We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel with great facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar to your Saves list
Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar
Zijdeweg 54, 2245 BZ Wassenaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
norfolk
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good modern hotel with great facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We were greeted warmly on arrival and the young lady receptionist was extremely helpful.

The room was bright and airy with a balcony, the shower efficient and easy to use, everything was spotlessly clean. We slept very well in the large and comfortable bed.

The breakfast buffet was impressive but we found the evening meal disappointing.

The Van de Valk is some way outside the Hague but there is an hourly bus service.

The hotel is also a short way from the Loewman Museum and it can be reached by a pleasant woodland walk. I would recommend both the walk and the museum.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the road, which had the benefit of a balcony, we did not find that there was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
21
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went to Van der Valk - Den Haag / Wassenaar for a weekend trip. The hotel facilities are really excellent.

The building itself is by far not the nicest one from the outside, however the facilities are modern inside of the hotel.

The rooms are modern and well equipped: balcony, bath, TV, free wireless LAN, nice bath

The hotel is located nearby of the Scheveningen beach (6 km) and the Den Haag city center (10 km).

A free car park is located in front of the hotel.

We can recommend this hotel and will certainly come back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We landed on Schiphol in Amsterdam and drove south to wassenaar an stay 1 night in this
FAMILY HOTEL it took to long at the checking counter the rooms are clean bud the food is midi joker beter go to an higher end restaurnt

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a clean, well appointed room on the back side of the hotel that was quiet and a great rest stop for us on a busy trip to Wassenaar. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good and the 'bar food' that we snacked on in the early evening was tasty and good value. The staff were very friendly and whilst the hotel will not win prizes for style and 'pzazz' it wins a prize for a good nights sleep and efficiently feeding its guests !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed on business at this hotel for a week and I was very pleased with the experience, the room was excellent, the bathroom and shower were outstanding, large and European (no shower curtains just a glass separator wall), I loved it! I had a balcony that was nice to relax on in the evening with a glass of wine, the beds were very comfortable but best of all was the breakfast buffet which was really good and for a north american they offered food that agreed with my digestive tract........The hotel was very easy to drive to with lots of parking. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.....

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony....was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed there for two nights, clean and newly designed rooms, price very reasonable, good wifi, great selections at breakfast. If we have cars then it's not a problem to shop around though not many sightseeings nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leusden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's a van der valk, your basic go-to hotel chain. Older property but rooms have been renovated in recent memory. Old small CRT televisions, and avoid rooms facing the main road. One of the cheaper options in business hotels in the area. If you're on an expense account, the Nootdorp one is much nicer.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the road as they'll be very noisy from about 6AM onward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar

Address: Zijdeweg 54, 2245 BZ Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar South Holland, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.