We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms let down by certain things.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt to your Saves list
Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuweweg 40-44, 6301 EV Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms let down by certain things.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here with family as part of the Belgium Grand Prix weekend tour with Select Motor Racing.
We arrived here on the Friday evening to be checked in swiftly which was nice after a long day at the airport.
We had a triple room, unfortunately this was located at the front of the hotel which was on the main road and very noisy day and night! The room was lovely, beds were comfortable, and had a very modern bathroom. Downside is the rooms get extremely hot, as do the corridors of the hotel. Think it could do with air conditioning!!
We had breakfast and our evening meal at the hotel. Personally the food was not to my taste at all and I didn't eat much. My parents on the other hand didn't mind most of the food choices. The toaster at breakfast was broke every day we were there, this was disappointing as there was a whole section of breads/waffles that the toaster was provided for.
Another down side is the token system they use at their bar area. You have to purchase a bag of tokens for 20 euros at the main desk if you wish to purchase drinks at their bar. To me and I think to others as well, this is such a stupid idea. I definitely think they would get more business from guests if you could just pay with cash. The bar staff also are not the friendliest of people, and they don't like to know you if you are not constantly purchasing alcohol. Most of the other staff are friendly though.
The area the hotel is located in is lovely, and they have a lovely outdoor area where you can sit in the day and evening.
On the whole the hotel is a good base and the rooms are nice, but I probably wouldn't return due to some of the reasons above, unless we were doing the Belgium Grand Prix with this company again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
25
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a group .the rooms were ok ,nothing fantastic ,just average 3 star no more .
The breakfast was continental ,plenty of choice if you are early risers ,it states that breakfast is until 10.00 am .but there wasn't a lot of choice if you left it too late
The worst thing about this hotel was the staff .the reception staff were rude ,and unhelpful ,and the bar staff were rude too .
Wouldn't return in a hurry !!!!

Room Tip: This hotel is close to the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel whilst attending the Andre Reu concert in Maastrict. We arrived by taxi from the airport (33 Euros ) Taxi Hanssen +31 (0) 6 - 11950111 mobile tel number.
Do please book in advance as the other taxis will charge you 50 Euros and it is very difficult to get a taxi at the airport ( I know I could not believe this either but it is true ) Anyway the hotel was lovely with nice gardens and very relaxing atmosphere, breakfast was pretty much all you would want from a buffet style. We did not eat in the restaurant so cant help you with that one. We had to stay an extra night because of flights and the hotel were very accommodating. The room we were giver first was on the main road and therefore very noisy, it was a very warm few days and we had to have the juliet balcony doors open and the traffic noise all night stopped us sleeping however the staff moved us to a room facing the rear of the hotel, this was perfect and very quiet. The hotel has a policy of making you buy tokens to use in the bar, this was bazaar to say the least, it actually made us use the bar less, and the drinks at the bar were very expensive. However Volkenburg is such a lovely place and the hotel was very relaxing, I would recommend this hotel and town to anyone who is looking for a great weekend away.

Room Tip: Do not get a main road side room, too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently went to an Andre Rieu concert in Maastricht and wanted a hotel out of town but not too far away.This hotel was perfect. It was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, friendly and has a beautiful shady garden where you can relax with a cold beer (the weather was 29 degrees when we were there!) The little town of Valkenburg is a delight with it's castle and 'velvet cave'....lots of good eateries too!!
We had a fabulous weekend and would love to return with more time to explore this lovely part of Holland. Highly recommend the Hotel, Valkenburg and Maastricht!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for three nights whilst visiting the Christmas markets in Aachen and Valkenburg with Skills of Nottingham. A very nice and welcoming hotel, comfortable rooms, excellent food and friendly staff. There was nothing I could fault with it. I even got a small present from St. Nicholas on 5th December!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed for a weekend the a girls hockey team, the hotel reception, and all staff made us welcome, the rooms were clean spacious and well equipped, other than a kettle. The food was excellent with a large choice of menu on a self service basis, with as much as you wanted to eat. The hotel is positioned on a slight incline 5 minutes walk from the centre of Valkenburg with its cafe bars, restraunts, and attractions to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a tour to the Belgian Grand Prix. Room very comfortable with a nice view. Everything worked and was spotless (as was the rest of the hotel). Obliging, friendly staff, tasty all-you-can-eat buffets for breakfast and evening meal and live entertainment on some evenings. The public areas are comfortable and attractive and the hotel is within easy walking distance of the town centre. The train station is even nearer, with regular services to Maastricht (a journey of just over 10 minutes). What's not to like?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt

Address: Nieuweweg 40-44, 6301 EV Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.