We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel in a delightful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Scheepers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Scheepers to your Saves list
Hotel Scheepers
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sint Pieterstraat 18, 6301 DR Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A delightful hotel in a delightful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

A lovely warm welcome in a very nice hotel where nothing was too much trouble to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. Excellent tasty freshly-prepared breakfasts with lots of choice. Nice comfy beds, friendly staff and very convenient secure parking. We'd definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

Music from the bar was so loud in our room we could not hear the TV or converse until it shut down at midnight. This was a Tuesday night in January. We will not be back. If you want a quiet hotel do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We have stayed at this warm and friendly family run hotel on several occasions over the last few years and the hospitality is consistently good. Leon and Maud have worked so very hard to make sure that everything is right and on each visit we see the changes and improvements. It is a lovely place to stay.
The hotel is perfectly situated on a quiet street, just a few minutes walk to the centre of Valkenburg with its attractive shops and restaurants, all beautifully decorated particularly at this time of year. There is a secure car park at the back of the hotel for just a small charge or it is a short trip from Maastricht airport. The bedrooms are modern with very comfortable beds, spacious en suite facilities, flat screen television and are tastefully decorated, as is the hotel throughout. For the evening there is a relaxing bar or a lounge area with television.
The large breakfast area is very striking and the buffet breakfast is plentiful offering a wide selection of continental and hot food - such good choice. Everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean and inviting and the staff are so nice.
The Scheepers Hotel is also a good base for travelling further afield. The train station is an interesting 5 minute walk away and the railway network runs an excellent reliable service. Tickets can be bought on the platform from machines. We have made many hassle free trips to Maastricht and Aachen in Germany (change at Heerlen for Aachen) to the Christmas markets there.
We are making plans to return next year with our friends and will not even consider looking at other accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the Hotel with my daughter and her fiancee. Of the four of us I was the only one who had travelled before in Holland, but had never before visited Valkenburg. The town itself is really quite magical at Christmas, and was very much enhanced by our stay at the Scheepers.

The hosts, Leon and Maud, both speak excellent English and, like all Dutch people in my experience, are extremely warm and friendly. Leon told us that he had been born in one of the rooms when his mother and father had originally run the Hotel. With 16 rooms the Hotel has a "guest house" feel about it, much more intimate than a larger establishment, but also covered all the bases that you would expect from a larger establishment.

The rooms are very comfortable, there is ample secure parking for a small additional charge, and the location is in a quiet street less than two minutes walk from the main street.

As my wife had recently suffered from muscle spasms in her back we were offered a double room on the ground floor, which was most helpful. My daughter and her fiancee were on the second floor in a quite lovely room, but we appreciated not having to negotiate these every night and morning.

Breakfast in the morning offered a wide selection of meats, cheeses and smoked salmon, plus hot eggs, pancakes and hash potatoes. The service was excellent, the breakfast room beautifully decorated for Christmas and very clean.

Leon and Maud also offered some useful tips for getting the best out of the visit, we also took their advice and made the brief journey to Aachen on the Sunday to their Christmas market and the City cathedral where the remains of the emperor Charlemagne are housed.

We will probably visit Valkenburg again in the not too distant future, and would without hesitation return to the Scheepers. We had a fantastic weekend in Valkenburg, the Hotel played and large part in making this such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The stairs are fairly steep if access is a problem for older or immobile guests, so a ground floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This family run hotel owned by Leon and Maud is in a perfect location in Valkenburg.It is aproximately 5 minutes walk to the centre of the town,where there are so many lovely shops,cafes and restaurants and the same distance to the railway station if you want to go further afield (eg Maastricht,Heerlen or Aachen in Germany.)
Leon and Maud will make you so welcome as will all the staff and they will do their best to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.The breakfast lounge is inviting and the buffet breakfast is excellent with so much choice .The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable each with a television and spacious en suite facilities and the bar is a great place for a relaxing evening.
The hotel is tastefully decorated throughout and in the new year they have plans to add on further rooms and a lift.
We have stayed in this hotel at least six times now and it has been consistently good.We are already planning to return next year with our friends and we are very happy to highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This 3 star family run hotel situated in valkenburg offers bed and breakfast accomodation. The hotel is run by Maud and Leon who will greet you in a warm friendly manner so typical of the dutch. Their english is excellent and most certainly better than my dutch!! The room are spacious with en suite facitites and TV in every room the rooms are kept spotlessly clean and tidied daily. Breakfast is served bewtween 6am and 10am and is plentiful providing continental and bacon and eggs. The staff are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. We went at the start of the xmas markets and both Maud and Leon showed us where the attractions could be found a walking whats on guide! There is a cosy little bar which is a lovely place to relax in the evenings.
This hotel is close to all amenities as well as being close to tows such as maastricht for a day further afield.
All in all we had a lovely stay were made to feel really welcome and would definately recommend it. I for one will return.
Dankuvel

Room Tip: two twin rooms are together on the ground floor if you wish to be next to each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Scheepers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scheepers

Address: Sint Pieterstraat 18, 6301 DR Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scheepers 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Scheepers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Scheepers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.