We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent |Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Hotel Atlanta
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlanta to your Saves list
Hotel Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent |Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break staying at the Hotel Atlanta being part of a coach party. We found the hotel extremely friendly and helpful, room was very comfortable and clean and the food although not a wide choice was all very edible and tasty.
The hotel is situated just on the edge of the town and so it only took around two minutes and you were in the centre on the town which is a lovely old town full of character and plenty to see.
Night time was very enjoyable sitting outside the bars supping 'gluhwein' (mulled wine) keeping warm with the radiators up above.
Altogether a very nice hotel experience.

Room Tip: Room twelve was larger than some of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I have just returned from this lovely hotel and was really impressed. There were 36 of us in total and from the minute we arrived, the staff were most helpful and accommodating.
We came to visit the Christmas Markets and such effort was made by the hotel with the Christmas decorations. The hotel had a real WOW factor when you walked in. Evening meal and breakfast were both good and rooms were perfectly adequate for a 2 night stay. I stayed in Room 46 ! (see earlier review) and although it was small, my friend and I had not issues with it. Perfect location for the town, with lots of bars, shops & restaurants, and the friendliness of the staff made it all more enjoyable for us .... keep up the good work - we will be back next year !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent position a few yards down fron a traffic free area of bars and restaurants. It seems to depend on a skeleton staff of excellent young people. Food was good but service of the set dinner was a little slow because two staff were handling 40 people + the bar.
In the morning the excellent breakfast was overseen by one helpful member of staff.
The hotel has a bizarre room numbering system and an equally bizarre key system. The owner seems absent. We had to wait for our room keys because she had not arrived with the master key and the staff could not give us access to our rooms.
Rooms were very clean but dated. My room [52] had a view of a faded mural painted on the back of garages. The fire escape route was to open the jammed window, climb out , lift a double ladder against the garage wall and climb up and over the barbed wire fence at the top!?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I agree with other reviewers. This is a nice hotel, in a good location, with helpful staff (especially the young woman on reception). The food was Ok - the choice is meat or fish, and some tinned fruit, or stewed apple arrived rather randomly as a course between soup and the main dish. However, it was all edible, just a little dull and predictable. We did wait between courses, but not for too long.

Beware of room 46, though. I suspect it is smaller than other rooms. My husband and I had to do a lot of dosey do-ing in the morning, as we got ready, and the ceiling slopes over the bed, so we couldn't sit up in bed to watch TV - the only place to sit. The is, though, a nice little roof garden, and on a warm evening, that's the better place to be.

Plenty of very hot water, a nice deep bath, and a very tiny piece of soap.

Comfortable bed, and big pillows. The complementary ear plugs were a little worrying, but we didn't need them, even at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not room 46
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great location so near centre of Valkenburg .This hotel has all you need ,good sized rooms clean tidy and quiet. Food good although as we were a party it would help if staff kept an eye on tea bags milk and crockery at breakfast as these often ran out. staff very helpful. lift available very useful for less able as stairs quite steep. all in all an enjoyable experience.Staff were very attentive and helpful. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road as this might prove noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Our coach party travelled from Southern England and checked in following our long journey after a very early start. There was no alternative choice of menu and following a bowl of soup for starters we had a 35 minute wait until main course. The following night some of our group waited at least an hour for service and this meal was meat or fish! The printed menu with its description of food should have been more accurate . Pear compote arrived as peaches and chicken filet arrived with a curry sauce which had no mention on the menu. More staff needed to cope with an influx of guests. Asked for a jug or glass of tap water and was informed a glass would be 1 euro. Offer declined! Next evening service had improved by an increase of waiting staff. The bedroom was warm, comfortable and spacious with two wardrobes, pleasant decor and a flatscreen TV. (No news channels found) Beds were comfortable with duvets and extra blanket if required. Quiet upper room at the back of the hotel. Bathroom was clean, adequate shower over the bath but no rubber slip mat provided. Water took ages to drain away . . . very noisily! Breakfasts were good with cereals, yoghourt, fruit, fruit juices and hot tea or coffee. Cooked breakfast consisted of meat balls, sausages and scrambled egg and then wide variety of cold meats and cheeses, together with good choice of breads and spreads. Bar adjacent to the restaurant was adequate, but there was no separate lounge to sit in comfort. Small lift was ok and a necessity for the more elderly on the top floor. Reception area was very small (The photo was taken on a wide-angle lens ) The hotel is situated in a good spot for the rest of the town and parking space for one coach alongside together with a few cars. The accommodation for coach parties is probably run on a tight budget and there is no excuse for poor organisation and the star rating should not be as high as it is rated!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is a nice small hotel, close to all the restaurants and bars of the center. I stayed there a weekend in february, cold, windy, but still a nice weekend. the hotel is within walking distance of the pubs and restaurants. we had our meals at the hotel, they were surprisingly good. At first we regretted having booked our dinner at the hotel, but it was OK!
Breakfast good and plentiful. Room was very small, maybe there are larger rooms in the hotel, but tis was ver-very small. Good beds though, and no noise from traffic or town.
Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Address: Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.