We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & well-placed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Monopole

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Monopole to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Monopole
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Monopole
Nieuweweg 22, 6301 ET Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Friendly & well-placed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A classic Dutch hotel in the beautiful small town of Valkenburg. Well placed to visit the famous caves (actually limestone mines) and centre of the town. A nice place to spend some time around Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Valkenburg is a delightful town in the hills east of Maastricht and the Monopole is perfectly position to enjoy it's many fine restaurants and bars. Valkenburg is hilly, yes hilly, in perfectly flat Holland. There are steep walks up to a ruined medieval castle and even a chair lift up one Alpine steep cliff. Caves can be visited which date back to the Romans. The 48 room Monopole is excellently managed by its owners Rudy and Marlene Curves. Rudy is also the head chef who cooks first class evening meals. There is a cosy bar to relax in with very reasonable prices and a lavish buffet breakfast. The Curves take a pride in their hotel and it shows. The rooms are spotlessly clean and everything works like clockwork. We loved Valkenburg and the Monopole and would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor rooms facing the castle away from any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night to make the most of our visit to Thermae 2000. I had been looking at this hotel including breakfast and dinner and the reviews were quite good although i was very worried as the price we payed was a bargain. So we turned up to the hotel and it looked good, a couple of days before we went i emailed the hotel to see if we could have a free upgrde and when we checked in we got a tower suite room, sounds very grand but it is very basic. But the hotels in valkenburg are not known for grand rooms the hotels are mainly old and contempry feel, although i must say it was still a good room and the extra space was good. The staff very good, friendly and helpful. Dinner in teh hotel was superb for the price as there was only a few residents and a bus tour only staying tehre they did a buffet but it was still good and enjoyable. The resturant is not what you would expect it was very clean and modern. The breakfast was equally as good to. I would definatley recomend this hotel to anybody and when we go back to valkenburg would probaby stay here again if i can get the free upgrade again :-) and the great price.

Room Tip: Try and get a free upgrade if you want the extra room space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We went to visit the Christmas markets at Valkenburg and found this hotel which is very near to the Train station. Centrum (Center) is just less than 10 mins by walk. Location wise, we found this hotel perfect. Good staff and morning breakfast was nice. The room was pretty good. Well maintained and worth the money.

Tip: Please make sure to visit the caves in the morning else you might find yourself in a big queue at the entrance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I went to the grand monopole hotel for a weekend with crusader holidays. We had a clean room. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. We went to the christmas market Please go to the castle. We went late and we were the last ones in, but that added to the experience. It was twilight and as it gradually got dark the lights came on and illuminated the castle. I took lots of pics and when i looked back at them there were orbs in some of my pics. Very eerie.
We had a great time and i am very pleased we stayed at the grand monopole.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We spent three nights in the Monopole while on a coach trip to Christmas markets. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and very efficient. Public areas were well maintained, rooms are comfortable, though a little tired looking, and lack some common facilities like hairdryer, kettle, etc.
Overall it was good value - we were there on a half-board basis and evening meals were tasty and well presented. Breakfast was also good, though the staff were often over-stretched.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011 via mobile

Hotel no coffee tea have to pay for every thing no replacement soap shampoo room grott food basic but very close to centre drinks expensive must be better hotels around check others first

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Monopole

Address: Nieuweweg 22, 6301 ET Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Monopole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.