We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip to Europe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Voncken - Hampshire Classic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Voncken - Hampshire Classic to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Voncken - Hampshire Classic
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Walramplein 1, 6301 CD Valkenburg, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Springfield, Ohio, United States
1 review
“First trip to Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Europe, and it could not have been more enjoyable. We were in Holland with the Ohio Northern University men's soccer team. 41 of us checked in August 2nd, and the staff at the hotel did not miss a beat. Breakfasts were very good. I don't believe we ate a lunch in the hotel, too many shops and cafes within walking distance. The number of evenings we were in the hotel for dinner was limited, but again, good food! We arrived on the hottest day ever recorded in Holland, but the rooms were cool. The room was a good size and the beds were very comfortable. The management and staff went above and beyond the call of duty on several occasions during our stay and truly seemed to enjoy their chosen profession. I would highly recommend this hotel if you will be staying in the Valkenburg area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
24
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Yes this hotel is dated, thank god - that's what gives it its charm and makes it stand out from the herd! Love, love, love the dated charm of this place. It doesn't take much imagination to wonder just how grand the balls and parties here must have been. Pack your diamond tiara! Besides that, wonderful-sized and very comfortable rooms, friendly helpful staff, excellent breakfast, right in town. Look no further.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Having visited Valkenburg last year by coach, staying at one of the most appalling hotels we have ever stayed in, and not having enough time to explore, this year we decided to arrange our travel and hotel ourselves. We flew to Amsterdam Schiffol Airport, train to Valkenburg, and walked to hotel. The reception area told us it was a totally different class of hotel to last year, we were greeted by a friendly young lady at the desk. Our rooms were excellent. The location was also very good, away from the main run of christmas celebrations, but only a two minute walk away to join them. We arrived Saturday afternoon and the queues for the caves were really long, so decided to go after breakfast Sunday morning, brilliant, we were able to go straight in before the coaches arrived and walk leisurely around the caves, sampling the wares and enjoying a drink and Berliner. In the afternoon, totally exhausted, we walked back to hotel and were able to have a good rest before setting off again in the evening. Plenty of good eating places, heaters and blankets supplied if you wanted to sit outside, and the highlight of the evening which we had not seen before or in fact had anybody mentioned was the christmas procession involving so many children dancing with floats etc. lovely christmassy feeling. Our only regret was there were no tea making facilities in the room, so when luggage weight is all important to have to carry your own kettle is a little disappointing for a 4* hotel. Good selection of food at breakfast. No hesitation is recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Recently stayed for a couple of days while on business in the area; my co-worker had stayed there before and made the reservations for this trip. Hotel has a nice patio & lounge and the entrance/registration area seem upbeat. However, the rest of the hotel needs to be updated. The rooms are good size, but dated. Bed was not so comfortable and there is not A/C or any type of fan in the room; so on a summer night, it was hot & sticky. Breakfast is included and the selection was very good - they will even make you eggs & bacon to order. Hotel is in a quiet area a little over a block from the pedestrian zone where you will find dozens of restaurants; hotel parking is not free and the lot is 50m down the road. Nice place - just needs to be refreshed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel facing the castle ruins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
188 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

I have to give this review the damning heading for one issue: This hotel does not offer decent internet service. No free or for fee wifi or cable. Your only option is a paid service that costs EUR 15/3 hrs. In this day and age this is neglecting an essential part of hotel service.

Otherwise it is a traditional hotel and the service is quite good. Rooms are traditional with very nice bathrooms. There is a very nice outdoor cafe area. I regret that I did not have time to have dinner there which has a good reputation. The breakfast is disappointing with a selection that is too small.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

Went to the Hotel Voncken as part of a package tour - we were there to see the Amstel Gold Race. Rooms in the new block were fine, though TV noise travelled from next door, but this is a hazard of many hotels. The restaurant was very fancy and the hotel prides itself on its French cuisine. As we were on a package we had no choice of menu for the evening meal but it was very good. The only downside was the length of time it took to have dinner - 3 hours for 4 courses on Sat and Sun nights! This was due to the large number of people dining - the hotel obviously didn't get extra staff in. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Voncken - Hampshire Classic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Voncken - Hampshire Classic

Address: Walramplein 1, 6301 CD Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Voncken - Hampshire Classic 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run hotel for more than 100 years, Voncken offers boutique accommodation below the towering ruins of Valkenburg Castle. The hotel features an in-house casino and nearby golfing facilities.Individually decorated rooms at Grand Hotel Voncken are fitted with modern and functional furnishings. Some overlook the castle, others have a large marble bathroom, but they all include TV set, minibar and a desk.The French-influenced restaurant of the hotel is officially classified and matched by a tasteful wine list. Outdoor dining is also possible thanks to the restaurant’s heated terrace, surrounded by evergreen plants.Valkenburg town centre is only 1-minute walking from the Hampshire Classic Voncken and is dotted with an array of lively cafes and boutiques. Maastricht, Liege and Cologne are all within easy reach from the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Voncken - Hampshire Classic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Voncken - Hampshire Classic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.