We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag ....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlanta to your Saves list
Hotel Atlanta
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neerhem 20, Valkenburg 6301 CH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“A mixed bag ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First the good news - the staff are very friendly, the public areas of the hotel are very nice, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the food is fine. Then the bad news ... the rooms are small, old fashioned and sparsely furnished. There is no airco and the windows facing out onto the street and road are single glazed - every passing car can be heard as can every passing pedestrian. This hotel is rated as a four-star which is, one must say, a bit of a joke, Dutch hotel ratings are generally too generous, but this hotel takes it to an extreme. On a kind day you might call it a three star ... otherwise the room itself was the same as some two star places. The public areas are certainly much better though. Generally one gets the impression of a hotel where they really try their best but they havent made a sufficient investment in the property - which is understandable given the area

If you want the centre of Valkenburg (such as it is) then the hotel is perfectly sited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here one night in a family room after watching the Tour de France in Liege. Check in was nice and quick. The room was spacious and clean. The kids loved getting their own room with books, colouring in books and games. Kids room has bunk beds, which suits them just fine - in fact they always disagree on who should have the top bunk as they all want it. All very clean, neat and simple. No frills. No English channels on the TV.

Outside, behind the hotel is a nice little sitting area. Breakfast was very good and fresh. Typically what we have come to expect in the Netherlands and Belgium. The dinner was set and was served up quickly and the quality was good. This is not gourmet, just good, honest food.

This town is lovely and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cHICAGO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ok, first of all you must remember that this is a small town in the South of the Netherlands. There are no real 4 or 5 star hotels. Taking that into consideration we can begin to review:

Of the hotels available with the exception of the Chateau this is an excellent choice. The hotel is clean, service is good, breakfast adequate, owner involved establishment that tries to please.

Internet was inconvenient as only available in the small lobby while I was there but the owner said she is working on making it available within the rooms.

Had an issue with the remote for the TV which even with new batteries was sporadic and the main light went off and on.

This is a maybe 3 star hotel in American standards.

Room Tip: You can ask for the new section which used to be the owners apartment as they are slightly more upda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have just stayed at The Atlanta Hotel in Valkenburg, great staff, cosy, friendly, welcoming, clean, tidy, good food... the Hotel was great, I would love to return to this Hotel and Valkenburg was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but I managed without a problem, beware twin beds are together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break staying at the Hotel Atlanta being part of a coach party. We found the hotel extremely friendly and helpful, room was very comfortable and clean and the food although not a wide choice was all very edible and tasty.
The hotel is situated just on the edge of the town and so it only took around two minutes and you were in the centre on the town which is a lovely old town full of character and plenty to see.
Night time was very enjoyable sitting outside the bars supping 'gluhwein' (mulled wine) keeping warm with the radiators up above.
Altogether a very nice hotel experience.

Room Tip: Room twelve was larger than some of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have just returned from this lovely hotel and was really impressed. There were 36 of us in total and from the minute we arrived, the staff were most helpful and accommodating.
We came to visit the Christmas Markets and such effort was made by the hotel with the Christmas decorations. The hotel had a real WOW factor when you walked in. Evening meal and breakfast were both good and rooms were perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay. I stayed in Room 46 ! (see earlier review) and although it was small, my friend and I had not issues with it. Perfect location for the town, with lots of bars, shops & restaurants, and the friendliness of the staff made it all more enjoyable for us .... keep up the good work - we will be back next year !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position a few yards down fron a traffic free area of bars and restaurants. It seems to depend on a skeleton staff of excellent young people. Food was good but service of the set dinner was a little slow because two staff were handling 40 people + the bar.
In the morning the excellent breakfast was overseen by one helpful member of staff.
The hotel has a bizarre room numbering system and an equally bizarre key system. The owner seems absent. We had to wait for our room keys because she had not arrived with the master key and the staff could not give us access to our rooms.
Rooms were very clean but dated. My room [52] had a view of a faded mural painted on the back of garages. The fire escape route was to open the jammed window, climb out , lift a double ladder against the garage wall and climb up and over the barbed wire fence at the top!?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Address: Neerhem 20, Valkenburg 6301 CH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.