We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday to Valkenburg” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riche to your Saves list
Hotel Riche
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neerhem 26, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Valkenburg
Norfolk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Holiday to Valkenburg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I travelled with a coach party. The hotel, four star, was warm and the room very good with shower and lovely hot water and nice soft towels. The only four staff I saw were good, most of them quite friendly. The food however was a disappointment. Starter was soup, no choice, only as stated, main course three choices one of which was vegetarian and very small portions but tasty. The desert again as stated and no choice and again small portion. Breakfast was the usual variety of cereals and only one mixed salad of melen and pineapple (the tinned variety) with scrambled egg or scrambled egg mixed with bacon pieces. I had stayed in another Valkenburg hotel on two other occasions, only a three star, but very much better all around. Plenty of choice of food, choice of starter and always salad for evening meal for starter or in addition to the main course with more choice and the desert was available to chose from quite a variety of dishes. Many more staff too.

Room Tip: My room was very good, a single and at the front of the hotel and not noisy. The bed extremely comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I recently stayed at hotel Riche for two nights with my wife and two children. It was the perfect base from which to explore the region. With an early breakfast provided we had plenty of time to see the local attractions. We ate at the hotel restaurant on one of the nights and found the food to be delicious and service to be excellent. The staff were also very accommodating to us and our 10 month old baby throughout our stay. There was free wifi at the hotel and our room was spacious. Its quite an old building but very clean. It was right in the center of town but very quite and they had plenty of private parking right next the hotel. It was our first time in the area but we ended up having a hassle-free, relaxing weekend. To wrap up with an inside joke, we love Hotel Riche :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We went on a coach trip with Buzzlines Folkestone for the Xmas Markets . Really good family run hotel very clean and very warm!!!

Food in teh evening was outsatnding great soup and main with afree coffee as well
Usual breakfast all very fresh .

Good location close to town and markets well worth a visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Visited Valkenberg with Edwards coach company last weekend. Hotel situated ideally for town centre and the caves that are filled with Christmas shops at this time of year. Family run hotel that is warm and friendly. Breakfast excellent, dinner with a choice of 2 three course meals, one fish and one meat main. Our room was ideal for 2, the walls were a bit thin so you could hear others but only needed it for sleeping in. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would be very happy to go again. In fact we intend to.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
208 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here during a busy world championship cycling race weekend. This is an older property at the base of the Valkenburg Castle ruins and near the old central town. Easy access to restaurants and shops. Small, friendly town in Limburg region. US Military Cemetery at Margraten is 6 KMs away. The staff was excellent. All spoke English well and were friendly & professional. Parking was 6.50 Euros a day. Nice bar and restaurant on premise with prix fix menu for dinner; ample portions. The rooms are very small- pretty much a bed with two end tables and small "desk" and wardrobe. Hard for two people to move around it. The bed was a queen sized and comfortable. Bathrooms are clean and modernized but small. Rooms were non-smoking, a plus in a smoker heavy region of Europe. I would have rated this place higher if the rooms were a bit larger and modern. Don't bring in a lot of luggage or you will not be able to move about. Otherwise, it was a charming place to stay. Breakfast included.

Room Tip: Try to get in the house front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Nice family runned hotel. Good location and clean rooms yes maybe a little small but you're out all day. Breakfast was excellent and people don't forget dutch people don't eat potatoes and stuff at their breakfast. Dinner was a set menu and good. I talked to several people and the fact is that what they serve is the coach company decision. They pay the hotel!!! When you go out the centre is right there and the hotel has a really nice bar with good prices!! To make a long story short a real good city hotel and we will come back!!! + free wifi!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Not long returned from this trip, hotel was quite basic, lots of odd steps here and there, staff were quite friendly. Meals rather limited and basic. Breakfast was cornflakes, cold boiled eggs, warmish scrambled eggs and the usual meat, cheese and a few other bits. It was tough if you didnt like the evening meal, hubby does not eat fish so there was only one option for his main meal and one night was pork which he cannot eat and there was no alternative. We wanted to use the terrace when it was sunny but we were told it was closed. Not up to a 4 star but on the whole not too bad. Valkenburg is a nice place, we have been here before for the Christmas markets so it seemed a little dull for us. On our free day we took the train to Maastricht, only 10-15 minutes stroll to the station and then a 10 minute journey on the train, a very enjoyable trip. Beware you need the correct change to buy a ticket, 5.80 euros as this is not a manned station and you cannot use your debit card. Foraide is quite spread out so you need to have comfortable shoes on. We had a good day there but it is a lot of walking between the different parts which would be a lot different if the weather was bad. Also quite a walk from the coach to the entrance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#4 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#3 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#5 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Monopole
Grand Hotel Monopole
#7 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palanka
Hotel Palanka
#19 of 54 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riche

Address: Neerhem 26, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Valkenburg
#3 Best Value Hotel in Valkenburg
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riche 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riche Hotel Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.