We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and not clean.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei to your Saves list
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Onderstestraat 66 | Houthem St. Gerlach, 6301 KC Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Valkenburg
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Old and not clean.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Okay, we had a cheap stay, €75 included breakfast for one night. But a room that is not clean and not op to modern standards it was over priced. Parking is okay, Close to Valkenburg with lots of better hotels.

Room Tip: Problem is, the front is at a busy road, the otherside above the kitchen and the dustbins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erikdefotograaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed for a week so chose a deluxe double room for the extra space. The rooms were clean (the carpets did have a couple of stains but no problem). Beds were comfortable with extra pillows if required. The bathroom had slightly old-fashioned decor but had a great shower. We were made to feel very welcome and the staff spoke English well. The breakfast buffet was well-stocked - no need to leave hungry! We ate in the restaurant a couple of times - it was a little pricey but had a high standard of food and service. The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood but really easy to reach other areas as we were touring around each day. We stayed in the run-up to Christmas, the hotel decorations were tasteful and helped get us in the festive spirit.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room choose the deluxe double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerensaJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel provided us with a three night package of bed, breakfast and table d'hote dinner. The room was a bit small but the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was varied and good but the evening meal was only average. Having said this, they were working down to a price and we did have the option of eating a a carte in the attractive looking restaurant at the hotel. The location is opposite a school but is very quiet and peaceful most of the time and it's a great base for exploring the area, including the town of Valkenburg, which is magical in December. In the evenings there is a small bar and it's possible to walk into the neighbouring village where there is a handful of locals' pubs which are interesting and very welcoming. If you go in the winter it's best to remember that this corner of the Netherlands gets very cold.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galiniwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Booked one night and came a bit anxious because of all the bad reviews. But we were not disappointed. The check was quick and efficient. We got a nice room with a big bathroom. The double bed slept perfect.
The hotel was indeed outdated and needed a renovation, but it was clean in our room.
We only had breakfast and that was very good and lots of choice between everything.
As we were touring in the area we did not stay many hours in the hotel.
Overall we were satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed in de geulvallei which supposed to be a three star hotel. The rooms are very small, the beds old andmuch too soft, the curtains need to be washed and the bathroom is a joke. The whole bathroom is from plastic and it feels you are in a dixie. The plastic is yellow from the old age. Carpets are worn, it smells and the food is terrible. if you can avoid please do!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boksdocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valkenburg hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

When is a doubbelbed, doubbelbed? Well ours was only 120cm wide so sleep was rather light. Everything was just awful, the smell, the dust, noisy housekeeping at 7 am, stains on the carpet everywhere (did somebody feel bad from the food?) I even saw housekeeping washing the bathroomfloor with the towel I had just used to dry my face! Really, what a sad thing, because the location is sweet and charming but I highly recommand to sleep in a car rather than checking in here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baschehusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

we stayed 4 nights with national holidays here in early december 2010 and were met with a smelly hotel corridor and an equally smelly bathroom. we and other guests complained every day about the stale water smell in our part of the hotel (1st floor rooms 102 to 106) but apart from saying it was a leaking pipe and sprinkling soda crystals down the shower, the hotel did nothing. the food was dull, apart from buffet breakfast and i paid almost 20eur for a bottle of the cheapest spanish plonk ever tasted, but only once.it's described as the fletcher hotel and restaurant but if you are with a tour you only eat in the breakfast room not the restaurant. there was no atmosphere in the hotel bar and no locals used it . the hotel is situated right at the end of the village and it's a walk to find another bar. not a place i will return to, it's very basic but pretends to be something better.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christmasmarketsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
0.7 mi away
Hotel De Herberg
Hotel De Herberg
#14 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 746 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#11 of 54 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
1.9 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#4 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei

Address: Onderstestraat 66 | Houthem St. Gerlach, 6301 KC Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-star Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei is situated in the famous Geul valley, close to the beautiful Ingendael nature reserve. The hotel itselfThe 3-star Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei is situated in the famous Geul valley, close to the beautiful Ingendael nature reserve. The hotel itself has a rich history, and is housed in an historic building. Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei is in an exceptional location in the characteristic village of Houthem St. Gerlach (in the municipality of Valkenburg). Would you like to read in our lounge, enjoy a snack and a drink in the garden or explore the area by bicycle? The facilities and the attractive surroundings guarantee a relaxed break. Has a rich history, and is housed in an historic building. Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei is in an exceptional location in the characteristic village of Houthem St. Gerlach (in the municipality of Valkenburg). Would you like to read in our lounge, enjoy a snack and a drink in the garden or explore the area by bicycle? The facilities and the attractive surroundings guarantee a relaxed break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing