We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK and cheaper than most” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar to your Saves list
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zijdeweg 54, 2245 BZ Wassenaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
leusden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK and cheaper than most”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

It's a van der valk, your basic go-to hotel chain. Older property but rooms have been renovated in recent memory. Old small CRT televisions, and avoid rooms facing the main road. One of the cheaper options in business hotels in the area. If you're on an expense account, the Nootdorp one is much nicer.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the road as they'll be very noisy from about 6AM onward.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    68
    35
    15
    6
See reviews for
39
80
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel is located somewhere at the supberbs of the Haag city and I get some problems to get the right way there. But the free parking recompensed that inconvenience.
I found the hotel a realy nice place to stay in. The rooms are great: cozy and spacious with very comfortable bed but the bathroom impressed me the most!
I cant't say anything wrong about the service and the place at all.
I recommend Van der Valk Den Haag-Wassenaar definitely!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hotels within the Van der Valk group are known for the proper basics: nice rooms, good restaurants etc. However, in this hotel I had a room close to a very noisy road, just bad luck? Breakfast and service OK. So be aware to ask for a (real) quiet room!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Good location for travelers.
Simple design.
Comfortable room.
Long walk from my room to the lobby.
Wonderful parking on the site.
The lady at the reception was very friendly, hopeful and efficient.
Price was reasonable.

I can say that the hotel is OK .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel as a family of four for 3 nights, impressed with the room and bathroom, We had a fridge, a safe, TV, kettle and a patio with 2 chairs to sit outside. Food was good quality and plentyful. Having stayed in many hotels in England from Etap, Ibis, travel Inn, etc, this was a massive upgrade, more expensive but when you consider that some hotels charge for parking and breakfast, this was a lovely experience. The only thing that could have been better was the kids sleeping arrangements. We booked a family room and our 2 boys (13 & 11) had 2 single beds pushed together with no headboard, as you can imagine there was some arguments about who was on whos side. I would easily reccomend this hotel for a short stay and intend to return for another short break sometime.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 115, ideal because on the ground floor and you can park you car directly outside y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We booked a double room well in advance but when we arrived we were put into a twin disabled room and were told that there were no other rooms available. We were in the basement and the room was next to the laundry room and staff offices so it was noisey. The room was quite dark and there were members of staff or locals hanging around outside our window. They'd sit on the wall outside (we had a small patio area which, as we were in the basement didn't let much light in and was shared with the staff) and eat, drink and make noise. The curtains weren't big enough for the windows so light would get in when you didn't want it to. We reported it to the trampy Brittany Spears lookalike at reception who said she'd get house keeping to sort it but nobody came and when we reported again as we checked out, she said she'd get the manager to email us about our problems but we didn't receive anything back from them. Wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't trust the staff and make sure they provide you with what you booked and don't assume t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We came on holiday to holland to see family and on Saturday 6th April took our grandmother of 84 to the restaurant of the van der valk hotel for a meal. Whilst we had nearly finished our meal, which was quite nice, we suddenly saw a few mice running through the dining room. We immediately alerted the staff who laughed!!! Finally when we asked for the manager he offered us a free coffee. However we will never visit this place again. If there are mice in the dining room, what lives in the kitchen? Disgusting.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wassenaar
4.5 mi away
Hotel Wassenaar
Hotel Wassenaar
#4 of 6 in Wassenaar
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Buitengoed HagenHorst
Buitengoed HagenHorst
#2 of 6 in Wassenaar
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
3.2 mi away
Carlton Beach The Hague / Scheveningen
1.5 mi away
Mercure Hotel Den Haag Leidschendam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar

Address: Zijdeweg 54, 2245 BZ Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar South Holland, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.