We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sauna & Wellness resort Thermae 2000

Sauna & Wellness resort Thermae 2000
Kuurpark Cauberg 27, 6301 BT Valkenburg, The Netherlands
31 (0)43 6092000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Attractions in Valkenburg
Attraction details
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We use to visit Thermae 2000 for years. In the past we came just for one day, last year we decided to come for a weekend and in May 2013 we came back for three days. Unfortunately our stay was badly influenced by a mistake of one of receptionists when checking us in. The reception, despite artificial smiles and pretended kindness was the weakest point at the hotel. Despite we duly paid our demi-pension, which was also indicated at the Voucher for oir stay, each evening we were told, "sorry but you do not have a dinner, you have to pay for it"...each of two evenings we had to undergo through explanations, that we have a demi pension, waiting some time until waiters consult reception about us....of course alll guests having dinner were staring on us, like we steal something....

Overall impression this year is not very positive. It seems to us that public places of Thermae, toilets, corridors, showers were dirty, even water in basins was not very clean.

Durring our stay we appreciated our room which was comfortable and clean, as well as food , which was excellent.

As it is not healthy to stay whole day at SPA, we went for a half day sightseeing to Valkenburg. We were impressed by very nice landscape of the city and a lot of attractions around it. We visited open air church, ruins of the famous castle and a tower above Valkenburg. As we did not have much time we did not make it to caves just very close to SPA. We recommend visitors of Thermae to combine their stay with some sightseeing like we did.

We certainly will come back, but not in short time and we will be more careful.....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    82
    41
    18
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Urmond
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The main problem with the sauna area is that people just in for a swim can just wanfer in. No sense of discretion or privacy. No so nice really. Not the worst I have been to, but close.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thermae2OOO, Commercial Director at Sauna & Wellness resort Thermae 2000, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you didn’t enjoy your spa day. We would like to speak personally with you about your experience. You can send your name and phone number to marketing@thermae.nl.

Sincerely,
Pauline Verhoef
commercial Director
Thermae 2OOO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went by there yesterday, a no-suits day. Quite a big crowd unfortunately but a nice vibe. Especially enjoying the bathing facilities au-naturel is something well worthwhile. Wasn't impressed by the chaotic sauna department nor at the bill afterwards (remind myself to check first ...)!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Small, but many activities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It is a rather small sauna part, as they share the space with the thermal springs swimming pools. However, they have regular ceremonies and quite a few saunas. That is very nice. Staff is friendly and there is free water everywhere. There is a big area to lie down outside and although on a rather steep slope it is fine.

Not so nice is that there is not a shower close to every sauna, which means many people do not shower before jumping into the pool (although the staff reminded people to have a shower before swimming regularly after the ceremonies). The central shower is badly adjustable in temperature and there is no shower gel provided (apart from the showers in the dressing area). Also, some of the restrooms were not really clean (and I do not consider a guy running around and sparying disinfectant a suitable alternative for cleaning).

Overall, the place was lacking in flair and style. It was fine for the sauna part, but felt a bit cramped.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Superb place to wind down and relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a Sunday special which included 2 spa days, massage chair, robes, towels, lovely room with tea coffee facilities and a terrace with views over the countryside, a delicious "surprise "3 course meal and a really fabulous breakfast. The waters were lovely and warm, it was quiet and without children too. Good outside pools.open til 11pm. Took a free flotation session which was very relaxing. Remember that in Holland and Germany the sauna areas are nude but gowns and towels are allowed between rooms. Sauna and steam rooms good and the extensive gardens very nice. Did not use massage or beauty facilities. Good choice of cafes and staff all very friendly and helpful. Check in was slow though. There are huge lockers and an area to use before and after hotel room to allow a full two days in the spa. Hotel situated up the hill from the town. Did not think fair to charge for parking which was essential!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sauna & Wellness resort Thermae 2000 also viewed

Aachen, North Rhine-Westphalia
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
 
Valkenburg, Limburg Province
Roetgen, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Sauna & Wellness resort Thermae 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sauna & Wellness resort Thermae 2000, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.