We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, wonderful customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palanka

Hotel Palanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palanka to your Saves list
Hotel Palanka
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walramplein 9, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very friendly, wonderful customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is a hotel that is on the more basic end of accommodation. But it is clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly, with great customer service. It had a good buffet breakfast. The staff spoke very good English. The location is great being central to Valkenburg. We went during the christmas market season and used it as a base and not only enjoyed the caves in Valkenburg, but used it as a base to visit Cologne and Aachen in Germany as well. Fabulous and good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Just returned after a wonderful stay at the Hotel Palanka. For a hotel on this price bracket it was so lovely to be pleasantly surprised rather than underwhelmed like we normally are by stays in other hotels over the years. Cleanliness is very important to us and we could not fault it. The breakfasts were fantastic, full buffet, more than enough to eat and set us up for the day. Staff were helpful, hardworking and knowledgable about the area. Great swimming pool and parking on site was a bonus. Valkenburg is a quaint, historic little town, with plenty to do, all within walking distance of the hotel. We can't say enough about how pleased we were with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This review is a little delayed so my apologies. The Hotel Palanka initially impresses exactly what one might expect from a three star hotel in Valkenburg. It is clean, comfortable and convenient. However, it didnt take long for my expectations to be exceeded. The owner of this establishment, Peter, apparently finds it impossible to do enough for his guests. So much so that he made everyone in our large group feel like family. From cooking meals to hand packed lunches to arranging no cost auto transportation and local excursions, to a cup of coffee or a drink at the bar, Peter was extraordinarily accommodating and an absolute pleasure to be around. I look forward to another drink and the Palanka and another conversation with Peter when I return to the Netherlands. Thank you Hotel Palanka!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have just arrived back in the UK after a fantastic week in Valkenburg. The hotel Palanka was top notch in every way:
- The room was comfortable and very spacious
- The staff were extremely friendly
- The swimming pool/sauna - a nice touch and very clean
- A free of charge car park - very handy with lots of spaces
- The buffet was delicious

This is a family run hotel and everyone involved went out of their way to make my stay a memeroble experience. I will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Palanka for 4 nights in November. Lovely and clean, rooms a little basic but adequate. Pete and Gana were amazing nothing was to much trouble and their local knowledge invaluable. The hotel is located close to restaurants, and attractions eveything was within walking distance. Would definatley consider going again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed 9 days in this hotel, and Pete and Gana were great outstanding host and hostess. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bed was only a few months old and no problems with sleeping. The breakfast was also very nice and filling.
What ever you need to make your stay the best, all you have to do is ask pete or Gana and they will make it happen for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This old hotel is typical of a friendly family run business.The hotel bedrooms are a little old fashioned but are clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the pool and sauna.The breakfast for European was quite good with fried eggs and European bacon.Nothing to
rave about but comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palanka

Address: Walramplein 9, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Palanka 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palanka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.