We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Van der Valk Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar to your Saves list
Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar
Zijdeweg 54, 2245 BZ Wassenaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Standard Van der Valk Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel the first time was about 4 years ago. Since then the hotel has been updated, the rooms are large and have modern furniture and large flat screen TV, the bathroom also had contemporary fittings. Beds are comfortable with extra pillows provided, coffee making facility and WiFi. What is frustrating is the lack of iron and ironing boards in the room, it's a large hotel and it's a pain to go and try and get an iron from reception.

The standard of food for dinner in the restaurant was good, service was quick. Breakfast is a normal continental style. Staff were polite,the bar area lacks atmosphere and the bar was untended for long periods so getting a drink was hit and miss. The car park is free and has ample spaces. All in all OK for a one or two night business stay with good prices considering its in the capital.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
19
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

By accident we ended up in one of the more luxurious rooms of the hotel. It felt like a spa treatment. Everything was really clean, interior was beautiful and modern and the beds were lovely. Good breakfast and friendly staff as well. The location of the hotel was the only down side but it did not matter to us. We went out for a walk and once we crossed the busy road we ended up in some beautiful woods. So don't be fooled by the first view of the location. We want to go back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanzimtoti
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We decided last minute to visit Amsterdam and Keukenhof, so booked this hotel 2 nights before we left. It is a 4 star hotel and we got such a bargain through booking.com . When we arrived and saw the beautiful hotel, we were sorry it was just for one night! The rooms are spacious, with everyrthing provided; heated bathrooms, toiletries, flat screen TV with a few English channels (bonus!) and very clean.. The reception staff were very courteous, and if I ever return to the Netherlands, this is where I am heading to stay!! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms get no noise from the floor above - great ceilings!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were booked in here by a friend whose party we were attending in Holland. We asked for this location as we wanted to visit the Keukenhof Gardens.

We were bowled over by the quality of the hotel and the staff, who made us very welcome. We had asked about local restaurants to eat in the evening but in the end, after a day at the gardens , we decided to eat in the restaurant, and we were not disappointed in the slightest. We were survey a marvellous meal in their restaurant with excellent service from Stephen.

I would thoroughly recommend anyone in the area needing a hotel to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Ariving at the hotel we were disapointed on the location, it was located directly next to the freeway and quite some distance from Den Haag. Staff however was fantastic and breakfast was amazing. Only downside was the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel a couple of times previously, as it is well placed being near to Keukenhof, Wassenaar, Leiden, Scheveningen etc., and less than an hours easy drive from Amsterdam. There were 10 of us in total, in 5 rooms, and we were there 3 nights.
The hotel is well presented, with recently renovated rooms (well, they were last year as well) with clean rooms, very good quality bathrooms and excellent beds. The hotel has excellent reception staff (all with better English than mine) and for me the restaurant is also excellent. Also, despite being located on a major road, it is not noisy, at least in the rooms we had.

So, the restaurant. Great quality food, but for the second time one of the meals we had for our group was wrong, and then the replacement was also wrong. The staff were good about it but it's a pain in backside. Having said that, I put some of this down to the language difference, but it's annoying anyway. On the second evening, the main issue was running out of menu dishes, which is a problem if ones daughters are fussy eaters and thats all they wanted! Main choice not available, second choice also not available. Kids menu then, or ask for an omelette. Still, not much the waiters can do about that. But to reiterate, I really like the food there and you get lots of it.

Breakfast is a buffet, and includes all the usuals (bacon, eggs, toms, mushrooms, sausages) plus lots of cold cuts and cheeses and different breads, croissants cakes... Epic! I only needed a light lunch of Dutch Apple pie! And if you've never had that, you're missing out. It was superb pretty much wherever I had it. Diet time now...

Overall, I like the hotel and will stay again.

Location wise, it's a great base for going to Keukenhof to see the gardens (which this year were amazing). Not normally my thing, but I really enjoyed it. We also went to Amsterdam, which is only 45 minutes drive away. Tip: if you do this aim for one of the car parks in the centre (we used De Bijenkof). They are not cheap, but easy to get to, especially with sat nav helping, and properly secure. Scheveningen is also worth a visit if you like a seaside resort feel, and we also drove to Volendam just to the north of Amsterdam on the coast of the Markemeer.

Other places worth the visit are Middelburg in Zeeland in the south, and if you go there, you should not miss Veere, an ancient and very charming old trading town on the now effectively landlocked Veerse Meer lake. A truly beautiful spot. Also worth the drive down along the N57 which takes you over the Delta Expo water defences - proper Dutch engineering on a huge scale!

We had a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back. Also, not all have baths, as many rooms were converted to wet rooms with wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Van der Valk Den Haag Wassenar was a very nice hotel. I only stayed one nite but I would come back here.
Everything was very nice in the room and internet connection was quite good.
Breakfast was very good and cost 12.50 Euro.
Only complaint is that the front desk check inn was very, very slow. They only had one person working the front desk and she said that she is alone including the busiest check in hours.
She was very kind and I felt sorry that she didn't have help necessary to make quick check in when alot of people arrive.
Despite this, I would definitely stay here again as the accommodations were comfortable, breakfast very good and the price slightly less than 100 Euro a nite including tax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar

Address: Zijdeweg 54, 2245 BZ Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar South Holland, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.