We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wassenaar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Wassenaar to your Saves list
Hotel Wassenaar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Katwijkseweg 33, 2242 PC Wassenaar, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Out of town location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This hotel was chosen by us purely for it's location, 5 minutes drive from my wife's sisters house. Quite basic facilities and as Murray A says trying to be like a Travelodge! There was no air conditioning when we were there (seems that hasn't changed) and it was very warm with our room being above the restaurant/kitchen, rooms are sparsely furnished but the bed was fine and more than large enough, bathroom and walk-in shower were ok. We had booked breakfast and it was the usual buffet style you come to expect in our part of the world, enough choice of the cold variety but only scrabbled eggs available warm! Price wise "par for the course" for this type of hotel, have stayed in worse and of course better. Will probably stay there again as it suits our requirements when visiting family.

Room Tip: Don't have one with a view of the road/above the restaurant, try the side above the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    11
    11
    2
See reviews for
7
26
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St priest ligoure
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Recently refurbished hotel near the dunes and the North Sea.
With a little more attention and staff training this hotel has potential especially for cycle enthusiast as the hotel provides free of charge excellent bicycles.
Poor breakfast, interference on the TV channels, and a few little deficiencies makes me rate this hotel average.
Not very well located for business travellers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April 2014. The first thing that dismayed me was that, even though they say they have wifi....and INSIST they just installed a new system, neither our room nor our friends could get a quality signal to work in either of our rooms on either Blackberry or Mac products.
The rooms are definitely Travelodge UK style. Basic is being nice. No lid on the toilet. One small painting on the wall. Had to get a hairdryer from the front desk. No coffee/tea making facilities. No fridge. One glass. Must say, the beds were very comfortable.
The one very scary thing is security. No peep-holes in the doors. No thermostats or air conditioning. There was a door out to an outdoor walkway but which was wide open to every other room in the hallway along with a patio that has unlimited access from an adjacent elevator/stairway. There is no way to get fresh air into the room while sleeping at all. Have no idea what it would be like in the summer.
It is stated in the TripAdvisor writeup that there is a free breakfast. The only breakfast we were offered was at E12.50 for what would be considered an upper-end continental breakfast.
Needless to say, not impressed except for the beds.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I had to stay in this hotel for one night due to a meeting nearby (did not choose or book the hotel myself). The hotel is modern but totally lacks character. The service was not very friendly but adequate. Joint spaces: the lobby, breakfast room etc. are functional but boring - anything but cozy or inviting. My room at the top floor was large and modern, the bed comfortable, but the bathroom (with walk-in shower) was surprisingly some twenty steep steps climb up in the "attic". Seemed a rather dangerous design solution even for a non-disabled guest, not to talk about people with mobility problems, if you travel with children etc. Breakfast was in the same basic style. Would not choose this hotel for a longer stay or holiday. There is an air of lack of attention and tiredness over the hotel which is somehow depressing!

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor rooms if you do not want to climb 20 steps to the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
209 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Decent hotel with sufficiently large and newly furnished rooms. Modern outlook though no design. It has modern paintings, also for sale, but lacks a feeling.

Good bed and sleeping. Not everything quite clean in the room. Large enough for a couple, also the bath room. Shower not so well adjustable. No shampoo.

Good staff, but during breakfast not present. Breakfast okay but purely Dutch. Spacious room but no real atmossphere. Which is through for most of the hotel: it is okay but lacks a bit friendliness. Restaurant available, which we did not use.

Not a really special hotel and somewhat away from any city centre (thus sufficient parking space). We booked it for the musical next door and trekking in the dunes for which it was perfect. Also bikes for hire. It is a straightforward hotel choice for a reasonable price. Not for a lovers weekend, but an alternative to pricy the Hague.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepenbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

fantastic hotel friendly people very good food,good hotel to make trips with your bicycle,many nice places in the neighbourhood like Scheveningen,Katwijk,Noordwijk,the hague,Leiden all with the bicycle!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night with my family. The hotel feels modern and clean, and so are the rooms. The beds were comfy, and the amenities okay. However, there are no windows, the door could not stay open, and there was no airco available on this warm summer day.
I had some real concerns with the service offered and the mentality of some personnel. I had some drinks on the terrace in the late evening, and the staff did not want to turn on the lights upon request. Then, when I wanted to order another drink, I had to cross the bar and then the reception area to end up on the other side of the hotel outside to find the staff smoking cigarettes. Finally, also the breakfast crew was seemingly ignoring its guests, and we did not feel very welcome there. To sum it up, the amenities

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wassenaar
4.5 mi away
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
Hotel Den Haag-Wassenaar
#1 of 6 in Wassenaar
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
Hilton Garden Inn Leiden
#1 of 3 in Oegstgeest
4.5 of 5 stars 469 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Noordzee
Hotel Noordzee
#3 of 4 in Katwijk
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bastion Hotel Leiden / Oegstgeest
2.1 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Leiden
2.8 mi away
Hotel van Beelen
Hotel van Beelen
#1 of 4 in Katwijk
4.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wassenaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wassenaar

Address: Katwijkseweg 33, 2242 PC Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Wassenaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wassenaar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wassenaar 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Wassenaar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wassenaar South Holland, The Netherlands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wassenaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.