We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in idyllic village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Hotel Atlanta
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlanta to your Saves list
Hotel Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Bath
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel in idyllic village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here one night in a family room after watching the Tour de France in Liege. Check in was nice and quick. The room was spacious and clean. The kids loved getting their own room with books, colouring in books and games. Kids room has bunk beds, which suits them just fine - in fact they always disagree on who should have the top bunk as they all want it. All very clean, neat and simple. No frills. No English channels on the TV.

Outside, behind the hotel is a nice little sitting area. Breakfast was very good and fresh. Typically what we have come to expect in the Netherlands and Belgium. The dinner was set and was served up quickly and the quality was good. This is not gourmet, just good, honest food.

This town is lovely and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    21
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cHICAGO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ok, first of all you must remember that this is a small town in the South of the Netherlands. There are no real 4 or 5 star hotels. Taking that into consideration we can begin to review:

Of the hotels available with the exception of the Chateau this is an excellent choice. The hotel is clean, service is good, breakfast adequate, owner involved establishment that tries to please.

Internet was inconvenient as only available in the small lobby while I was there but the owner said she is working on making it available within the rooms.

Had an issue with the remote for the TV which even with new batteries was sporadic and the main light went off and on.

This is a maybe 3 star hotel in American standards.

Room Tip: You can ask for the new section which used to be the owners apartment as they are slightly more upda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have just stayed at The Atlanta Hotel in Valkenburg, great staff, cosy, friendly, welcoming, clean, tidy, good food... the Hotel was great, I would love to return to this Hotel and Valkenburg was amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms are small but I managed without a problem, beware twin beds are together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break staying at the Hotel Atlanta being part of a coach party. We found the hotel extremely friendly and helpful, room was very comfortable and clean and the food although not a wide choice was all very edible and tasty.
The hotel is situated just on the edge of the town and so it only took around two minutes and you were in the centre on the town which is a lovely old town full of character and plenty to see.
Night time was very enjoyable sitting outside the bars supping 'gluhwein' (mulled wine) keeping warm with the radiators up above.
Altogether a very nice hotel experience.

Room Tip: Room twelve was larger than some of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have just returned from this lovely hotel and was really impressed. There were 36 of us in total and from the minute we arrived, the staff were most helpful and accommodating.
We came to visit the Christmas Markets and such effort was made by the hotel with the Christmas decorations. The hotel had a real WOW factor when you walked in. Evening meal and breakfast were both good and rooms were perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay. I stayed in Room 46 ! (see earlier review) and although it was small, my friend and I had not issues with it. Perfect location for the town, with lots of bars, shops & restaurants, and the friendliness of the staff made it all more enjoyable for us .... keep up the good work - we will be back next year !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position a few yards down fron a traffic free area of bars and restaurants. It seems to depend on a skeleton staff of excellent young people. Food was good but service of the set dinner was a little slow because two staff were handling 40 people + the bar.
In the morning the excellent breakfast was overseen by one helpful member of staff.
The hotel has a bizarre room numbering system and an equally bizarre key system. The owner seems absent. We had to wait for our room keys because she had not arrived with the master key and the staff could not give us access to our rooms.
Rooms were very clean but dated. My room [52] had a view of a faded mural painted on the back of garages. The fire escape route was to open the jammed window, climb out , lift a double ladder against the garage wall and climb up and over the barbed wire fence at the top!?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I agree with other reviewers. This is a nice hotel, in a good location, with helpful staff (especially the young woman on reception). The food was Ok - the choice is meat or fish, and some tinned fruit, or stewed apple arrived rather randomly as a course between soup and the main dish. However, it was all edible, just a little dull and predictable. We did wait between courses, but not for too long.

Beware of room 46, though. I suspect it is smaller than other rooms. My husband and I had to do a lot of dosey do-ing in the morning, as we got ready, and the ceiling slopes over the bed, so we couldn't sit up in bed to watch TV - the only place to sit. The is, though, a nice little roof garden, and on a warm evening, that's the better place to be.

Plenty of very hot water, a nice deep bath, and a very tiny piece of soap.

Comfortable bed, and big pillows. The complementary ear plugs were a little worrying, but we didn't need them, even at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not room 46
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Address: Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.