We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been so much more!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stoeplaan 27, 2243 CX Wassenaar, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Cerritos, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“It could have been so much more!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for 2 nights while on a road trip in The Netherlands. We wanted to stay outside of the cities. It is very conveniently located near Den Hague and parking was free. The facility is very impressive as you arrive- in the middle of an upscale residential area with park-like grounds. We booked through an Internet booking site to get the cheapest rate. When we arrived, there was no one at the desk. When the clerk finally came and we were registering, he asked if we wanted to pay more and upgrade our room. We declined- and it seemed that we were then assigned to a room below the standard of the rest of the facility. Although the grounds are lovely, we had a view of a flat rooftop, with a broken wine bottle and stagnant water. Woke up with a number of mosquito bites!
Room was a good size and the bathroom was more than adequate. The furniture was a mixture and the TV was on a small table that was in the way of the desk.
We had dinner one night in their restaurant. It was very pricey, but the food was delicious and the service attentive. A cup of coffee was several euros, but came with chocolates and gourmet cookies. There were lots of little gourmet touches.
We expected breakfast to be equally outstanding, but were disappointed. It was the same as any 2-3 star hotel we visited, with an extra charge if you wanted a latte or other such coffee drink.
They have a pleasant bar area, but we had to hunt down someone to serve us.
This place has a great location, beautiful grounds and a great dinner restaurant, but there were a number of areas in which it did not measure up.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you complete the registration process.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    20
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
5
24
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have been statying at the Kieviet Wassenaar hotel for many years, both for business and pleasure. The location is good, the restaurant is excellent. But the facilities are dated: carpet is worn, beds are sagging, pillows tend to squeeze out and provide little support, TV was small and with few channels in English, rooms are dark, lamps don't provide much light, windows don't close properly which is a problem when it's cold, and the room don't have air conditioning which is a problem when it's warm. Staff are usually friendly but no in my last last stay. I had reserved a room with a late check-out, which is advertised at 5:00 pm in the website for an extra 15 euros. I made all my travel plans around this late check out. But the hotel did not honor my reservations: they decided that the late check out was not guaranteed, even if I paid for it in advance, but was only at their discretion. Essentially they advertised one thing and delivered another.

Room Tip: In summer don't stay in the top floor: it can get very hot on a sunny day. In cold weather, chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel is since 6 years a Fletcher hotel, but is very old and needs a face-lift. The rooms are cold in the wintertime and the guest needed extra heaters to get it warm. The breakfast and dinner were excellent and also the service. We enjoyed that the hotel is closeby the city of the Hague.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but in wintertime cold. There are nog double-glazed windows in the whole bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Even if the setting of the hotel is beautiful, the services rendered are poor. An upgrade promised in the morning, was no longer possible when we showed up in the afternoon. The 'spacious room' 104 is a money maker for the hotel: it is used a meeting room during the day, and by throwing in a double bed, 2 lamps and a mirror, it is supposed to be a hotel room. The bathroom in this 4 star hotel looks like it had been constructed shortly after the 2nd world war and instead of some cosy ammenities it had 2 soap dispensers mounted on the wall. These went nicely with the cheap shower curtain that hang in the bath tub, The receptionist at check in was unfriendly, the one at check out only vagely muttered an apology when confronted with our complaint. Worst price - quality we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Came back to this hotel for a third visit in the last few years and nearly missed finding it again as the trees around it and the car park have grown considerably.
We had a lovely spacious room that included a lounge area.
At the front of the hotel is a large patio area with comfortable chairs and parasols/umbrellas, where we spent time in the very warm weather, aided by drinks from the waiter service.
Breakfast was a feast though we found the coffee/tea dispensers confusing.
We'll be back here again when next in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

I booked the room with facilities for disabled. Apparently the bathroom had not been cleaned and the room not prepared for arrival.
I was not advised that a parcel had been delivered for me
First morning there was No service during breakfast with 4 tables not cleared.
Other than the receptionist, staff was not friendly and not motivated.
The breakfast was not what I had expected in a 4 * hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

This clearly used to be a very high-end hotel. The public spaces are elegant and well designed. However, the inefficient staff has NO training and always seems to be at least one person short: the same 2-3 people run back and forth between serving in the restaurant/bar and covering the front desk, even at meal times. Dinner was good but not extraordinary - and it was expensive.

More important, there is a charge for everything. The final bill carries several surcharges - e.g., for use of a credit card, for reservation insurance (cancellation will cost you a great deal, even weeks in advance). Asking for water at dinner got me a very small bottle of blah mineral water for 5 euros. There is no coffeemaker in the room. Internet is available only via a T-mobile account which you must set up with your credit card.

My room was an "executive" suite with lovely large windows and lots of light, but the rug had several bleach spots and there were absolutely no amenities beyond a bidet (which I do not use) and a TV.

With a car, the beach is (I gather) 15 minutes away, as are Leiden and the Hague. Without a car, however, it is impossible to get anywhere. The distance makes any taxi ride quite expensive. A bus stops across from the hotel, but only once an hour. Walking to a shop or restaurant takes at least 40 minutes. The immediate neighborhood has many lovely houses, two old churches, and a few horse trails, but not much else.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet

Address: Stoeplaan 27, 2243 CX Wassenaar, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet is located in the centre of the luxuriant town of Wassenaar. This luxurious 4-star hotel with its attractive interior is perfect for guests who want quality, hospitality and comfort. Auberge De Kieviet is an oasis of tranquillity and surrounded by the magnificent countryside of the province of South Holland. The North Sea beach is just a stone's throw away. Auberge De Kieviet has an excellent a la carte restaurant where, for years, its international clientele has enjoyed the weekly menu, the seasonal dishes and the professional service. The cozy restaurant, the attractive rooms and the spacious patio are perfect for all of your receptions, meetings and private dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet Wassenaar, South Holland, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Auberge De Kieviet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.