We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Nice colorful hotel"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LeTo

Hotel LeTo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel LeTo to your Saves list
Hotel LeTo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Daalhemerweg 22, 6301 BK Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Nieuwerkerk aan den Ijssel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Nice colorful hotel"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I agreed with some of the other reviews here. We thought the hotel was very good, very colorful and great breakfast. The hotel is owned by Leo and Tom. Leo is front house guy and Tom, I think does most the background work: cooking, cleaning, etc. The owners take care of everything in the hotel.

I think the hotel has about 20-25 rooms total, the owners live in the premises in an adjacent building. They do explain the rules of the house upon arrival. They certainly could be a bit more relax about accepting late check-ins, but after working the whole day - you would also like to have sometime to rest.

We arriving on-time and Leo kindly explain that the breakfast is served between 08:00 - 10:00am, but that the kitchen closes at 09:30am. If you are a late sleeper, then you will miss breakfast for sure. There is free parking for guests, and we thought this is a plus since the majority of the hotels around do not offer parking. The hotel lobby room is closed after 20:00 hrs, but you can exit /enter through a side door. Coffee and tea is available in every room. They also have a list of CD's you can borrow to watch in your room.

The room itself is small, but that is standard in Europe anyway. The room was well decorated and colorful. You might be able to hear the other guest in the other rooms, if they are loud enough - but we really did not have any problems with noise at all.

In overall we thought it was very good hotel. The owners are very pleasant and willing to help you with suggestions. Location, price and parking space are definitely their stronger points!

Room Tip: A room in the third floor will be best. When in the seconf floor you can hear other guest walking ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located just outsite valkenburg center ( 1 minute walk away) so at night you wont get the buzz of nightlife. The lobby gives you an impression of what the hotel is like: playfully colorfull and full of kitschy things but it really works. The guy at the reception is friendly in a dutch sort of way. The rooms are very small so staying for a longer time isnt recommended but there is a locker,toilet,shower ( be carefull with the "very" hot water tap),free coffee and tea a tv set and a dvd with free movies to get in the lobby. The same colorfull motto as the lobby is found in the rooms some may not like it. The breakfast is served for a short period but its very elaborate and diverse. I counted 13 or so different sorts of bread about the same variation of fruit. A smooth 5 sorts of fruitjuice 6 diggerent types of cheese and ham. The same design was present at the breakfast table. My coffee was served in an english telephone booth etc.

All in all it wasn't the hotel with the best service as they are no doubt not professional enough but it was enjoyable and given the great surrounding countryside i for one will be visiting here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the four nights at Hotel LeTo.My room was very clean and well equipped; the owners friendly and helpful and the breakfasts had to be photographed for their eccentricity and variety.The Hotel is ideally situated for Valkenburg's Castle,caves and numerous cafes and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorschoten
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Indeed, some people do like anonymous standard hotelrooms and impersonal staff better. If you really like something else (a hotel with character and really nice staff with personal interest, there is no better place to find than this hotel.
Indeed, rooms are not very big, but how big should your room be? If you do not like fancy and colourfull furniture, go somewhere else. I have never had a hotel with such a nice atmosphere and such nice staff. The breakfast IS fantastic: there are not a lot of hotels serving so much more different kinds of bread, croissants, muffins, crackers, 'beschuiten' + freshley made smoothy, lots of different cheeses, meat and sweets, fresh fruit, juices etc, everything served at your table. Everything served on fatatic plates, colourfull and fantastic coffeepots, egg-cups, etc.
The location is fabulous: at walking distance of the centre, pubs and restaurants, near all touristic highlights. Parking is included and there is free wifi.
I will certainly return to this hotel when I have to stay in the neighbourhood, leaving all the grumpy people the Holiday Inns, Van der Valks, etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Excellent hotel, quirky in interior design which made it so much more personal than the usual run of the mill places - we loved it.
Good breakfasts with plenty of choices - place settings that make my home breakfast table look positively bland!
Extremely helpful and friendly owners.
Room a little small but clean and bright with coffee/tea making facilities, tv and en suite.
Location great, walking distance to railway station, caves, shops and plenty of different restaurants, and the owners were very helpful with regards to buses and trains. At time of visit trains to Maastricht ran approx every 15 mins, cost 7 euros return! - a bargain!
Would definitely return to this hotel if travelling this way again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I would recommend this hotel in Valkenburg - we stayed one night at the end of our motorbiking trip - it is only a short distance to ferry ports, three hours or so.
The hotel is decorated in a colourful, quirky style and the room we had was well-equipped, including a tea and coffee maker. Breakfast was great - a generous selection of breads, cheese, ham plus egg and fruit and even a delicious smoothy. All of this served in quirky crockery which made us smile. Loved the giant plastic poodles which decorated the window ledges!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

Fantastic 2star hotel, great, helpfull owners, the breakfast is fantastic, close to the town,xmas markets easy to walk to, very good, lots of things to buy, loads of restaurants within walking distance. This is the best 2star hotel I have stayed in. 3 hours drive from Calais.

  • Liked — The friendly and helpfull owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel LeTo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LeTo

Address: Daalhemerweg 22, 6301 BK Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel LeTo 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel LeTo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel LeTo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.