We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vriendelijk en mooi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buitengoed HagenHorst

Buitengoed HagenHorst
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Buitengoed HagenHorst to your Saves list
Buitengoed HagenHorst
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oud Clingendaal 7, 2245 CH Wassenaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Vriendelijk en mooi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Things can not always go perfect. They accidentally double booked our room and they asked if we would like to have a room in another hotel 3 minutes further down the road. We were a little bit disappointed at first because we chose this hotel because of its beautiful environment. But in the end the other hotel turned out to be very comfortable as well, except for the view... The way they handled the situation was very friendly and very professional. We will go there again later this year, knowing that we will be treated in the correct way. This hotel is also an excellent place to stay if you are planning to do a lot of hiking, walking or go Geocaching.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel is about 45 minutes South of Amsterdam and in a peaceful city with very pleasant surroundings. However, the rooms are quite outdated and the service is quite lacking. We noticed that when we ate dinner there that only one person was working (he was doubling with the front desk) and the same for the breakfast in the morning. Seems they were understaffed and they were missing items on the dinner menu both evenings. For the overall cost of our stay and lack of service, I don't think this hotel represented a very good value so I cannot highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The location is a good 45 mins from Amsterdam, but is quite close to the tulip fields. The building is an older villa surrounded by many trees. Our expectations were more than what we received. We got the impression that the people working there tried their best, but there was no management or overall there was a sense of them not being prepared to handle tasks for the guests. E.g. price included breakfast, which oddly on a Sunday morning it did not start until 8:30 pm. By 8:15 most guests were waiting around for breakfast to start, which was all prepared by one employee. Due to no fault of her own, she was barely keeping up with serving about 25 people. We also had dinner there one night, and similarly got the impression that they were trying very hard, but ultimately unable to deliver. E.g. for dessert their menu had two items, but only one of them was available. There were other inconsistencies as well, which I would attribute to poor management. E.g. the cleaning did not restock toilet paper, our bathroom sink did not provide hot water (had to use the shower head instead), and courtesy maps of Amsterdam in the lobby were one year old maps (with inaccurate museum etc. opening hours). Rooms are spacious, but interior pain could use a bit of updating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very nice villa in the woods, away from the crowds which is great. In 10 minutes you are in the center of the Hague or in the dunes of Wassenaar.
We booked on a special including breakfast & dinner last May and it was very nice.
For breakfast a wide selection was available, coffee, tea, cappuccino were available the whole day and night free of charge and dinner was a decent tasty meal with dessert.
The beds were very comfortable and we had a big room for me and my parents.
I would definitely recommend this to my friends for a nice break away from the beaten path

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is not a standard modern 4 star hotel. It is something completely different. An old villa with about 20 rooms. The villa is surrounded by green (woods, park and garden). Quiet, away from the busy streets of Wassenaar and The Hague. The villa needs mending. (Worn out carpets.) Old, vintage decoration; lots of wood and dark colors. The paintings are horrible, modern art, but that is a matter of taste. The rooms are simple, the bathroom old fashioned, but the bed is great. I slept ver well.
Little bar for some drinks is OK. The big room is for breakfast, which is pretty standard. (nothing special). It seems that you can have dinner. There is a week menu. I did not try that. People are very friendly.
Taking the room-rate into account, it is value for money. A nice experience and something completely different than the big hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beautiful surrounding woodland location and beautiful garden.
Suit for cycle trails.
Very efficient receptionist.
Average services.
Average breakfast
There is no food available in the evenings
Decor is tired
Small room, walls are paper thin, carpets worn out.
Expensive price for the facilities.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hagenhorst is a mini-conference-centre in an old villa tucked into the unbelievably dense greenery of South Wassenaar, where cyclists have been known to disappear without trace (local joke). It isn't really a hotel, and if you don't expect the full hotel treatment it's wonderful. Quiet, simple, with charming staff and more than adequate comfort, it's only a few miles from The Hague, Leiden, and the magnificent sandy beach of the Wassenaarse Slag -- not to mention the leisure park Duinrell. You can rent bicycles and explore the really lovely neighbourhood, or just go walking. On the walls of the entrance hall is the whole history of the house in photographs. A colleague and I stayed here on our way to a conference in Leiden, and as I grew up in Wassenaar I wanted to revisit old haunts. Hagenhorst was the perfect base for doing so. They make dinner if you order it, and the breakfast is simple but good. A single room really is single, with a narrow single bed: the mattresses are a bit soft but surprisingly good. WiFi you buy with a card -- different prices for different lengths of time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buitengoed HagenHorst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buitengoed HagenHorst

Address: Oud Clingendaal 7, 2245 CH Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Buitengoed HagenHorst 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buitengoed HagenHorst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buitengoed HagenHorst Wassenaar, South Holland, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buitengoed HagenHorst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.