We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Beware room 46” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlanta

Hotel Atlanta
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlanta to your Saves list
Hotel Atlanta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Valkenburg
Essex UK
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Beware room 46”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I agree with other reviewers. This is a nice hotel, in a good location, with helpful staff (especially the young woman on reception). The food was Ok - the choice is meat or fish, and some tinned fruit, or stewed apple arrived rather randomly as a course between soup and the main dish. However, it was all edible, just a little dull and predictable. We did wait between courses, but not for too long.

Beware of room 46, though. I suspect it is smaller than other rooms. My husband and I had to do a lot of dosey do-ing in the morning, as we got ready, and the ceiling slopes over the bed, so we couldn't sit up in bed to watch TV - the only place to sit. The is, though, a nice little roof garden, and on a warm evening, that's the better place to be.

Plenty of very hot water, a nice deep bath, and a very tiny piece of soap.

Comfortable bed, and big pillows. The complementary ear plugs were a little worrying, but we didn't need them, even at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not room 46
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
21
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great location so near centre of Valkenburg .This hotel has all you need ,good sized rooms clean tidy and quiet. Food good although as we were a party it would help if staff kept an eye on tea bags milk and crockery at breakfast as these often ran out. staff very helpful. lift available very useful for less able as stairs quite steep. all in all an enjoyable experience.Staff were very attentive and helpful. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the road as this might prove noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Our coach party travelled from Southern England and checked in following our long journey after a very early start. There was no alternative choice of menu and following a bowl of soup for starters we had a 35 minute wait until main course. The following night some of our group waited at least an hour for service and this meal was meat or fish! The printed menu with its description of food should have been more accurate . Pear compote arrived as peaches and chicken filet arrived with a curry sauce which had no mention on the menu. More staff needed to cope with an influx of guests. Asked for a jug or glass of tap water and was informed a glass would be 1 euro. Offer declined! Next evening service had improved by an increase of waiting staff. The bedroom was warm, comfortable and spacious with two wardrobes, pleasant decor and a flatscreen TV. (No news channels found) Beds were comfortable with duvets and extra blanket if required. Quiet upper room at the back of the hotel. Bathroom was clean, adequate shower over the bath but no rubber slip mat provided. Water took ages to drain away . . . very noisily! Breakfasts were good with cereals, yoghourt, fruit, fruit juices and hot tea or coffee. Cooked breakfast consisted of meat balls, sausages and scrambled egg and then wide variety of cold meats and cheeses, together with good choice of breads and spreads. Bar adjacent to the restaurant was adequate, but there was no separate lounge to sit in comfort. Small lift was ok and a necessity for the more elderly on the top floor. Reception area was very small (The photo was taken on a wide-angle lens ) The hotel is situated in a good spot for the rest of the town and parking space for one coach alongside together with a few cars. The accommodation for coach parties is probably run on a tight budget and there is no excuse for poor organisation and the star rating should not be as high as it is rated!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is a nice small hotel, close to all the restaurants and bars of the center. I stayed there a weekend in february, cold, windy, but still a nice weekend. the hotel is within walking distance of the pubs and restaurants. we had our meals at the hotel, they were surprisingly good. At first we regretted having booked our dinner at the hotel, but it was OK!
Breakfast good and plentiful. Room was very small, maybe there are larger rooms in the hotel, but tis was ver-very small. Good beds though, and no noise from traffic or town.
Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

The Atlanta is only a small hotel but it is a great place to stay,it is very clean and the staff are great.
Eating at this hotel is a pleasure and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
The location is ideal as it is only yards from restaurants, bars, shops and the Christmas markets.
All the shops and streets were decorated which gave it a really great Christmas feel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We spent 3 nights in the Atlanta Hotel over the New Year 2009 to 2010. The hotel was very nice, friendly staff, rooms were clean and well serviced. We had evening meals and the food was excellent. There was a keyboard player playing on New Year's Eve and a great time was had by all. The people from our coach part mixed well with the Dutch locals and we shared each others customs and songs.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

I was lucky to find this place on Expedia for a very cheap rate given the costs of the other hotels in this town. I wasn't sure what to expect but the hotel was way better than I imagined. It's small, but the room was great and I loved the bathroom. There was no view from my window but it opened and allowed a wonderful breeze in at night and I felt very safe in doing so. The staff were very helpful (walking me to my room and making sure everything was to my satisfaction), the bed was really comfortable and the whole place was spotless. The breakfast was also quite good. Their elevator is one of the most unique I've ever been in.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlanta

Address: Neerhem 20, 6301 CH Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Atlanta 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Atlanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Valkenburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlanta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.