We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riche to your Saves list
Hotel Riche
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neerhem 26, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A nice friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

My wife & I visited Valkenburg with 2 friends early October, travelling with a UK based coach company. The hotel was super. The owner / manager came round two or three evenings whiie we were having dinner to ask if everything was OK. Our room was in the Annexe across the road from the main building.

The only downside was a party of Americans, allegedly from a University somewhere in the States. . Most of the time they had their own dining room but on our last night they were in the main dining room. Their behaviour was, to say the least, childish, immature and noisy. They ran a loud quiz while we were eating. This is not the fault of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the annexe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
11
24
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Just finished a trip to Valkenburg, Netherlands last week. We stayed at the Hotel Riche and had a wonderful experience. The hotel Staff are very nice and accomidating. The food was good and the bar was great as well. Anything we ever needed, the hotel staff was there to help us out. The hotel itself needs some updating but that was confirmed in the plans by the hotel owner, Theo. Loved the coffee machine and the great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot Hampshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

we went to the riche for a week , been in a lot of hotels in europe but the riche can absolutly measure up to the chains , very nice staff excellent food , good size room and the staff all speak english , the breakfast buffet even served real english tea , bought at tesco , made you feel at home , the weather was very warm , even the hotel said it was an exeption , even though they managed well , i certainly recommend this hotel to others. Some people just expect gold blated tapps !!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales, uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

This Hotel is in a nice location. It serves a reasonable breakfast selection with limited choice of menu for evening meal, (the food that is served is quite good). However the hotel could be much improved with a little thought and effort. Four of us stayed in this hotel on a Christmas Market trip from the U.K. We had two rooms between us, one in the hotel itself and one in the annex across the street. The room in the annex was spacious and clean with no frills, however I’m surprised I didn’t find penguins and polar bears making themselves at home in the bathroom. It was nicely tiled and spacious, equipped with hairdryer and toiletries and absolutely freezing as there didn’t seem to be a source of heating. It was a case of leap into the shower very quickly and pray for hot water, and then make a mad dash from the shower to the radiator in the bedroom to dry. Or resort to drying oneself with the hairdryer.
My sister in-law and my niece were upset by their room in the hotel itself. The lower half of the shower curtain was covered in mould and the ceiling above the shower was also mouldy. There was staining in the toilet, which we hope was lime scale. The armchairs in the room were threadbare along the arms with the framework showing though the material, and the room smelt of stale tobacco. As using a mouldy shower is unacceptable by anyone’s standards, we had no option but to complain. The staff who were nice and friendly most of the time became very different when dealing with unhappy customers. Their happy demeanour vanished and they became rude and aggressive. Rather than being apologetic for the poor state of the room, they made excuses for it. To be fair to them the shower curtain was replaced the next day and they did attempt to remove some of the mould from the ceiling. That said no one should be faced with a hotel room that is dirty and poorly maintained.
The Christmas Markets in Valkenburg were held in caves in the town (a short walk from the hotel). Our coach driver advised us to buy our tickets from the Hotel and to visit the small cave first as early as possible (the small cave having the best stalls and overall more entertaining). This was valuable advice as queues formed very quickly as coach loads of tourists arrived through the day. There was also a small carnival parading through the town on the Saturday evening which was worth watching. If, like us, you’re only there for a short stay do try and walk around the town as it’s very pretty with some interesting sights.

  • Liked — proximity to town
  • Disliked — not all rooms of good quality or standard i.e mouldy shower curtain and threadbare chairs
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontypridd
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

i recently visited this hotel with friends and family on a edwards coach tour to visit the christmas markets the location was excellent the staff were friendly the food was limited choice but beautifully cooked rooms a bit dated and small but beds very comfy but avoid room 205 as very bad strong smell from drainage toilets below complained to staff but nothing done spoilt our weekend more 2 to 3 star than 4

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed here two nights while attending the music festival Pinkpop in nearby Landgraaf. The hotel was fairly clean and not bad, just not the highest quality overall. We usually stay in the Valk Heerlen hotel in Heerlen when in the area and find it a much nicer hotel for only 20 euros more a night...and a breakfast buffet that just puts this one to absolute shame. The bathrooms at the Riche could have stood to be cleaned a bit more thoroughly and our TV remote was taped together...but there were quite a few stations available to watch on the tiny TV so we couldn't complain much.

We've stayed in two hotels in Valkenburg lately and this was the better of the two...but neither of them was anything I would necessarily recommend to someone. The city was really full on Saturday night, though. People packing into every bar and restaurant in the city center and a few hopping clubs sprinkled in. We've always wanted to go here during Christmas also because the town is supposed to have lots of cool caves that they decorate for the holiday.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

I stayed here with a coach party from 23/11/07 - 26/11/07. The hotel itself is fine, the rooms are OK but small, the breakfast is good, the
evening meal OK. The HUGE complaint is that on our last night there the male owner assaulted his really lovely daughter who also works, if
not runs, the hotel. The shouting was unbelievable and apart from being unprofessional, this is no way for any man to behave so why would you want to give money to a man who is so abusive. One of my party actually witnessed part of this attack and it was most upsetting
for her, although the concern from all of us is with the poor girl who
sustained this attack. Do Not Go Here! Valkenburg is nice enough, plenty of places to eat and drink. The caves are fine if you like that
sort of thing, but most things sold there are in the shops anyway! Go to Valkenburg but stay anywhere but the Riche Hotel.

  • Disliked — Room too small. Not enough room to hang up clothes even for a short break.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riche

Address: Neerhem 26, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Valkenburg
#4 Best Value Hotel in Valkenburg
#6 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riche 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Riche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riche Hotel Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.