We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Monopole

Grand Hotel Monopole
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Grand Hotel Monopole to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Monopole
Nieuweweg 22, 6301 ET Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good hotel - Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We went to visit the Christmas markets at Valkenburg and found this hotel which is very near to the Train station. Centrum (Center) is just less than 10 mins by walk. Location wise, we found this hotel perfect. Good staff and morning breakfast was nice. The room was pretty good. Well maintained and worth the money.

Tip: Please make sure to visit the caves in the morning else you might find yourself in a big queue at the entrance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I went to the grand monopole hotel for a weekend with crusader holidays. We had a clean room. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. We went to the christmas market Please go to the castle. We went late and we were the last ones in, but that added to the experience. It was twilight and as it gradually got dark the lights came on and illuminated the castle. I took lots of pics and when i looked back at them there were orbs in some of my pics. Very eerie.
We had a great time and i am very pleased we stayed at the grand monopole.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We spent three nights in the Monopole while on a coach trip to Christmas markets. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and very efficient. Public areas were well maintained, rooms are comfortable, though a little tired looking, and lack some common facilities like hairdryer, kettle, etc.
Overall it was good value - we were there on a half-board basis and evening meals were tasty and well presented. Breakfast was also good, though the staff were often over-stretched.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011 via mobile

Hotel no coffee tea have to pay for every thing no replacement soap shampoo room grott food basic but very close to centre drinks expensive must be better hotels around check others first

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham England UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

nice hotel with good parking.
rooms clean but need decorating.
beds clean and comfy.
nice easy 5/10 minute walk to main centre shops etc.
good evening entertainment.
very friendly staff.
typical coach trippers hotel
nice breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

When you travel with a large group you don't often have such good service. Our room was large and comfortable.We had excellent food each evening of our four night stay.The food was always hot and the staff spoke good English. The proprietors were in attendance for most of our stay and did their very best to ensure that our stay was memorable.

Room Tip: Ideally situated for trips to Aachen,Maastrict .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

This is the second year we have spent a couple of nights at this hotel. The outside of the hotel is painted orange. Do not be put off by this. The reception, bar, breakfast room and dining room are all tastfully furnished and very clean. Last year we had a room at the back of the hotel which had great views; this year we were at the front of the hotel over looking the road but it wasn't at all noisy. The bathrooms were modern and absolutely fine but the decoration inside the bedrooms was a bit tired and in need of redecoration. However all was clean. Breakfast good and staff friendly.
Both our visits to this hotel coincided with a large party of elderly Dutch ladies. In the reception area there were wheely walking frames and othe useful equipment for those who are not so able bodied. Perhaps this is somewhere I should keep in mind to take my mum.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Monopole

Address: Nieuweweg 22, 6301 ET Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Monopole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.