We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dennenheuvel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dennenheuvel to your Saves list
Hotel Dennenheuvel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Dennenheuvel
Heerderweg 27, 8161 BK Epe, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Epe
Rotterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I booked this hotel for one night to visit the neighboring spa facilities in Emst (at 3km distance). We booked a special arrangement, which included the room and breakfast, and two day entrance tickets for said wellness center. As the entrance fee doesn't come cheap we felt this was a perfect deal!

The room was nice looking, but admittedly a bit cramped. We had a regular room at the back of the building (first floor) and it seemed to be situated in a corner of the structure; even though I think these sort of rooms are usually more spacious this might have been smaller than average, as everything was very precisely tucked in there (2 single box-spring beds, a little desk with tv, a single chair, and a bathroom with shower, toilet and sink). Nonetheless it was tastefully decorated and we felt we received very good value for money. The only downside was that the bed was too hard to our preference (way harder than regular hotel beds, too!) and that the bed was too short for my spouse, leaving his feet dangling out. Saying we had a good night rest would be a definite overstatement, but these mattresses might be a breath of fresh air to other travelers who can usually barely sleep in hotel beds (which are usually on the softer side). Either way, you'll have to take into account you very well might be sleeping in two single beds.

Breakfast was very nice; instead of a basin with scrambled eggs and sausages, little omelettes were provided, together with boiled eggs and the more regular continental breakfast. We would definitely consider staying here again to revisit the wellness center close by.

Room Tip: Although the regular 2-person rooms have a nice atmosphere, I would consider upgrading (for more roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed for a night over easter. Though a double bed was requested, we were given two single beds pushed together which was a little disappointing. The room was clean and comfortable, though no kettle or coffee/tea in room. While the room felt somewhat outdated, the bathroom was perfect, a combination rain shower and slate flooring. There was also a handy phamplet in the room with good hints of places to visit and things to do.

The service was friendly, and staff very helpful. We rented bikes and used them for a full day at a reasonable cost (though they tacked on an extra 2.50 for a rather pithy map). Excellent breakfast, just the sort of thing you need before heading out on the bikes. The afternoon tea looked good as well, though we never tried it out.

Bottom line: I'd stay here again, and I'd give a better rating if the owners got the 'smaller' things - such as double bed when requested, kettle in the room, better quality TV, complimentry internet - right.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Good hotel. Rooms are nice and clean. Food used to be better but is still okay. Bit average for a vegetarian and some things are microwave heated. Good breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Furnishing in lobby and room were excellent. Wonderful breakfast, excellent service. Far exceeded our expectations. Was recommended by friends who live in Epe and it was great. Beautiful terrace for dinner or drinks. Rooms were clean, super beds, baby cot and spare bed were set up for our children. Very, very nice and a real gem. Would totally recommend this hotel for couples, familes or business people. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel is has an own style, which I really liked. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is quiet and peacefull, our room was not very big (but that’s quite normal in Holland) but nicely decorated and the bathroom is new and ‘trendy’ . The breakfast was of very good quality. I hope the staff read this comment and continue doing there job so well! I definitely recommend this hotel. It is also close to nature and a 10 minute drive to sauna 'the Veluwse bron'.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Europe
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

I actualy been there, in the town of Epe which is quite far from the usual Dutch business routes, more like in the farmland and woodland. This is not a chain-owned hotel and its strong points are built on that.
The hotel itself is mostly conference rooms and a restaurant which look unto a busy road. I imagine there is not so many guest rooms. Five or so of the rooms are on the ground floor wing and all have french windows opening into the garden. There is another two-storeyed wing in the back which has little balconies. Since all the rooms face the garden they are quiet.
My room was reasonably large and spotlessly clean. And quiet, like I said before. The bathroom was unexpectedly large and had all necessary things. What else would you want after a busy day?
In the morning you may have breakfast in the breakfast room. The breakfast is pretty much regular fare, no cooked dishes I think, good choice of cheeses, sausage etc.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dennenheuvel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dennenheuvel

Address: Heerderweg 27, 8161 BK Epe, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Epe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Epe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dennenheuvel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dennenheuvel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.