We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find in Valkenburg - will visit again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LeTo

Save Saved
You added Hotel LeTo to your Saves list
Hotel LeTo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel LeTo
Daalhemerweg 22, Valkenburg 6301 BK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful find in Valkenburg - will visit again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I chose this hotel because a lot of ppl commented on its breakfast and we were not let down. True there are restrictions as to time of check in and time of breakfast - rooms not big but we had two nights there and it was fine for us. The breakfast was something - from the decor to the cutlery to the abundance of it. The location was good for us as we wanted to visit the christmas markets and it was right in the middle - restaurants not far as well. The free parking was appreciated and though it was not guaranteed, we always found place for the car. Will visit again. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I agreed with some of the other reviews here. We thought the hotel was very good, very colorful and great breakfast. The hotel is owned by Leo and Tom. Leo is front house guy and Tom, I think does most the background work: cooking, cleaning, etc. The owners take care of everything in the hotel.

I think the hotel has about 20-25 rooms total, the owners live in the premises in an adjacent building. They do explain the rules of the house upon arrival. They certainly could be a bit more relax about accepting late check-ins, but after working the whole day - you would also like to have sometime to rest.

We arriving on-time and Leo kindly explain that the breakfast is served between 08:00 - 10:00am, but that the kitchen closes at 09:30am. If you are a late sleeper, then you will miss breakfast for sure. There is free parking for guests, and we thought this is a plus since the majority of the hotels around do not offer parking. The hotel lobby room is closed after 20:00 hrs, but you can exit /enter through a side door. Coffee and tea is available in every room. They also have a list of CD's you can borrow to watch in your room.

The room itself is small, but that is standard in Europe anyway. The room was well decorated and colorful. You might be able to hear the other guest in the other rooms, if they are loud enough - but we really did not have any problems with noise at all.

In overall we thought it was very good hotel. The owners are very pleasant and willing to help you with suggestions. Location, price and parking space are definitely their stronger points!

Room Tip: A room in the third floor will be best. When in the seconf floor you can hear other guest walking ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located just outsite valkenburg center ( 1 minute walk away) so at night you wont get the buzz of nightlife. The lobby gives you an impression of what the hotel is like: playfully colorfull and full of kitschy things but it really works. The guy at the reception is friendly in a dutch sort of way. The rooms are very small so staying for a longer time isnt recommended but there is a locker,toilet,shower ( be carefull with the "very" hot water tap),free coffee and tea a tv set and a dvd with free movies to get in the lobby. The same colorfull motto as the lobby is found in the rooms some may not like it. The breakfast is served for a short period but its very elaborate and diverse. I counted 13 or so different sorts of bread about the same variation of fruit. A smooth 5 sorts of fruitjuice 6 diggerent types of cheese and ham. The same design was present at the breakfast table. My coffee was served in an english telephone booth etc.

All in all it wasn't the hotel with the best service as they are no doubt not professional enough but it was enjoyable and given the great surrounding countryside i for one will be visiting here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the four nights at Hotel LeTo.My room was very clean and well equipped; the owners friendly and helpful and the breakfasts had to be photographed for their eccentricity and variety.The Hotel is ideally situated for Valkenburg's Castle,caves and numerous cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Indeed, some people do like anonymous standard hotelrooms and impersonal staff better. If you really like something else (a hotel with character and really nice staff with personal interest, there is no better place to find than this hotel.
Indeed, rooms are not very big, but how big should your room be? If you do not like fancy and colourfull furniture, go somewhere else. I have never had a hotel with such a nice atmosphere and such nice staff. The breakfast IS fantastic: there are not a lot of hotels serving so much more different kinds of bread, croissants, muffins, crackers, 'beschuiten' + freshley made smoothy, lots of different cheeses, meat and sweets, fresh fruit, juices etc, everything served at your table. Everything served on fatatic plates, colourfull and fantastic coffeepots, egg-cups, etc.
The location is fabulous: at walking distance of the centre, pubs and restaurants, near all touristic highlights. Parking is included and there is free wifi.
I will certainly return to this hotel when I have to stay in the neighbourhood, leaving all the grumpy people the Holiday Inns, Van der Valks, etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Excellent hotel, quirky in interior design which made it so much more personal than the usual run of the mill places - we loved it.
Good breakfasts with plenty of choices - place settings that make my home breakfast table look positively bland!
Extremely helpful and friendly owners.
Room a little small but clean and bright with coffee/tea making facilities, tv and en suite.
Location great, walking distance to railway station, caves, shops and plenty of different restaurants, and the owners were very helpful with regards to buses and trains. At time of visit trains to Maastricht ran approx every 15 mins, cost 7 euros return! - a bargain!
Would definitely return to this hotel if travelling this way again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I would recommend this hotel in Valkenburg - we stayed one night at the end of our motorbiking trip - it is only a short distance to ferry ports, three hours or so.
The hotel is decorated in a colourful, quirky style and the room we had was well-equipped, including a tea and coffee maker. Breakfast was great - a generous selection of breads, cheese, ham plus egg and fruit and even a delicious smoothy. All of this served in quirky crockery which made us smile. Loved the giant plastic poodles which decorated the window ledges!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel LeTo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LeTo

Address: Daalhemerweg 22, Valkenburg 6301 BK, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsNL and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel LeTo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel LeTo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.