We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy location for the centre of Valkenburg” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Monopole

Grand Hotel Monopole
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Monopole to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Monopole
Nieuweweg 22, 6301 ET Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Very handy location for the centre of Valkenburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel, as part of an August coach trip. Although other dates had been planned for this year, they had been cancelled due to lack of interest and so August was the first time the trip actually ran and stayed at this location. The hotel is run by a family, very welcoming. Unfortunately the person on the front desk couldn't always be bothered to help, if you had a request or needed information you got the impression you were being a nuisance by asking. On a couple of occasions, I got my own room key, while she sat reading her magazine.

The room was Ok, fairly compact but it seems that being an old building, the rooms were made to fit the available spaces, so some had far more space than others. The bathroom was interesting, a shower attachment in the bath but no screen or shower curtain, so it wasn't possible to take a shower standing up, unless you wanted water all over the floor and down the wallpaper. Ironically there was enough room to accommodate a shower cubicle so we wonder why this wasn't done. Being partly disabled, it proved quite difficult getting in and out of the bath which was very deep. We'd know next time to specify that we need a walk-in shower. Water temperature fluctuated depending on how many other guests were using their bathrooms at the same time.

The hotel is well decorated, has a number of restaurant areas and a nice bar and outdoor sitting area. Live entertainment in the bar on occasions. Bingo in Dutch was also on offer in there while we stayed there. The food was Ok, plentiful and if you needed special diet the chef was happy to accommodate your needs. As a coach party we didn't get any choices, just a set menu so its difficult to say what the a la carte menu would be like. The drinks were quite expensive and the service not always very good. Breakfast was a buffet but again, service not too good, on our last morning we couldn't get any coffee.

The best feature of this hotel, for us, was its location. Like a couple of other hotels on that road, a short walk takes you into the middle of town which brims over with eating places and all sorts of evening entertainment. A slow walk also takes you to the caves, castle ruins, shops etc so its ideal for elderly and disabled alike. In fact the whole town seems to be a mecca for the more senior Dutch holidaymakers but few other tourists during the summer season. In December they hold a Christmas market in the caves and this hotel is as good as any to stay in for that, but I'd probably book bed and breakfast only and ask for a room with a shower cubicle.

Room Tip: Specify what facilities you need and hope to get them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed one night just before Easter. Definitely out of season – I think only three rooms were booked – which made the hotel seems a little abandoned.

The room we stayed in was a little rundown – and felt old fashioned. Except for the bathroom which were renovated lately. (The hairdryer didn’t work though – but they brought me one from the reception when I phoned)

The staff was friendly. Breakfast was okay.

All in all this is a nice 3 star hotel. But don’t expect more than that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First time at this hotel in Valkenburg and we will definitely return. A very welcoming family run hotel. Our room was excellent, comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent and even though our visit was during a quiet period, the service was top rate. The Hotel has its own off street car park which made it ideal for us. There was a lot of roadwork going on outside at the time of our visit but the whole town sewage work is being upgraded ( not the hotel fault). We were assured that the improvements will enhance the entire street. This hotel is located within three mins walk of the town centre with its many restaurants and cafes and is within 1 min of the train station with trains to Maastricht running every 15 mins.. This is an ideal location for a visit to this lovely Dutch town

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the whole area is generally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our second visit to this hotel,underlined our previous experience. The owners and the staff go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.
As last time the catering was excellent , and although tea making facilities are not provided a hairdryer was in our bathroom.The beds are really comfortable.True the rooms are a bit shabby but are spotlessly clean. Two or three English channels are available on the room T.V. A three minute walk to the town centre is a bonus.The buffet breakfast consists of a fine selection of cold meats and cheese,cereals, yoghurts,etc. Even the coffee is good! (not too bitter)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here as part of a coach trip to Floriade. The hotel room was a little qurky. It was divided into 3 rooms . The main part with a double bed , wardrobe , tv, 2 chairs and table which lead into a L shaped room with single bed and wardrobe and the compact shower room. The room was clean and comfortable once you got used to the different floor angles !

However don't let this put you off . The staff are all lovely& spoke good english , food was brilliant, some of the best I have had on a coach tour and they have their own drinks system which workd well. While we were there Holland played in the football The staff had decorated the bar and made everthing festive including a free cocktail and nibbles. ~Although Holland lost luckily the maitre de didn't carry out his threat -- not to feed us breakfast the next day if Holland lost !!!

Would reccomend this hotel if travelling independently or with a coach trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here as part of a huge group attending a music competition quite some time back. the service we received was great, staff were more than happy to go the extra mile and supported tutors and students alike. All of us enjoyed every meal and packed lunch (which is no mean feat with our group). I am unsure how many other non-competition guests were also staying as we didn't see any however this could be because of our meal times and superb organisation. We're all still raving about the hotel now - we stayed in 1991 and by the way we won the music festival. great memories

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A classic Dutch hotel in the beautiful small town of Valkenburg. Well placed to visit the famous caves (actually limestone mines) and centre of the town. A nice place to spend some time around Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Monopole

Address: Nieuweweg 22, 6301 ET Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Monopole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.