We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming Frisian corner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurant De Stadsherberg

Hotel-Restaurant De Stadsherberg
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel-Restaurant De Stadsherberg to your Saves list
Hotel-Restaurant De Stadsherberg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oud Kaatsveld 8, 8801 AB Franeker, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Franeker
Maastricht
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A charming Frisian corner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Long ago we had visited Franeker, but memories of that visit had faded. So when looking for a place to stay this weekend we checked references through Tripadvisor. That proved to be the right approach. This charming small hotel is situated just outside the center and has a terrace overlooking two small canals. Very practical is the private parking right across the street, Initially we were a bit concerned that the traffic would keep us awake at night ( there is a street running very close to the outer wall of the buildijng, but we should not have worried. No disturbances whatsoever. Weather was nice so dinner was served outside on the terrace and only those booking a table too late ( like ourselves) had to dine inside.But the food was good and the service friendly. If you are looking for a five star accomodation you should not consider the Stadsherberg, if , however, you prefer the charmn of the small countrystile Hotel with atmosphere and a friendly smile you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms we saw are a bit small. They come cheaper but if you would like a larger room we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Pole
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Though the rooms are nothing really special (but clean), the food is excellent! Both dinner and breakfast. Service is friendly. A good place to stay when visiting lovely Friesland (the planetarium is fanstastic!!!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

If you are staying in Franeker for any reason, make sure you eat here - the food is absolutely delicious! The service is also excellent.

Breakfast was also good with an above average selection of foods available.

The bedrooms however leave a little bit to be desired - they date back to probably the 1950's with paper-thin walls which bend when you lean against them! I could hear every movement of the person in the room next-door to me for example - luckily it was a colleague so I could have a laugh with them about it but it could be difficult if not!

The bathroom (thankfully) is not only more modern than the bedrooms but also more soundproofed!

The road noise is also very loud with vibrations every time a lorry goes past which woke me up several time so be prepared - it feels like the floor is rattling.

Having said that, for one night it was absolutely fine and I wouldn't have missed the food in the restaurant - it really was spectacular and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

What a nice place, with nice people running the hotel, great food good location apleasure to stay here

Room Tip: Vist the planetarium engineering masterpiec
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Value for money this is a great little place to stay for a night. The rooms are fairly basic but the location is very good for visiting the Old Town, literally across the canal. Our room was quite small but adequate with a decent shower and toiletries. Value for money as it was one of the cheaper Hotels we stayed at. The best part was the restaurant, situated right over the canal. It served very good food with a good wine list too. Breakfast wasn't very much but then neither was the price we paid for B&B.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurant De Stadsherberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant De Stadsherberg

Address: Oud Kaatsveld 8, 8801 AB Franeker, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Franeker
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Franeker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant De Stadsherberg 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel-Restaurant De Stadsherberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurant De Stadsherberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.