We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar

Save Saved
You added Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar
Zijdeweg 54, 2245 BZ Wassenaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Birmingham UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a clean, well appointed room on the back side of the hotel that was quiet and a great rest stop for us on a busy trip to Wassenaar. The breakfast in the restaurant was very good and the 'bar food' that we snacked on in the early evening was tasty and good value. The staff were very friendly and whilst the hotel will not win prizes for style and 'pzazz' it wins a prize for a good nights sleep and efficiently feeding its guests !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
18
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stittsville, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed on business at this hotel for a week and I was very pleased with the experience, the room was excellent, the bathroom and shower were outstanding, large and European (no shower curtains just a glass separator wall), I loved it! I had a balcony that was nice to relax on in the evening with a glass of wine, the beds were very comfortable but best of all was the breakfast buffet which was really good and for a north american they offered food that agreed with my digestive tract........The hotel was very easy to drive to with lots of parking. I would recommend this hotel to anybody.....

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony....was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed there for two nights, clean and newly designed rooms, price very reasonable, good wifi, great selections at breakfast. If we have cars then it's not a problem to shop around though not many sightseeings nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leusden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's a van der valk, your basic go-to hotel chain. Older property but rooms have been renovated in recent memory. Old small CRT televisions, and avoid rooms facing the main road. One of the cheaper options in business hotels in the area. If you're on an expense account, the Nootdorp one is much nicer.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the road as they'll be very noisy from about 6AM onward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is located somewhere at the supberbs of the Haag city and I get some problems to get the right way there. But the free parking recompensed that inconvenience.
I found the hotel a realy nice place to stay in. The rooms are great: cozy and spacious with very comfortable bed but the bathroom impressed me the most!
I cant't say anything wrong about the service and the place at all.
I recommend Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar definitely!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotels within the Van der Valk group are known for the proper basics: nice rooms, good restaurants etc. However, in this hotel I had a room close to a very noisy road, just bad luck? Breakfast and service OK. So be aware to ask for a (real) quiet room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Good location for travelers.
Simple design.
Comfortable room.
Long walk from my room to the lobby.
Wonderful parking on the site.
The lady at the reception was very friendly, hopeful and efficient.
Price was reasonable.

I can say that the hotel is OK .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar

Address: Zijdeweg 54, 2245 BZ Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsNL, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar South Holland, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.