We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walramplein 1, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Valkenburg
Springfield, Ohio, United States
1 review
“First trip to Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Europe, and it could not have been more enjoyable. We were in Holland with the Ohio Northern University men's soccer team. 41 of us checked in August 2nd, and the staff at the hotel did not miss a beat. Breakfasts were very good. I don't believe we ate a lunch in the hotel, too many shops and cafes within walking distance. The number of evenings we were in the hotel for dinner was limited, but again, good food! We arrived on the hottest day ever recorded in Holland, but the rooms were cool. The room was a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The management and staff went above and beyond the call of duty on several occasions during our stay and truly seemed to enjoy their chosen profession. I would highly recommend this hotel if you will be staying in the Valkenburg area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Yes this hotel is dated, thank god - that's what gives it its charm and makes it stand out from the herd! Love, love, love the dated charm of this place. It doesn't take much imagination to wonder just how grand the balls and parties here must have been. Pack your diamond tiara! Besides that, wonderful-sized and very comfortable rooms, friendly helpful staff, excellent breakfast, right in town. Look no further.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockbottom_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Having visited Valkenburg last year by coach, staying at one of the most appalling hotels we have ever stayed in, and not having enough time to explore, this year we decided to arrange our travel and hotel ourselves. We flew to Amsterdam Schiffol Airport, train to Valkenburg, and walked to hotel. The reception area told us it was a totally different class of hotel to last year, we were greeted by a friendly young lady at the desk. Our rooms were excellent. The location was also very good, away from the main run of christmas celebrations, but only a two minute walk away to join them. We arrived Saturday afternoon and the queues for the caves were really long, so decided to go after breakfast Sunday morning, brilliant, we were able to go straight in before the coaches arrived and walk leisurely around the caves, sampling the wares and enjoying a drink and Berliner. In the afternoon, totally exhausted, we walked back to hotel and were able to have a good rest before setting off again in the evening. Plenty of good eating places, heaters and blankets supplied if you wanted to sit outside, and the highlight of the evening which we had not seen before or in fact had anybody mentioned was the christmas procession involving so many children dancing with floats etc. lovely christmassy feeling. Our only regret was there were no tea making facilities in the room, so when luggage weight is all important to have to carry your own kettle is a little disappointing for a 4* hotel. Good selection of food at breakfast. No hesitation is recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebnursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
255 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Recently stayed for a couple of days while on business in the area; my co-worker had stayed there before and made the reservations for this trip. Hotel has a nice patio & lounge and the entrance/registration area seem upbeat. However, the rest of the hotel needs to be updated. The rooms are good size, but dated. Bed was not so comfortable and there is not A/C or any type of fan in the room; so on a summer night, it was hot & sticky. Breakfast is included and the selection was very good - they will even make you eggs & bacon to order. Hotel is in a quiet area a little over a block from the pedestrian zone where you will find dozens of restaurants; hotel parking is not free and the lot is 50m down the road. Nice place - just needs to be refreshed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel facing the castle ruins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldranger81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
237 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I have to give this review the damning heading for one issue: This hotel does not offer decent internet service. No free or for fee wifi or cable. Your only option is a paid service that costs EUR 15/3 hrs. In this day and age this is neglecting an essential part of hotel service.

Otherwise it is a traditional hotel and the service is quite good. Rooms are traditional with very nice bathrooms. There is a very nice outdoor cafe area. I regret that I did not have time to have dinner there which has a good reputation. The breakfast is disappointing with a selection that is too small.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

Went to the Hotel Voncken as part of a package tour - we were there to see the Amstel Gold Race. Rooms in the new block were fine, though TV noise travelled from next door, but this is a hazard of many hotels. The restaurant was very fancy and the hotel prides itself on its French cuisine. As we were on a package we had no choice of menu for the evening meal but it was very good. The only downside was the length of time it took to have dinner - 3 hours for 4 courses on Sat and Sun nights! This was due to the large number of people dining - the hotel obviously didn't get extra staff in. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennisnut4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#4 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#3 of 54 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#11 of 54 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg

Address: Walramplein 1, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel for more than 100 years, Voncken offers boutique accommodation below the towering ruins of Valkenburg Castle. The hotel features an in-house casino and nearby golfing facilities.Individually decorated rooms at Grand Hotel Voncken are fitted with modern and functional furnishings. Some overlook the castle, others have a large marble bathroom, but they all include TV set, minibar and a desk.The French-influenced restaurant of the hotel is officially classified and matched by a tasteful wine list. Outdoor dining is also possible thanks to the restaurant’s heated terrace, surrounded by evergreen plants.Valkenburg town centre is only 1-minute walking from the Hampshire Classic Voncken and is dotted with an array of lively cafes and boutiques. Maastricht, Liege and Cologne are all within easy reach from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing