We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but not as good as I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hulsman

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hulsman to your Saves list
Hotel Hulsman
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hulsman
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Guascostraat 16, 6301 CT Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Acceptable but not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very clean, very convenient and central. The hotel has free Wifi in the rooms (this was the main reason I stayed there) BUT the bed was not very comfortable and the room was a little basic. Thin walls meant that noisy fellow guests could be heard all too easily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We booked a 3 night stay in this hotel. I have stayed in dozens of hotels in europe but this was the worst. We left after one night, but the hotel insisted we pay for the 3 nights, wouldn't even deduct the price of the breakfasts we didn't eat.
We booked a comfort plus room. the ensuite bore no resemblence to the photos on bookings.com. The loo was squashed into a small space next to a very small shower cubicle. photos of their showers show a large cubicle. Noise could be heard from each of the adjoining rooms everytime someone used the loo or shower. One side of our double bed had no headboard, and a gap ofat least a foot away from the wall. If you wanted to eat in therestaurant you had to be there between 6pm and 6.30pm!
After paying in full for the nights we would not be there we were loading the car in the nearby car park, when a member of tneir staff came to see if we had left before returning the car park pass (which we did).
The area where we were told we could leave our bikes securely was left unlocked.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed four/five days at this family run hotel on a trip to visit Floriade 2012.For the money we paind it was excellent value and breakfast was superb.The hotel is clean and in a central location with walks nearby.Some of our party moaned about everything but in my opinion we were made welcome by the family and our stay was very pleasant.I hope to return to Valkenburg in the future and would like to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms that face out on to the side road are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Friendly family run hotel, very clean, excellent food, only down side was that there was no lounge area, only the bar and the drink prices were very high. Rooms would benefit from tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed 4 nights with a coach party in this family run hotel.Hotel was very clean,wonderful beds, excellent food and very polite and kind staff.
Our room was very quiet and I heard no one complain otherwise yet the town , just one street away was very lively.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My partner and I only ever say what we honestly think. When we first arrived at the hotel we were concerned at the lack of air in our room, but the weather was exceptionally hot. Once we had a fan, we were fine. Our room was comfortable and clean and had an excellent television (with BBC1 and ITV). We could hear a little noise from a live music hotel opposite the hotel, but we were in a side room so this didn't really matter.

The family who run this hotel are delightful - pleasant, cheerful and welcoming. We were also pleased with the food! Package holidays usually provide little food of merit, but the Hulsman provides an excellent breakfast and a really good three course evening meal. Wine is expensive, but the local beer is good and reasonably priced.

The hotel is very central and all places of interest are within reasonable distance. Be warned though! The local authority (for reasons we couldn't fathom) have chosen this holiday season to undertake a major revamp of the town centre. In a few main streets you have to walk on dust and gravel, because the old pavement has been removed and the new one is not in place.

Can't fault the hotel, but the rooms at the front do face the noisy live music bar across the street, so quiet before midnight at the weekend should not be expected in these rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street at weekends because of the live music in the hotel opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Spent 3 nights here on Xmas market trip. Hotel was very good. Staff friendly and helpful, rooms very clean and very comfortable and food good quality and well presented. A very enjoyable experience and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. An excellent base.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hulsman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hulsman

Address: De Guascostraat 16, 6301 CT Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hulsman 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Hulsman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hulsman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.