We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend looking at flowers (and fending off Hay Fever)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar to your Saves list
Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar
Zijdeweg 54, 2245 BZ Wassenaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Long weekend looking at flowers (and fending off Hay Fever)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We've stayed at this hotel a couple of times previously, as it is well placed being near to Keukenhof, Wassenaar, Leiden, Scheveningen etc., and less than an hours easy drive from Amsterdam. There were 10 of us in total, in 5 rooms, and we were there 3 nights.
The hotel is well presented, with recently renovated rooms (well, they were last year as well) with clean rooms, very good quality bathrooms and excellent beds. The hotel has excellent reception staff (all with better English than mine) and for me the restaurant is also excellent. Also, despite being located on a major road, it is not noisy, at least in the rooms we had.

So, the restaurant. Great quality food, but for the second time one of the meals we had for our group was wrong, and then the replacement was also wrong. The staff were good about it but it's a pain in backside. Having said that, I put some of this down to the language difference, but it's annoying anyway. On the second evening, the main issue was running out of menu dishes, which is a problem if ones daughters are fussy eaters and thats all they wanted! Main choice not available, second choice also not available. Kids menu then, or ask for an omelette. Still, not much the waiters can do about that. But to reiterate, I really like the food there and you get lots of it.

Breakfast is a buffet, and includes all the usuals (bacon, eggs, toms, mushrooms, sausages) plus lots of cold cuts and cheeses and different breads, croissants cakes... Epic! I only needed a light lunch of Dutch Apple pie! And if you've never had that, you're missing out. It was superb pretty much wherever I had it. Diet time now...

Overall, I like the hotel and will stay again.

Location wise, it's a great base for going to Keukenhof to see the gardens (which this year were amazing). Not normally my thing, but I really enjoyed it. We also went to Amsterdam, which is only 45 minutes drive away. Tip: if you do this aim for one of the car parks in the centre (we used De Bijenkof). They are not cheap, but easy to get to, especially with sat nav helping, and properly secure. Scheveningen is also worth a visit if you like a seaside resort feel, and we also drove to Volendam just to the north of Amsterdam on the coast of the Markemeer.

Other places worth the visit are Middelburg in Zeeland in the south, and if you go there, you should not miss Veere, an ancient and very charming old trading town on the now effectively landlocked Veerse Meer lake. A truly beautiful spot. Also worth the drive down along the N57 which takes you over the Delta Expo water defences - proper Dutch engineering on a huge scale!

We had a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back. Also, not all have baths, as many rooms were converted to wet rooms with wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
21
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Van der Valk Den Haag Wassenar was a very nice hotel. I only stayed one nite but I would come back here.
Everything was very nice in the room and internet connection was quite good.
Breakfast was very good and cost 12.50 Euro.
Only complaint is that the front desk check inn was very, very slow. They only had one person working the front desk and she said that she is alone including the busiest check in hours.
She was very kind and I felt sorry that she didn't have help necessary to make quick check in when alot of people arrive.
Despite this, I would definitely stay here again as the accommodations were comfortable, breakfast very good and the price slightly less than 100 Euro a nite including tax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were greeted warmly on arrival and the young lady receptionist was extremely helpful.

The room was bright and airy with a balcony, the shower efficient and easy to use, everything was spotlessly clean. We slept very well in the large and comfortable bed.

The breakfast buffet was impressive but we found the evening meal disappointing.

The Van de Valk is some way outside the Hague but there is an hourly bus service.

The hotel is also a short way from the Loewman Museum and it can be reached by a pleasant woodland walk. I would recommend both the walk and the museum.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the road, which had the benefit of a balcony, we did not find that there was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went to Van der Valk - Den Haag / Wassenaar for a weekend trip. The hotel facilities are really excellent.

The building itself is by far not the nicest one from the outside, however the facilities are modern inside of the hotel.

The rooms are modern and well equipped: balcony, bath, TV, free wireless LAN, nice bath

The hotel is located nearby of the Scheveningen beach (6 km) and the Den Haag city center (10 km).

A free car park is located in front of the hotel.

We can recommend this hotel and will certainly come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We landed on Schiphol in Amsterdam and drove south to wassenaar an stay 1 night in this
FAMILY HOTEL it took to long at the checking counter the rooms are clean bud the food is midi joker beter go to an higher end restaurnt

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a clean, well appointed room on the back side of the hotel that was quiet and a great rest stop for us on a busy trip to Wassenaar. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good and the 'bar food' that we snacked on in the early evening was tasty and good value. The staff were very friendly and whilst the hotel will not win prizes for style and 'pzazz' it wins a prize for a good nights sleep and efficiently feeding its guests !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed on business at this hotel for a week and I was very pleased with the experience, the room was excellent, the bathroom and shower were outstanding, large and European (no shower curtains just a glass separator wall), I loved it! I had a balcony that was nice to relax on in the evening with a glass of wine, the beds were very comfortable but best of all was the breakfast buffet which was really good and for a north american they offered food that agreed with my digestive tract........The hotel was very easy to drive to with lots of parking. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.....

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony....was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar

Address: Zijdeweg 54, 2245 BZ Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar South Holland, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.