof gardens ...what a fabuous park, you must go here 14 euros pp. you should see the photos i got!!
will be going back, with our bikes!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2007

We came back yesterday from a week away with Keycamp staying in a villanova. Accomodation was satisfactory and was very well situated in 'middleveld' in the campsite. The campsite is very busy with lots of children and adults on bikes and go karts. When we first arrived we thought this was going to ruin our holiday but you get used to the roads at the side of each caravan/Duingilow section being used as footpaths. The theme park had lots to do it was very quiet and we tended to dip in and out of the theme park as we did not stay on site every day, although you could if you had older children. Our party consisted of grandparents, parents and children aged 2 and 8. The supermarket on site is approx 50% more than you would pay than the C100 or Aldi an 8 min walk away from the camp.
The campsite is noisy, but people do tend to respect the rule of 11pm-7am quiet. Do not come here for peace and relaxation, however I am a very fussy individual with low tolerance to other peoples badly behaved children and I was happy!
TIKIPOOL
The TIKIBAD pool was really good fun, it was very busy when everyone had their free sessions between 10-14.00 so we opted to pay and it was approx 3.50Euros each, apart from the 2 year old who was free. We went a few times and found that the quietest time was after 5pm when all the families were having their evening meals/BBQ's.
On Wed, Sat and Sun, parents with children under 120cm are allowed in at 9am, an hour before the main pool opens, some of the water rides are available, but you can be first in line for the opening of the big rides at 10am.
Some of the flumes are quite hairraising, becareful of the plughole(green and cream), its very fast.
WASSENAAR
You can walk directly from the main entrance into the town and have the church on your left as you wind down the streets, the town is small but very nice, lots of smaller boutiques. The market on Tuesday is worth a visit if you are after local fresh produce and cheese.
LA BAMBA DOS
A really good restaurant 'argentinian', steaks galore and really good live music. Reasonably priced and good service, HUGE portions and a nice atmosphere.
AMSTERDAM
Due to the bus only running in the summer season we went to Amsterdam the local way, via bus and train.
Bus to Den Haag -10 Euros, ask for a 'Buzzer' ticket, this admits a huge family of mixed ages. 10 min bus ride to Den Haag, then go down the escalators and buy a return ticket, approx 14 Euros each! Quite pricey compared to the bus but is still cheaper than the UK. Approx 45 mins via train, good views and really clean transport. Once at Centraal station in Amsterdam, walk nearest the tourist boats on the left over the crossing and this will lead you into the main shopping area, avoiding the more seedy red light district.
DEN HAAG
A really good variety of shops and restaurants, just 10 mins from Wassenaar and cheaper than driving/parking.
Haarlem
Good variety of shops and things to do, we drove here as we fancied a drive, parking approx 2.30Euros per hour on the 'high street'.

Overall a good value holiday, the theme park is not to be compared with Alton Towers or similar. It has good rides and a nice family atmosphere. We will be visiting in the future when our youngest is a little older so that he can enjoy the rides and parks. The Duingalows provided by Duinrell looked very comfortable and good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keycamp Dunirell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keycamp Dunirell

Address: Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wassenaar
Also Known As:
Keycamp Dunirell Hotel Wassenaar
Keycamp Dunirell Wassenaar, South Holland, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keycamp Dunirell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.