We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, old, friendly owners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amsterdam

Hotel Amsterdam
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Valkenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Amsterdam
Save
You added Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Nieuweweg 27, 6301ES Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, old, friendly owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

You can't expect a 4 star hotel for the prices they charge. It's an old Hotel, the room we had was small but clean and all right for the price we paid (april 2013, € 30,- p.p. incl. breakfast).
We had a dog with us for which they charged € 5,-, this is very reasonable. We made some hikes in the area for which this is a good hotel. In Valkenburg there are lots of nice restaurants, the hotel kitchen is not in use but the nearest restaurant is opposite the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
iom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Went on a school trip and stayed at this hotel. Acommodation was very poor. The matress was hard, the shower was either too hot or too cold, we also had holes in the walls. The food was bellow standard. For breakfast there was only 1 type of cereal, no fruit juice only water, tea or coffee, no fruit and the milk was more like water. The evening meal was also bellow standard. All meat was processed and there wasn't a lot of vegetables, once again there was no fruit juice.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Go to the one next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed here whilst on a school trip. The hotel, to be honest, was very disappointing. The rooms were manky, bed sheets unclean, the room we were in had a window which wouldn't open and we found the food below average.

Not a terrible experience but not a good one either.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

To be fair, this is Good for the price, my wife and 16 year old have just come back from this hotel, there is no lift ,so if you do happen to be allocated on the 4th floor, bad luck !
The rooms differ in size, if you have a large family for 4 or 5, management can supply a room for all of you. We booked 2 rooms , one for my wife and myself, and one for our son.
We had heard that Amsterdam never sleeps at night, so when we booked about 4 months ago, we asked if we could have rooms at the quiet part of the hotel, which was the back of it. To be fair to them they didnt let us down.
If it's large bathrooms your after?, then your in for a surprise, you have a sink , toilet, and shower all in one, this didnt bother me ,yes it was small but it did the job I wanted so I wasn't bothered. The room was clean and tidy, and it came with a fan, as it is a warm time of the year, you can have a hairdryer on request at reception, also a remote control for your television, to be honest the only thing that this room needed was a bit of paint .!
Breakfast is supplied outside your door in the morning, a continental, of one roll and a slice of cheese, I didn't bother with that, as this hotel is small, it doesn't have a restaurant, so in the morning I got up, got out of Dam Square, took a walk towards centraal station, leading up to the station are about 4 -5 hotels that are happy to serve non residents breakfast, one was a coffee house/restaurant on the left hand side, 4 shops from c and a , that were doing a full english ,(even with chips, if you wanted them) at only 5.50 euro.
I tried not to go too far from the square at night, I had been warned earlier in the day by a dutch policeman that pick pockets , and muggers were targeting tourists in the area, so its best just to keep to pubs and bars in your hotel street, especially if like me you've had a few drinks by 1am in the morning.!
Yes ,We had a Great time, I would recommend this hotel, but only if you don't expect too much, it is a budget hotel that is Good, that's all,and it COULD do with decoration !, the staff were friendly to us, and nothing is too much trouble, when you go out watch out for the cyclists, I almost had one or two over, or one or two almost had me over?, , If you want to save money, and go to 25 places FREE of charge, then get the 'I am Amsterdam ' card from the Tourist information building, opposite Centraal station, for only £16.55 a day, you can save pounds, it pays for itself on the first day ! Have Fun !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuweweg 27, 6301ES Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.