We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay at a average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Monopole

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Monopole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Monopole
Nieuweweg 22, Valkenburg 6301 ET , The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Aarhus, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Average stay at a average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed one night just before Easter. Definitely out of season – I think only three rooms were booked – which made the hotel seems a little abandoned.

The room we stayed in was a little rundown – and felt old fashioned. Except for the bathroom which were renovated lately. (The hairdryer didn’t work though – but they brought me one from the reception when I phoned)

The staff was friendly. Breakfast was okay.

All in all this is a nice 3 star hotel. But don’t expect more than that.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbridge, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

First time at this hotel in Valkenburg and we will definitely return. A very welcoming family run hotel. Our room was excellent, comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was excellent and even though our visit was during a quiet period, the service was top rate. The Hotel has its own off street car park which made it ideal for us. There was a lot of roadwork going on outside at the time of our visit but the whole town sewage work is being upgraded ( not the hotel fault). We were assured that the improvements will enhance the entire street. This hotel is located within three mins walk of the town centre with its many restaurants and cafes and is within 1 min of the train station with trains to Maastricht running every 15 mins.. This is an ideal location for a visit to this lovely Dutch town

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but the whole area is generally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Our second visit to this hotel,underlined our previous experience. The owners and the staff go the extra mile to ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible.
As last time the catering was excellent , and although tea making facilities are not provided a hairdryer was in our bathroom.The beds are really comfortable.True the rooms are a bit shabby but are spotlessly clean. Two or three English channels are available on the room T.V. A three minute walk to the town centre is a bonus.The buffet breakfast consists of a fine selection of cold meats and cheese,cereals, yoghurts,etc. Even the coffee is good! (not too bitter)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here as part of a coach trip to Floriade. The hotel room was a little qurky. It was divided into 3 rooms . The main part with a double bed , wardrobe , tv, 2 chairs and table which lead into a L shaped room with single bed and wardrobe and the compact shower room. The room was clean and comfortable once you got used to the different floor angles !

However don't let this put you off . The staff are all lovely& spoke good english , food was brilliant, some of the best I have had on a coach tour and they have their own drinks system which workd well. While we were there Holland played in the football The staff had decorated the bar and made everthing festive including a free cocktail and nibbles. ~Although Holland lost luckily the maitre de didn't carry out his threat -- not to feed us breakfast the next day if Holland lost !!!

Would reccomend this hotel if travelling independently or with a coach trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here as part of a huge group attending a music competition quite some time back. the service we received was great, staff were more than happy to go the extra mile and supported tutors and students alike. All of us enjoyed every meal and packed lunch (which is no mean feat with our group). I am unsure how many other non-competition guests were also staying as we didn't see any however this could be because of our meal times and superb organisation. We're all still raving about the hotel now - we stayed in 1991 and by the way we won the music festival. great memories

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A classic Dutch hotel in the beautiful small town of Valkenburg. Well placed to visit the famous caves (actually limestone mines) and centre of the town. A nice place to spend some time around Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Valkenburg is a delightful town in the hills east of Maastricht and the Monopole is perfectly position to enjoy it's many fine restaurants and bars. Valkenburg is hilly, yes hilly, in perfectly flat Holland. There are steep walks up to a ruined medieval castle and even a chair lift up one Alpine steep cliff. Caves can be visited which date back to the Romans. The 48 room Monopole is excellently managed by its owners Rudy and Marlene Curves. Rudy is also the head chef who cooks first class evening meals. There is a cosy bar to relax in with very reasonable prices and a lavish buffet breakfast. The Curves take a pride in their hotel and it shows. The rooms are spotlessly clean and everything works like clockwork. We loved Valkenburg and the Monopole and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor rooms facing the castle away from any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Monopole

Address: Nieuweweg 22, Valkenburg 6301 ET , The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelsNL so you can book your Grand Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Monopole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.