We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with a big heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Hotel Atlanta
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlanta to your Saves list
Hotel Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
bristol
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Small hotel with a big heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

The Atlanta is only a small hotel but it is a great place to stay,it is very clean and the staff are great.
Eating at this hotel is a pleasure and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
The location is ideal as it is only yards from restaurants, bars, shops and the Christmas markets.
All the shops and streets were decorated which gave it a really great Christmas feel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We spent 3 nights in the Atlanta Hotel over the New Year 2009 to 2010. The hotel was very nice, friendly staff, rooms were clean and well serviced. We had evening meals and the food was excellent. There was a keyboard player playing on New Year's Eve and a great time was had by all. The people from our coach part mixed well with the Dutch locals and we shared each others customs and songs.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I was lucky to find this place on Expedia for a very cheap rate given the costs of the other hotels in this town. I wasn't sure what to expect but the hotel was way better than I imagined. It's small, but the room was great and I loved the bathroom. There was no view from my window but it opened and allowed a wonderful breeze in at night and I felt very safe in doing so. The staff were very helpful (walking me to my room and making sure everything was to my satisfaction), the bed was really comfortable and the whole place was spotless. The breakfast was also quite good. Their elevator is one of the most unique I've ever been in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

Firstly the staff are friendly, helpful and for the most part speak good english. We stayed 3 nights and forgot that some continental hotels still permit smoling in rooms. Long time since I slept in an ashtray. The rooms were simple and our room was not very warm. I heard this complaint from other guests, although one did say hers was like a sauna!
Ensuite bath and shower excellent with plenty of towels and soap etc.
This would only merit 2 stars in England I'm afraid, not tye 4 stars advertised.. Food average although they had difficulty understanding that vegetarian meals didnt include turkey. Apparently if you book a veggie meal they will prepare one. Trouble is they only prepare the number booked so if someone who hasn't booked eats your meal, you are in trouble.
Great breakfast choice though. Lovely town and we didn't let the niggles spoil the holiday. If you smoke then probably a good place for a bed and breakfast.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor quality for star rating
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2007

We have just returned from a weekend away at Hotel Atlanta in Valkenburg. It is a pity that this hotel has been awarded 4 stars as that leaves you expecting some kind of luxury and then you run the risk of being disappointed. However, for those looking for a decent 3 star hotel situated a few minutes' walk out of the town centre this could just be the place for you!
Our family room was situated on the third floor at the back of the hotel. The room is ideal for families as the children had their own room with a washbasin. The room looks like it has been recently painted and was clean. The bathroom suit was rather dated, but again, recently painted and clean. The shower, however, had to be held and wasn't very practical at all (certainly not 4 star!). Plenty of clean towels, howver, the quality not 4 star again. Nice clean carpet.
The breakfast buffet offered a wide choice of cereals, rolls, various different types of bread, jams, cooked meats, cheeses, Dutch breakfast toppings (hagelslag, chocolade vlokken etc.), boiled eggs, tea, coffee and juices. We had dinner in the restaurant and again the food was good. There was a special children's menu which was great. Children are well looked after. There were reading books, colouring pencils and books on the table at breakfast and dinner.
The hotel bar has also been recently refurbished and was cosy. Note that there aren't any mini bars in the rooms.
Most of the staff are pleasant and helpful, others unfortunately are a little grupmy and even rude. This is such a shame as you tend to forget the nice friendly staff. You can either park next to the hotel or in the carpark across the road. Small fee to be paid. All in all we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't rule out another visit.

  • Liked — Great location, breakfast buffet and attention to children
  • Disliked — Shower, towels
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

My wife and I stayed in Valkenburg for one day and night at the Hotel Atlanta. It doesn't look very attractive but the bedroom was comfortable and the reception was friendly and helpful. They provided a small front door key to save lugging the weighty room key around.
Parking was either on a small plot next to the hotel and you had to leave your key with reception in case they had to move it. Better still they have a secure garage for several cars opposite and they control the door with a remote from the hotel.
Very convenient for the short stroll into town and a few minutes away from the cable car.
There is also an attractive roof terrace with bar service. The breakfast was fine and I wouldn't hestitate to stay there again.
We visited the caves which I have been to and enjoyed for the magical Christmas Markets but the train tour commentary was in rapid Dutch only so we had to guess what was being explained.


Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Address: Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.