We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th Time Lucky!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jerome

Jerome
Broekhem 58, Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 103 Restaurants in Valkenburg
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Hulsberg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“4th Time Lucky!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This really was our fourth attempt to get a reservation at this restaurant - such is its popularity. We were early diners and thus the place was not yet humming, however, we were still able to determine that the setting provided a comfortable and relaxing ambience in which to dine.
As is usual for this pescatarian family we went for both the fish starter and main course as part of the Bib Gourmand menu. That chef Jeroen Trimbos had spent several years in local Michelin Star environments soon became evident; preparation, presentation and flavors were not far short of Star standards. Just a pity our waitress's enthusiasm wasn't up to a similar standard!
As we normally say, we don't go to a restaurant just to eat, we go for an overall experience, and this was one experience that we look forward to repeating!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    23
    18
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Basic B&B with Gastronomic Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

On arrival at this establishment, it's quite clear that the restaurant (modern looking and fresh) is where the investment has been spent. The bar and the rest of the building seems to date quite a few years and somewhat neglected.

The rooms are very basic and it would not take a huge amount to make staying at this place pleasureable. Some fresh paint in the rooms, New locks on the doors, thourough cleaing of the windows (yes... the mould on the window frames needs to be addressed)... Bathrooms are basic and it would appear that guests are expected to bring their own towels (as the only toweling available were a selection of hand towels)... I hope the management will address this in the future to make the whole establishment a pleasure to be in.

The restaurant... is pretentious not so much in it's decor, but in regards to the food being served. We had booked the 7 course gastronomic menu. The menu promisses a great variety of flavours, but it's a little lacking. It's also the first time I have ever been server the first 2 courses of a seven course meal at the same time. We have been the last to arrive for the evening (on time. for once!!!), however the meal should be server around the customer, and not better suited to the kitchen.

The whole team here is young and very enthusiastic. They obviously still have a lot to learn, but the flexibility of everyone was refreshing and although the young support staff were not able to answer some questions, they made sure they went to find answers.

Once you get over the shock of the B&B style rooms, the overall impression is that this will one day make a great establishment, which it will need to do as the competition in the area is great and to succeed one needs to stick one's head above the rest to be notices

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were a party of 12 staying in the town and had pre-booked a set dinner for our party on a Saturday evening. The hospitality and ambience were excellent. The meal that had been designed for us was fabulous from the amuses-bouches right through to the coffee. The service was of the very highest order personally supervised by the chef-owner. The other diners were locals who very much seemed to be enjoying themselves as much as we did. Don't be alarmed if you see exactly the same description for the other French restaurant in the same street! We went there on the Sunday evening and were just as delighted. Thank you so much.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a very nice and fancy, appetizer lunch on a Sunday . 8 small appetizers of high quality and served with knowledge of the products, accompanied by a sunny Verdeggio.
Small price and smart dishes.


Go For it Jerome

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerome also viewed

Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
 
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
 

Been to Jerome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.