We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“school trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Heineken Hoek

Save Saved
You added Hotel Heineken Hoek to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Heineken Hoek
Grotestraat Centrum 5-13, 6361 CV Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Valkenburg
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“school trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have just returned after taking a group of school children there. We were concerned by some of the reviews but the hotel is very clean and the staff were very friendly and accommodating regarding meal times and anything else they could do for us. Our room was very quiet at night. The food was also very good. I would be happy to stay here again and the location is ideal in the centre of the town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davos, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I went here in December 2012 and stayed for a week. Although the hotel is small, but we were comfortable all the time. Room service and food was good. Property is nicely maintained and clean. Rooms were spacious and had comfortable beds. Staff very friendly. Will definitely stay here only, whenever I visit the city again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place is terrible. The try to rip you of. We had the feeling that guests for them are a sort of aliens you have to try to get rid of. No service at all, they gave us a to high bill, when we complaines they said they could not tell us what the prices where and the bill was ok, we complained again, after a discussicon they gave us the prices and indeed, they tried to rip us of. Whe complained and they said then that we perhaps had more than we thought. Hello ? First they trie to give us a to high bill, and instead of an apologize they gave us the feeling to be wrong. Also: no service, waiting almost an hour for a dessert, no asking if we want something, if we complained this they said: you have to ask for the things you want, our guests ask themselves and we dont want to be rude to ask them if they want a drink or a dessert. Absolutely terrible this place, never ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Bang in the centre of Valkenburg. A small cosy hotel. Comfortable bar & good rooms. A good place to be at Christmas when the famous markets are happening.
A host of great bars & restaurants within seconds of the front door.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

No longer owned by the Canadian. Rooms dirty & Smelly! Facilities Poor! Breakfast barely acceptable! Listed as having "some street noise" = loud, thumping club noise! Ear plugs of little use!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

The hotel is in the centre of town, opposite a night club with very loud, ear-plug defeating music until 3am, and only single glazing in our room. Our room over the restaurant was accessed by 27 steep stairs with no option of a lift - totally unsuitable for elderly or disabled persons. The very small room was very dirty, as was the rest of the rambling hotel and restaurant. The phone was hanging in pieces off the wall and the sliding shower door did not fit the opening by at least 40mm. The beds were very low, if you can imagine a single mattress on a board with castors!

Room Tip: Use another hotel, not the best in town by far
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

for food and comfort go to another hotel, but if you're up for a laugh and don't really care much about a week of atrocious food go to the heinekin hoek. the great asset this hotel has is that it is perfectly clean but manages to trick you into feeling that you cannot make it any dirtier making you relaxed and at home straight from the word go. If your looking for nice in a weird way think about going here and if you're looking for quirky in a very weird way book the rooms tonight (although i doubt they're all booked up!)

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Heineken Hoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heineken Hoek

Address: Grotestraat Centrum 5-13, 6361 CV Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 51 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Heineken Hoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Heineken Hoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.